Old 15th April 2011, 18:05   #61

Facelift Corolla Altis spotted in Mumbai

Spotted the facelifted Altis near Taj Lands End, Bandra. It was being driven around there for quite some time by some gentlemen in suits.
Facelift Corolla Altis Spied in Bangalore!-imag0100.jpg

Facelift Corolla Altis Spied in Bangalore!-imag0103.jpg

Facelift Corolla Altis Spied in Bangalore!-imag0104.jpg

Last edited by theragingbull : 15th April 2011 at 18:07.
Old 15th April 2011, 19:23   #62

Re: Facelift Corolla Altis Spied in Bangalore!

Great catch, ragingbull! Thanks for sharing. The blue seems to be a new color on offer, and the rear seems to have a overdose of chrome.
Old 15th April 2011, 19:27   #63

No camouflage and all the chrome accessories fitted. Wow nice catch. This could mean only one thing. These cars are going for the photo shoot and the launch is just around the corner.
Old 15th April 2011, 21:58   #64

The blue car looks so similar to the Etios, or am I just seeing things? The thick chrome garnish on the rear boot handle is also so Etios. If it were not for the tai lamps, I would said Etios.
Old 16th April 2011, 11:40   #65

Guys - I need to know if the face-lifted version is for both Petrol and Diesel. Have already paid my booking amount for the diesel and dealer says its leaving B'lore factory on 22 April. Please can any of you let me know what the inside story is on the diesel launch and the modifications. I don't want to be driving around with an older version
Old 16th April 2011, 23:09   #66

Facelift is for both diesel & petrol. There might not be a change in diesel engine & transmission. Petrol engine/transmission likely to have a change.

Originally Posted by Revention View Post
Is the launch expected by Apr/May 2011 ?
Most probably June 1st week.

Last edited by Me-hul : 16th April 2011 at 23:14.
Old 17th April 2011, 11:29   #67

My sources from the toyota factory have confirmed that the production has already begun and i'll be launched by may 1st week. The new features are-
1)Start stop button for ignition.
2)Smart key for entry.
Prices for diesel top end is 15 lakhs on road. The diesel might have auto box too..
Old 17th April 2011, 12:31   #68

Diesel migght have autobox is a nice use, but 15lacs?
Why? Have they plonked a 2.0l engine in it to demand this price.?
Old 17th April 2011, 12:53   #69

What is so smart about going for a smaller engine in the premium sedan segment? India isn't a market where 200cc separates different variants of a 10+ lakh sedan. Toyota knows that, if they launch the 1.6, they can make the 1.8 R-I-P. On the spec sheet, a 1.6 won't necessarily look good when the competition offers 1.8s.
Well, the Corolla is anyways not an "enthusiast's" car, but scores on reliability, alround capabilities, comfort, features etc. So, I don't see why a 1.6l engine variant will not entice many new buyers of Corolla if its about 1l lower priced !
I had the chance in Feb to be driven around in a 1.6l Altis taxi for ~500+ km both in BKK traffic and on highways, and it seems adequately powered and geared, and didn't struggle at any point of time. In fact, I though it accelerated pretty decently and only came to know its 1.6l and not 1.8l later (ofcourse, the 1.8l is way ahead in terms of power, torque). A 1.6l Corolla Altis may take away a good bit of market share from ANHC, Vento etc if priced smart...
Old 17th April 2011, 17:10   #70

Thanks do much Me-hul and naparjito. The dealers insisted it was just some change with the bumpers and other cosmetics. Keyless entry and ignition button are fine but the 15 lacs tag is a bit steep! if there's no engine enhancements (since I am not interested in the AT) looks like I'll take my delivery of the older version later this month. Any comments will be welcome.
Old 17th April 2011, 18:38   #71

Originally Posted by aghosht View Post
Keyless entry and ignition button are fine but the 15 lacs tag is a bit steep! if there's no engine enhancements (since I am not interested in the AT) looks like I'll take my delivery of the older version later this month. Any comments will be welcome.
How is 15L OTR for the diesel high end steep? In Delhi the current model itself is 15L OTR for the middle variant and around 16.5 for the top end diesel. With a start stop button and hopefully a bigger engine I will expect the price to only increase from the current one. So at 15L OTR the new top end diesel Altis will be a steal in my opinion.

Hey congratulations on your new car nevertheless.
Old 17th April 2011, 20:08   #72

A generic question:

What is Toyota's answer to the VW TSI class engines?
Have they been working on anything similar?

What about Honda?
Old 17th April 2011, 20:38   #73

Their answer is the 1.8 litre 2ZR-FE engine. This has dual VVTi i.e. for both intake and exhaust. This gives out 140PS. Nowhere near the TSi but reading the malaysian reviews these are pretty good.

Ofcourse looks like Toyota will not bring this here. They are happy with the ancient 1ZZ-FE.
Old 17th April 2011, 21:17   #74

Looks like a generation gap between TSI and rest. How come Honda is silent and not coming with something ground breaking?

PS: I guess not the right thread to ask
Old 18th April 2011, 05:50   #75

How is 15L OTR for the diesel high end steep? In Delhi the current model itself is 15L OTR for the middle variant and around 16.5 for the top end diesel. With a start stop button and hopefully a bigger engine I will expect the price to only increase from the current one. So at 15L OTR the new top end diesel Altis will be a steal in my opinion.

Hey congratulations on your new car nevertheless.
Oops! missed seeing it was OTR and presumed it was ex-showroom Now that brings me back to my dilemma or whether to wait or go ahead with the current version