Old 15th March 2011, 21:46   #46

Re: Facelift Corolla Altis Spied in Bangalore!

If it is the 1.6 and atleast a lakh cheaper, I have found the replacement for my Ford Ikon. Toyota please please get that 1.6 corolla in the market.
Old 15th March 2011, 22:16   #47

I really hope they get more engine options in the diesel segment.
If they do this car can be game changer.
Old 16th March 2011, 00:20   #48

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
Recompose: Do you have any other picture of the interior taken from the left of the car?
Sorry, its all I have.

The Corolla looks sharper and better. Honda might be making a mistake by putting out the new Civic, which looks retrogressive. I wonder how many people actually want the new Civic in India
Old 16th March 2011, 01:03   #49

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
Recompose: Do you have any other picture of the interior taken from the left of the car?
Its the 2011 corolla. More pics here Toyota Corolla - 2011 Photo Gallery
The tail and new headlights are the same updates as seen in the US model.
With interiors there may be minor differences updates/tuning for the Indian market, but largely same.
Old 16th March 2011, 16:07   #50

Originally Posted by RECOMPOSE View Post
Sorry, its all I have.

The Corolla looks sharper and better. Honda might be making a mistake by putting out the new Civic, which looks retrogressive. I wonder how many people actually want the new Civic in India
Not sure if the Honda badge will make it work.
But right now, the new Civic is not one expects in the 10lac segment with it's extreme cab forward style that's more pronounced than the earlier gen(that was sleeker).
BTW, thought that Toyota did the diesel in Corolla for only India.
But shocked me to know that Toyota South Africa has a 2000cc d-4d with 120BHP and 200nm torque engine.
Why not bring that here.???
Old 16th March 2011, 16:22   #51

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
New petrol engine? Must be the 1.6l that will take the fight to ANHC.
Originally Posted by SPARKled View Post
If it is the 1.6 and atleast a lakh cheaper, I have found the replacement for my Ford Ikon. Toyota please please get that 1.6 corolla in the market.
Well, 1.6 Corolla is already popular choice in SE Asia, but I doubt Toyota will price it to a segment down (to fight with Honda City). But yes, 1.6 can surely lure a few potential City customers to move up a segment.

Originally Posted by RECOMPOSE View Post
Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Not sure if the Honda badge will make it work.
But right now, the new Civic is not one expects in the 10lac segment with it's extreme cab forward style that's more pronounced than the earlier gen(that was sleeker).
I am quite sure that the upcoming Civic will do very well, and as Dicky mentioned, the Honda badge is hard to ignore.

It is a bit retrogressive, but its still more aggressive looking than the safe design of Corolla. I will look at the New Civic in a different angle. It is moving from being a teenage boy to a grown up man
Old 16th March 2011, 21:32   #52

Originally Posted by prasadee View Post
With interiors there may be minor differences updates/tuning for the Indian market, but largely same.
Exactly. This is the model that going to be launched. Please dont pin your hopes on 1.6L engine. Its 1.8L but a better engine.
Old 22nd March 2011, 11:36   #53

I 'actually' booked the current Altis on Saturday (19th March 2011).
Then stumbled upon this thread on 21st March!
Luckily the cheque had not cleared so was able to make stop payment!

But now i was just wondering after howmany months does a company like Toyota announce the car after its test runs are carried on?? Accordingly i will have to decide on my purchase! (CiVic is another option)

Any quick help would be appreciated!
Old 22nd March 2011, 20:22   #54

Originally Posted by lamboguy View Post
I 'actually' booked the current Altis on Saturday (19th March 2011).
Then stumbled upon this thread on 21st March!
Luckily the cheque had not cleared so was able to make stop payment!

But now i was just wondering after howmany months does a company like Toyota announce the car after its test runs are carried on?? Accordingly i will have to decide on my purchase! (CiVic is another option)

Any quick help would be appreciated!
If you are ready to wait for 2 months , you can wait for the facelifted corolla. Else go for the current one.
Old 22nd March 2011, 23:53   #55
MAS

Originally Posted by prasadee View Post
The car looks good and looks better than the current Altis. The reason I asked for the interior pics from the left side is that the test cars looked like they had a gear stick with 6 forward gears, which suggests it could be a diesel.
Old 7th April 2011, 11:23   #56

More sightings of the facelifted Corolla in Bangy (courtesy BSM)

CAUGHT TESTING! Facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis

This is just a mid life facelift/ tweaks to keep the product fresh & avoid prospective buyers going for newer launches from competitors.
Old 9th April 2011, 11:07   #57

Originally Posted by Me-hul View Post
If you are ready to wait for 2 months , you can wait for the facelifted corolla. Else go for the current one.
Is the launch expected by Apr/May 2011 ?
Old 9th April 2011, 18:19   #58

^^ In this weeks Autocar show , Hormadz said that the face-lifted corolla will come next month .
Old 9th April 2011, 21:56   #59

As already mentioned earlier, I think the key point to look out for are if there would be any new diesel options? I doubt it may not be enough. All action would be on the petrol front.

What is surprising is that its all quite on the Toyota front. No press release or any advertisements as they had done for Etios. May thats because its just a face lift.
Old 10th April 2011, 07:42   #60

Checked with Nandi Toyota, the sales rep informed me that the new facelifted corolla will hit showrooms in the first week of June. They were very clear that the changes are just 'minor, cosmetic'.