Old 24th December 2008, 11:56   #1366

Originally Posted by amit View Post
From Vasudeva's excel sheet, MSIL sold a total of 5412 units in the mid-size segment. ACI december issue reports that 4,503 units of Dzire were sold in October which means MSIL sold 909 units of SX4.
Amit, I think Vasudeva's figures reflect the stock dump onto distributor outlets, whereas the ACI figures are actual end customer sales. May be I am wrong but I think a simple subtraction may not be right.
But I remember we discussed in another thread and there is no doubt that SX4 sales have gone down since the launch of DZire.
Old 31st December 2008, 21:48   #1367

Has anyone noticed the extremely sharp decline in numbers for Mercedes S class and Mercedes E class? Mercedes S class sales are especially shocking it has dropped to paltry single digits from triple digit sales figure in September.

On the other hand Mercedes C class seems to be holding up fairly well.
Old 1st January 2009, 12:15   #1368

Maruti Suzuki December '08 Sales !

Friends, wish you all a happy and prosperous New Year !

Market leader Maruti Suzuki India Ltd. sold 56,293 vehicles in December '08, which is 10% less compared to Dec 07.

Segment-wise breakup of sales:

Seg 2008 (2007) -/+ Change
--------------------------------------------------------
A1 - 2907 (7190) -59.6% (M800)

A2 - 36831 (39575) -6.9% (Alto, Wag R, Estilo, Swift, A*)

A3 - 6524 (3291) +98.2% (Sx4, Esteem, D'Zire)

C - 5350 (8034) - 33.4% (Omni, Versa)
---------------------------------------------------------
Total passanger cars - 51612 (58090) -11.2%

MUV - 417 (311) +34.1%

Domestic - 52029 (58401) -10.9%
Export - 4264 (4114) +3.6%
----------------------------------------------------------
Total Sales - 56293 (62515) -10%

Source: BSE (Bombay Stock Exchange)

Originally Posted by BomBatt View Post
MSIL sold 52711 vehicles in Nov 2008 against 69699 sold in Nov 2007 which is a drop of 24.4%

Segment wise breakup of sales:

Seg 2008 (2007) Change
---------------------------
A1 - 2307 (5653) -59.2% (M800)
A2 - 34976 (47641) -26.6% (Alto, Wag R, Zen, Swift, A*)
A3 - 5975 (4260) 40.3% (Sx4, Esteem, D'Zire)
C - 3845 (7331) -47.6% (Omni, Versa)
MUV - 601 (331) 81.6% (Gypsy, GV)

Domestic - 47704 (65216) -26.9%
Export - 5007 (4483) 11.7%
Old 2nd January 2009, 19:54   #1369

Hyundai sales

Hyundai registered an overall 55.7% growth for the month of December, 2008. The domestic sales grew by 19.3% and exports grew by 96.8% over the current month last year.

HMIL's total sales for December 2008 stood at 38,402 units. The domestic market accounted for 15,602 units, compared to 13,078 units for the same month last year while the exports totaled 22,800 units in December '08, against 11,586 units of December '07.

The segment-wise cumulative sales in the month of December, 2008 are as follows: A2 Segment (Santro, i10, Getz & i20) 37,320 units; A3 Segment (Accent & Verna) 1078 units; units, A5 Segment (Sonata Embera) 2 units; and SUV Segment (Tucson) 2 units.
Old 3rd January 2009, 12:18   #1370

Do you know that Honda has still got lots of old City in dealer lots and at its factory. There are reports that they are trying to persuade Govt. to take City for its babus. In our company itself, we are getting a lot of offers for huge corp. discounts for City. Honda is not something different so as to escape the recession, yet is also a lot different explaining why it will show a lower decline. One month is not enough. See the excel sheet I have posted in this forum.
PS: Corolla showed greater than 3K in one month, Civic showed sales in June 2006 (it was launched in July), and Fabia showed sales in 12/07 (launched in 1/08).
Old 3rd January 2009, 12:35   #1371
oss

Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
Do you know that Honda has still got lots of old City in dealer lots and at its factory. There are reports that they are trying to persuade Govt. to take City for its babus. In our company itself, we are getting a lot of offers for huge corp. discounts for City.
True; Honda has a huge stockpile of NHC and so is Hyundai & Ford in the C-segment vehicles. Though they reduced production anticipating a slowdown, they couldn't clear stocks during the festive season as planned.

The finished goods inventory are in the range of 60-70 days of inventory which is huge.

Bottomline: Expect great discounts in the months of Jan & Feb in Verna & Fiesta. Honda is trying to be little smart by targetting corporates and Govt for bulk purchase, so they can still sell the ANHC without discounts in the retail segment.

Last edited by oss : 3rd January 2009 at 12:38.
Old 3rd January 2009, 15:14   #1372

Hyundai registered an overall 55.7% growth in December 2008. Domestic sales grew 19.3% and exports jumped nearly 97% over the year-ago month.

HMIL’s total sales for December 2008 stood at 38,402 units. The domestic market accounted for 15,602 units, compared to 13,078 units last December.

Santro, i10 Getz and i20 clocked the biggest chunk of its December sales with 37,320 units. Its Accent and Verna models together sold 1,078 units; while the Sonata Embera and Tucson sold 2 units each.

Source: Hyundai Motor India

Last edited by appuchan : 3rd January 2009 at 15:15.
Old 3rd January 2009, 15:44   #1373

Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Looks like there is no slow down for Honda !!

Model wise break-up for December ’08:
City: 2972;
Civic: 386;
Accord: 171;
CRV: 132
Says who?

Sure, City sales are up 39% compared to December 07 but if you compare agianst last month City sales have come down to a trickle. Honda sold 4363 units in November 08 and 2972 units in December 08! That's a decline of 32% in one month!

Civic sold 995 units in December 07 compared to 386 units this december. That's down a massive 61%. November 08 Civic sales were 462 units compared to 386 units just a month later. That's down 16.5% in one month.

Somehow, Accord seems to be holding up the best.

Look at Maruti. Despite the all new A-Star sales in that segment declined by 7%. Amazingly, Maruti salesperson's claim a long waiting period for the car!
Old 3rd January 2009, 17:04   #1374

Seems like Tata is in big trouble. Indica sales were at 6,749 units, a decline of almost 59% Y-O-Y. Has the Vista failed to take off? Or is it that due to the credit crunch and slowdown most of the rental companies have postponed purchases? If it's the latter, then Tata needs to do something to make the Indica appeal to the private ownership segment. A 59% fall for a car that can be bought with ones own money is pretty serious.

Indigo sales are up 21% Y-O-Y to 1,6xx units. I thought the Indigo was doing 3xxx units every month

Source: Economi Times.

Last edited by amit : 3rd January 2009 at 17:08.
Old 3rd January 2009, 17:20   #1375

Someone should add the 12/08 figures for Honda (company and segment) to the excel sheet posted by me, and see whether there is a slowdown for Honda in 2008 (compared with 2007), in Oct-Dec 2008 (compared with Oct-Dec 2007), in Oct-Dec 2008 (compared with July-Sep 2008). Then we can come to a conclusion!!!. One month is nothing. The fact is that Honda has not escaped the slowdown here.
Old 4th January 2009, 01:54   #1376

Originally Posted by oss View Post
True; Honda has a huge stockpile of NHC and so is Hyundai & Ford in the C-segment vehicles. Though they reduced production anticipating a slowdown, they couldn't clear stocks during the festive season as planned.

The finished goods inventory are in the range of 60-70 days of inventory which is huge.

Bottomline: Expect great discounts in the months of Jan & Feb in Verna & Fiesta. Honda is trying to be little smart by targetting corporates and Govt for bulk purchase, so they can still sell the ANHC without discounts in the retail segment.
what about i10 stoacks / inventory? can we expect good discounts on i10 in Jan. is it worth waiting for more discounts on i10?
Old 4th January 2009, 11:16   #1377

Originally Posted by drkunaldas View Post
what about i10 stoacks / inventory? can we expect good discounts on i10 in Jan. is it worth waiting for more discounts on i10?
I have mentioned it in some other thread also. i10 Era already has a good discount going. Also for ppl looking at a feature rich car/i10 the i10 Magna and i10 Magna option pack (both with 1.1 irde engine) is still availaible and at very good discounts! Try HMP at Mathura road!

However..very less discounts on Kappa!

Elito
Old 4th January 2009, 13:01   #1378

Go to Prime Honda in Vaishali, Ghaziabad or come to our office, and see the old NHC. The old NHC was in Prime Honda showroom as recently as 1.1.09.
Old 4th January 2009, 13:06   #1379

There was an NHC in dakshin honda yday. Discounts run into 70-80k for iDSi and 1lac for VTEC. Lots of unsold inventory available.
Old 5th January 2009, 10:34   #1380

Honda Car India : Press Releases - HSCI registers 9% increase in sales in December 2008
If these figures are correct, perhaps the following percentages for Honda domestic sales not represent a decline (count the number of ups and downs):

Total sales in 2008: down by 10.4%
Sales in 12/08: down 28.1% over Nov 2008, and up 8.9% over Dec 2007.
Sales in Oct-Dec 2008: down 41.3% over July-Sep 2008, down 31.2% over Oct-Dec 2007.

City sales: up 0.8% in 2008, down 31.9% in 12/08 over 11/08; up 39.3% over 12/07, up 5.2% in Oct-Dec 08 over July-Sep 08, down 1.4% in Oct-Dec 08 over Oct-Dec 07.
Civic sales:down 37% in 2008, down 16.5% in 12/08 over 11/08; down 61.2% over 12/07, down 30% in Oct-Dec 08 over July-Sep 08, down 66.5% in Oct-Dec 2008 over Oct-Dec 07.
Accord sales:up 9.7% in 2008, down 8.1% in 12/08 over 11/08; up 167% over 12/07, down 55.2% in Oct-Dec 08 over July-Sep 08, up 15.6% in Oct-Dec 2008 over Oct-Dec 07.
CRV sales:down 13.8% in 2008, up 57.1% in 12/08 over 11/08; up 1367% over 12/07, down 45.7% in Oct-Dec 08 over July-Sep 08, down 47.7% in Oct-Dec 2008 over Oct-Dec 07.

Let me know of any errors.

Last edited by vasudeva : 5th January 2009 at 10:35.