Old 18th January 2011, 21:04   #1
dot

How much does a one second cost: 0-100kmph time vs lowest price

Today read about Audi A8 launch. Priced at 1.33 crore. Acceleration is supposed to be 0 to 100kmph in 3.9 sec (only). Well, A8 is a legendary car and feels great that Indian buyers can purchase it from a showroom in the subcontinent. Then had a debate with a friend on how much does one has to pay for each second decrease in 0-100 performance. For example, we know Honda City does 0-100 in about 10 sec and it costs about 10 Lakhs. If we want to buy a car which does the same in 9 sec, how much more one has to pay.

Seemed like an interesting intellectual exercise. So looked at car mags and net and came up with a plot of 0-100 figures in 14 sec or less all the way till 4 sec. The idea is to find the least expensive car in each second bracket. Like for instance, what is least expensive car which does 0-100 in 12.xx sec. Or for that matter in 7.xx sec. I considered the price of the lowest variant, specially in the hatchback category. The plot is shown below.

How much does a one second cost: 0-100kmph time vs lowest price-0100.jpg

Many interesting and surprising points came out. For instance in the higher range of 14 sec to 12 sec. Maruti and Hyundai made the cut. This segment is also the most debatable. However data showed that most hatchbacks does 0-100 in 15 - 16 sec. In some cases the times are lower but they are more expensive than lets say base model Swift or A-Star or even i10. I considered on road price of A-Star at 4 Lakh, Swift at 5 Lakh and i10 at 5.5 Lakh. For such an analysis where we are considering supercars at one end, I felt that 20k here and there does not matter. I was also surprised at the 0-100 figures of i10. Never thought that the 1.2 liter version has got such a punch.

For the 11.xx segment the contender was Ford Fiesta 1.6 without any question since it was the least expensive. Price 6.5 on road.

For 10.xx it was Honda City. For 9.xx it was Chevy Cruze as it was cheaper than Honda Civic. 8.xx had no debate it was Skoda Laura TSI.

The eye opener was the sub 8 seconds. Honda Accord V6 was the cheapest car which can do 0-100 in 7.xx sec. Several Mercs and BMWs also can but they are more expensive. After that it was Audi all the way. Clearly in terms of fast cars available for purchase in India, Audi is VFM compared to other German competitors.

I enjoyed the plot, hope some of you may do the same. This analysis is not meant to be a yardstick for purchase decisions. If there are corrections to be made, data which I didn't know or misrepresented here, do let me know.

Last edited by GTO : 20th January 2011 at 20:06. Reason: Uploading your corrected chart instead (from the 2nd page)
dot is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th January 2011, 21:10   #2

Re: How much does a one second cost: 0-100kmph time vs lowest price

Good effort.I have one suggestion though,the price graph should be caliberated for more clarity.
Old 18th January 2011, 21:18   #3

Good idea. If i remember right Alto K10 does a ton in 13.x and should probably replace Swift as its much cheaper.
Old 18th January 2011, 21:29   #4

Nice comparision. But where are the Merc & BMW ?

-JK
Old 18th January 2011, 22:16   #5

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
Good idea. If i remember right Alto K10 does a ton in 13.x and should probably replace Swift as its much cheaper.
Surprisingly, the Alto 1.0 is not all that quick, which takes 15.87 secs for 0-100

Last edited by Guna : 18th January 2011 at 22:17.
Old 18th January 2011, 23:13   #6

Had the Getz CRDi been around, it would have been the cheapest 10.xx second car - although it is widely said as 11.xx, the car definitely reaches 100 with 10.xx, in stock
Old 18th January 2011, 23:24   #7

Good Effort, in fact it gives a lot of clarity, however i wonder what would be the result if we plot the same graph for diesel!!!!
Old 18th January 2011, 23:48   #8

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Surprisingly, the Alto 1.0 is not all that quick, which takes 15.87 secs for 0-100
Not sure where did you get this number - TOI ad carries a notation of 13.3 s for Alto K10 for a 0-100 run !

Also I noticed that the price for swift is calculated at 5 lakhs and i10 at 5.5 lakhs?

I am sure an i10 magna 1.2 costs much lesser than a swift VXi / VDi !
Old 19th January 2011, 00:40   #9

The A8 does 0-100 in 3.9 seconds?
What does it run under the hood? Rolls Royce turbine engine with after burners?
Old 19th January 2011, 00:47   #10

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Exactly my first thoughts. The A4 and A8 cannot be THAT far apart considering the power to weight ratio.
Old 19th January 2011, 01:00   #11

I am not sure if 3.9 is correct.

I was able to gather these figures by googling.

The A8 is available with the following wide range of engines:

* 3.0 L (2967 cc) V6 TDI, 171 kW (233 PS), 0–100 km/h in 7.8 s;
* 3.2 L (3123 cc) V6 fuel stratified injection, 191 kW (260 PS), 0–100 km/h in 7.7 s;
* 3.7 L (3697 cc) V8 petrol, 206 kW (280 PS), 0–100 km/h in 7.3 s;
* 4.2 L (4134 cc) V8 TDI, 240 kW (326 PS), 0–100 km/h in 5.9 s,
* 4.2 L (4172 cc) V8 petrol, 246 kW (335 PS), 0–100 km/h in 6.3 s,
* 6.0 L (5998 cc) W12 FSI, 331 kW (450 PS), 0–100 km/h in 5.2 s.
Old 19th January 2011, 05:06   #12

Audi A4 is a 3.2 FSI not a 3.0 TSI. The 3.0 TDI is bout 0.2 seconds slower and 1 lakh more expensive than the petrol if thats a typo. The TT uses the same 3.2 FSI that goes in the A4 and has been reviewed to do the 0 - 100 in 5.9, even the A6 3.0 TFSI does the 0 - 100 in less than 6 seconds and is cheaper than the TT which I believe is 60 on-road. (According to fastestlaps & wiki)

Like the concept, wonder why no one thought of this earlier.
Old 19th January 2011, 06:00   #13

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
I think he meant R8 V10.
Old 19th January 2011, 06:23   #14

Nice effort. Had you used a log scale, the numbers you used for the hatch back would have been much more clearer.
Old 19th January 2011, 07:34   #15

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 20th January 2011 at 15:30.
ghodlur is offline   Received Infraction