Old 28th January 2011, 15:37   #31

Re: Mahindra Xylo based pick-up 'Genio' launched in India

I wonder how much will this product add to their exisiting portfolios of pick up trucks, there bolero pick up, scorpio getaway, bolero camper, not sure if force pick up can be considered in the list too!!!
Old 28th January 2011, 17:03   #32

Originally Posted by zalaps View Post
Mahindra has launched the XYLO Pickup GENIO today. Atleast by the picture, one can say that looks of new XYLO E*/ D2/ 5-seater will improve!
Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
Am I an idiot or am I missing something here.
The writing says its a 5 seater, but the pictures posted in the thread are all 3 seater or is that two.

What is happening guys..
Old 28th January 2011, 19:42   #33

If the mini Xylo gets, the genio front grill, bodycoloured bumpers, a/c and ps and an exshowroom price of rs 5.5 lakhs, it will be good bet. But then it will be a direct competitior for the Bolero.
I think the same mill on the Genio will be given to the Bolero, this year, replacing the underpowered DI.
Old 28th January 2011, 19:49   #34

Specs and check out the unusual names of the two shades on the left.
Mahindra Xylo based pick-up 'Genio' launched in India-untitled1.jpg  

Old 28th January 2011, 20:16   #35

Having seen this product in form, I can say that this has one better looking cabin and an awesome tub space for 5lacs price. The front also looks much better than the Xylo!!
Old 28th January 2011, 20:19   #36

Looks-wise, Mahindra created a Camper based on Bolero, Scorpio pick-up based on Scorpio.
It seems they have done a reverse on Genio if they go for mini Xylo with similar/identical front-end treatment.

What would that do for prospective mini Xylo buyer?
Old 28th January 2011, 20:50   #37

I like the look of the front grille and hopefully M&M will make a version of this design for the regular Xylo.

For a pickup, the black grille gives it a nice utilitarian look, which means that owners do not have to worry too much about small nicks and scratches on the grille.

It would have been ideal if M&M had made an effort to design the rear cab.
Old 28th January 2011, 20:54   #38

Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
I think it's high time Mahindra fires its vehicle designers and staff someone who knows what they are doing...

Scorpio: Overdone to the extend of a poser SUV
Totally agree. No offence meant to Scorpio Owners, but I feel that every iteration of the Scorpio has messed up its looks. The original Scorpio looked the best.
Old 28th January 2011, 22:33   #39

Originally Posted by Ashley Nair View Post
If the mini Xylo gets, the genio front grill, bodycoloured bumpers, a/c and ps and an exshowroom price of rs 5.5 lakhs, it will be good bet. But then it will be a direct competitior for the Bolero.
Nope. Mini Xylo is going to have much smaller engine (1500cc one), and won't be a people mover which Bolero is. Mini Xylo is more of a family vehicle and is a competent option to large hatchbacks.
Old 29th January 2011, 12:06   #40

Originally Posted by xingamazon View Post
Am I an idiot or am I missing something here.
The writing says its a 5 seater, but the pictures posted in the thread are all 3 seater or is that two.

What is happening guys..
The news is about the 3/2 seater Mahindra pickup truck. However, Mahindra 5 seater 'mini xylo' is also expected soon. Hence the speculation that the grill and other stuff that appears on this truck, which improves the looks, will also be present on the mini xylo as well.
Old 3rd February 2011, 11:21   #41

The front looks great.
They should definitely carry this over to the Xylo.
The side pictures above shows how bad a design package this is.
If you go to Shivajinagar in Bangalore, I feel you can get a better cut-paste job done . This trailer is pasted onto a xylo similar to how a boot is pasted onto the swift .
This trailer design will make sense only if it has a hydraulic trailer lifting mechanism like Tippers.
For me its just a more comfortable 407.
Old 4th February 2011, 17:07   #42

The front looks great. Initially when I looked at the front profile (didn't see the side yet), didn't think this is a commercial vehicle. Looks classy and more upmarket. So they're using xylo D2's engine here?
Old 16th February 2011, 14:52   #43

I have seen this near forum today. Looked ugly to me.
Old 19th April 2011, 20:18   #44

I saw similar vehicle today when they were filling fuel for this in a bunk near the Tin Factory, Bangalore.

But what was surprising is, it was camouflaged. So, one more addition?

Looked like a getaway. So, Xylo based getaway?

I also noticed that the front Grill was exactly same as Xylo. Sorry, could not capture it, since I was driving.
Old 20th April 2011, 06:28   #45

saw the m&m genio mini pickup truck at SKS koramangala yesterday while taking delivery of my Scorp after its service. it was raining heavily so I didnt manage to explore the vehicle but it looks very nice and functional.
quite stylish too with the rounded design.
Im sure there can be several variants of this including one with a covered load bay and/ or completely covered van style pickup. Interesting the way the commercial vehicle space is slowly getting modernized. hopefully all this development by M&M and Tata and others will slowly but surely push the ancient and dangerous rust buckets which pass for commercial vehicles, off the roads.