Old 17th February 2011, 15:09   #16

Re: Honda Siel to recall 57,853 'City' sedans

Can sombody inform where exactly this part is situated in the engine and to replace what would the service center has to remove. Cause it would not be fair if the part is situated inside the engine block and they have to dismantle the engine for the same.
Old 17th February 2011, 15:14   #17

Situated in the head. Can be replaced by removing the valve cover and unbolting the rocker assembly. Should be a 30-60 minute job for a Honda mechanic with the right tools.
Old 17th February 2011, 15:44   #18

Good on them to come out clean and issue a recall before Honda Citys become known as the "car that left me stranded on the highway". Equally, why didn't Honda catch it earlier? Running a recall on nearly 60,000 cars is huge, especially within the Indian domain. I sure hope heads will roll on this incident as, one of the reasons many of us pay premium rupee for Honda & Toyota is the reliability / durability.

The industry is definitely becoming more transparent and that's a good thing for us customers.
Old 17th February 2011, 16:02   #19

Shucks.!

My car was bought in Aug 2009.Guys where is the Date of manufacture found in the ANHC?
My car has already run 35k.Recently since the past 2-3 months I use to hear a weird noise when the car turned right.We should it at the Dealership here,Pinnacle Honda,they said it to be some problem with the steering joint/rod.Is this the problem?
They said they will be replacing the parts in warranty as soon as the parts arrive.Had a talk with them again today they said the parts would be arriving in 2 days.
The Steering Check light also comes on when the car is in the 3 part of the ignition.The car steering is now slightly tilted towards the right.Will post picstures ASAP.Well this is my 4th Honda.
Old 17th February 2011, 16:06   #20

Its good to know that straight H shown the pro-activeness

What about the slanting H still doing with the steering problem in i20
Old 17th February 2011, 16:14   #21

Originally Posted by cityvic View Post
Shucks.!

My car was bought in Aug 2009.Guys where is the Date of manufacture found in the ANHC?
Go to the Honda India site
Honda Siel Cars India Limited :: Customer Inquiry

Key in your VIN Number and click on "Check"
It will let you now if your vehicle is due for the Update.
Old 17th February 2011, 16:19   #22

I gave the link earlier, and just checked my VIN and it needs a replacement,

Filled the sheet with details and got a tracking/reference number. This is for the service appointment at the dealer.

Raghu

Last edited by raghu230506 : 17th February 2011 at 16:20.
Old 17th February 2011, 16:32   #23

Their website was updated at 4 pm and after typing the Chassis No. , this is
what was mentioned:-

Product update is applicable in your vehicle - if you want to take prior appointment for necessary updation then kindly provide the following information.
Even I am not too sure why they didnt catch it earlier. Anyways better late than never.
Old 17th February 2011, 16:52   #24

All ANHC owners cross check your VIN in the link provided, a friend of mine whose ANHC was Jan 2010 manufactured is also in the list for replacement.

So it doesn't seem to be restricted to Nov 2008 - Dec 2009 Manufactured vehicles, as engine assembled date might be a key
Old 17th February 2011, 17:10   #25

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post

Even I am not too sure why they didnt catch it earlier. Anyways better late than never.
It is never about catching the glitch. It is about what the company chooses to with it! Glad to see Honda not turning a blind eye to the problem like a reputed phone company which refused to accept the problem existed before finally admitting it!
Old 17th February 2011, 18:13   #26

Originally Posted by raghu230506 View Post
All ANHC owners cross check your VIN in the link provided, a friend of mine whose ANHC was Jan 2010 manufactured is also in the list for replacement.

So it doesn't seem to be restricted to Nov 2008 - Dec 2009 Manufactured vehicles, as engine assembled date might be a key

Hey Raghu, thanks for providing this info. I checked on the link mentiond and my car doesnt need an upgrade (it is a Feb 2010 model)...

Uday
Old 17th February 2011, 18:24   #27

The recall is good move by Honda and this will only strengthen customers faith towards the company.

I have checked on the link mentioned on Honda site and it states that "Product update in your vehicle is not applicable" (mine is oct 2010 model).

BTW How a company decides on 'recall' for a particular part in large number of cars?
Old 17th February 2011, 18:42   #28

Even though i haven't checked my car, i am pretty sure it would need a replacement since its Mar 2009. I would not hurry with it, my next service is scheduled for March, so probably i would replace it then.

Quite happy with Honda that they did a proactive step in announcing a recall. They could have decided to underplay it (if even 1-2 cars got stranded it would have given them a bad rep), or silently change it for next service (they fix the issue, but dont admit the problem).
Old 17th February 2011, 18:43   #29

Checked mine and it requires replacement.
The reason why this is coming up is, there must have been instances of this part failing and on further investigation (more rigorous testing) they must have decided to replace the part.
BTW, the recalls are not new to even Honda India, certain batches of 2nd gen Cities were recalled for replacing a faulty front suspension element.
Old 17th February 2011, 19:50   #30

It seems that this problem is not limited to India or even Asia for that matter. Its a massive global recall affecting 700,000 cars worldwide which includes Fit, City and Freed models.

That sure is going to cost Honda a lot of time and money, not to mention a hit in their brand image.

Source: Left Lane News
Honda recalls 700,000 small cars worldwide, 120,000 in N. America