Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Old 7th January 2007, 13:26   #1

ACI Speedrun '07, Mumbai: Regs / Questions / Info

This is the Official Thread for the Mumbai Speedrun that will run in February(?) 2007 at Mumbai.

Please do not discus what cars are running or which tuner is running what.
This is a simple Q&A thread to clear any doubts participants or would- be participants may have.

At the moment you may refer to last years rules > 2006 and this thread will be updated with new info and regulations as they come in.

Any questions regarding dates of the event must go in this thread.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th January 2007 at 13:41.
Old 7th January 2007, 19:28   #2

hi,
I want to know wether BODY KITS are allowed this year at the speed run 2007 , Mumbai ?
thanks
Old 8th January 2007, 01:24   #3

as long as youve got something on 4 wheels...
Old 16th January 2007, 20:11   #4

i think last year they had forced to remove the BODY KITS .........
Old 17th January 2007, 02:52   #5

You think wrong. You can run your milkman if he's fastened down safely enough...just kidding!

Any idea if ACI is paying for shipping like the good ol' days? And are the pro-stock classes still around?
Old 17th January 2007, 09:52   #6

Can't speak on behalf of ACI, but I don't see why they should pay for shipping any longer. The owners of the fast stuff are more than capable of coming over to Mumbai to participate if they want to. Also, the big(er) tuners should show some kinda initiative, afterall, they are the ones getting the maximum benefit from the Speedruns.
Old 17th January 2007, 12:40   #7

Originally Posted by Rtech View Post
Can't speak on behalf of ACI, but I don't see why they should pay for shipping any longer. The owners of the fast stuff are more than capable of coming over to Mumbai to participate if they want to. Also, the big(er) tuners should show some kinda initiative, afterall, they are the ones getting the maximum benefit from the Speedruns.
Well a point it is not the tuners who will be racing but the owners and not all owners get enough benefit in the first place when we call 3K as the first place prize (Indian categories) esp after they have spent lakhs on doing up their cars. (just a thought)

As for the tuners perspective, the best way I could say is that it sounds like Reliance should give free petrol to all its shareholders as they have put in money in the company, cmon it just doesnt work. Without the right media coverage no one gets sponsorship and hence cant cover costs for a build like elsewhere in the world.

I know it is like the chicken and egg problem but till the sport grows in popularity and till the right authorities look into providing basic tracks / services to drivers across the country it will be in the domain of those 60 -70 car owners and 200 - 300 bike owners across the country checking their bank balances for each race. Yes a few worldwide do not get sponsorship but that is on the lower end and not like no sponsorship at all (excepting for a few who have won races for years that too only in rallies and track events) here as there is hardly any media coverage excepting for the tyre and fuel companies.

As for the advertising, doesnt ACI get enough sponsorship and also put up the sponsor stickers on the cars??? what did the owners get in return a free trip to the venue which is justified.
Old 17th January 2007, 14:18   #8

Like in all motor sports, car manufacturers and tuners are the major gainers and so are the main sponsors.
We should get the manufacturers to sponsor their cars for such events, tuned by specialists ofcourse, like the JK and MRF Ralling teams.
Old 17th January 2007, 14:24   #9

Originally Posted by scooby05 View Post
Like in all motor sports, car manufacturers and tuners are the major gainers and so are the main sponsors.
We should get the manufacturers to sponsor their cars for such events, tuned by specialists ofcourse, like the JK and MRF Ralling teams.

If you get a "sponsored" run in the races.. you could have a situation like in Rallying where you can have an entry void of the regular stickers that your forced to put on your car.... but again that all takes TIME.
@Psycho.. Sad to say but there's no HIGH END and LOW END racer's in India.. we are all in the same crap bucket...so lets not go there shall we.
Old 17th January 2007, 15:09   #10

At the Kochi Autocross, first place in the Open class was 15k or the like. There were 5 or 6 prizes in the class. The two best drivers also got return tickets abroad. All this for an event that was less than one-third the size of the Speed Run. I should think ACI can pay transport.
Old 17th January 2007, 15:13   #11

whats the entry fee like again ?
Old 18th January 2007, 17:13   #12

where do you get the high risk accident insurance from?
Old 18th January 2007, 17:41   #13

Originally Posted by SkiN46 View Post
where do you get the high risk accident insurance from?
I think the easiest place would be New India Assurance.
Old 29th January 2007, 17:00   #14

I heard that ACI is indeed paying for shipping. Can anyone confirm this?
Old 29th January 2007, 17:44   #15

Also , can cars running in the pro stock class also take part in the indian open ?? Unlike last year there is no such mention of any such rule in the regs .. Rt can u kindly confirm this ??