Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

View Poll Results: Would you like an alternative to the SpeedRun?
Yes. It's about time we came up with our own event. 58 68.24%
No. The event is fine as it is - minor screw ups keep happening but overall it's great. 2 2.35%
Not interested. 1 1.18%
Yes. It's about time we did something to improve it - lets send our ideas to the organizers. 24 28.24%
Voters: 85. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st February 2007, 13:37   #16

paras, thats a very good idea. Seems the main problem of this speed run was the heat. Even if there were a few grouses about the management, I'm sure that if done at night ppl. wouldn't have found it so bad.

One concern is the cost for lighting up this huge area.
Old 21st February 2007, 20:59   #17
elf

Thanks to all for the enthusiasm shown.

I like the idea of having the finals after dark. Adds glamour to the event.

Keep the ideas coming guys - am going to run a print in about a week / 10 days after sufficient points are in & then run them by various official sorts ...

Last edited by elf : 21st February 2007 at 21:01.
Old 21st February 2007, 21:50   #18
SRK

elf bahi!!
A great thought..
Even I had a similar idea but didnt open my mouth as I thought people would think I am just day dreaming..

Here are some suggesstions:

1. We need something to sit..
I mean its really tiring to stand for long hours..
Also when a huge crowd gathers the guys standing at the back..dont get to see a thing..

2. Better charge the people with tickets..Maybe Rs.50-100.this will decrease the number of people coming..

I would love to be a part of this event in any way that I can Help!!!

Last edited by SRK : 21st February 2007 at 21:52.
Old 22nd February 2007, 14:43   #19

Elf, surprised to see more than one serious post in a row from you!

Anyway, as discussed, I will put down some ideas:

1. You will need a venue atleast twice the size. Parking and viewing areas should be separate. All seated areas will be on a paid basis. All parking will be paid. Much larger paddock and staging areas.

2. Have a bunch of true enthusiasts and motorheads as part of the organisers. After moaning for years about the MAI, I got to see just how hard they work, and how it gets wasted by someone who doesn't know if a Baleno is in the <1650cc class.

3. Commercialise to an extent unheard of.

4. Being the devil's advocate here, I don't think we can pull off the permissions for a night race. Let's stick to the day thing, though the night funda is certainly exciting.

5. Try and make it a 3-day event. Either that, or stagger and mix classes so that people don't get bored of 2-stroke bikes, or stock cars.

6. I cannot stress this enough: time management.
Old 22nd February 2007, 15:19   #20

do we have to have 2 stroke phut phut ??
after saturday i abuse all the rx 100 125 s on the roaD i see
maybe it was one of them at kharghar without the muffler
Old 22nd February 2007, 16:17   #21

It seems elitist to me to denigrate 2-strokes and their noise. This is Indian motorsport at the grassroots level. Not everyone can afford to turbocharge their Citys or overbore their Balenos. What an RX135 rider puts into his bike costs him a hell of a lot more that what an RS owner puts into his, since he probably earns that much less.

For all those who complain, f you don't like the sound, don't come on the first morning. And don't ever watch an F1 or MotoGP race, and thank your stars there are no 500 cc GP races any more.
Old 23rd February 2007, 13:56   #22
elf

Some points of my own...

Thanks to all for the overwhelming response. Support for the idea's been coming in from so many people - both on this thread as well as via the phone.

Like v1p3r said - we need to keep this on a grassroots level to ensure that the junta stays interested & even somebody with a base level 100cc bike or an M800 feels that he can participate for not too much money or effort.

My two bits on some basic ideas I had.
Please feel free to shoot an idea down if you think it deserves so.
  1. We're in the process of evaluating whether a club or an association should be formed. This will enable us to move forward.
  2. Depending upon the class you enter, the entry fee for the participant shall vary. Hence, a 100-125cc bike shall pay less than somebody entering an R1 or a Busa, or somebody in the open class would pay more than somebody in the stock class for cars.
  3. I like the idea of having it on two separate weekends. One for bikes, & the other for cars. That way we can separate the crowds as well & one can choose to bypass the 100cc bike event without fear of missing out on any cars, etc.
  4. There will be an open general (& hopefully) shaded area for people to view the event for free. Then the tickets shall start from 100 bucks onward to maybe about 5000 bucks. Also, one would be able to purchase an all access pass for a stiff fee. Some would also be given away in contests prior to the event & on raceday itself, etc.
  5. Automobile related companies offering products / services (eg. tuners, body-kit-wallahs, tyre & alloy shops, etc.) shall be allowed to rent stalls where they'd like to display their cars / products, etc. for a fee.
  6. Sufficient refreshment stalls with varying rates & food shall be available in the different areas of seating.
  7. Free parking, with the option of paid parking as well, again with varying rates.
  8. Something for everybody. That way, the guy who watches Dhoom & wants to see some hot bikes can come in for free, as well as the well heeled enthusiast who would pay heavily & then like to strut around with his all access pass.
  9. No stunts allowed in the entire event area - including parking lots. No hero type disco dancing, doughnuts, wheelies, etc.
  10. Strict private security all throughout.
  11. Distinguished members of the motorsport world will be invited to come on board in an advisory capacity.
That's all for now. Keep your ideas coming.

Last edited by elf : 23rd February 2007 at 13:58.
Old 23rd February 2007, 14:18   #23

Thats a nice and comprehensive list elf.

How about helping out of towners with logistics at a premium ofcourse? Tying up with some transport companies can help.
Old 23rd February 2007, 16:12   #24

tickets shall start from 100 bucks onward to maybe about 5000 bucks.
Thats atrocious!
What is this? F1??
I'd say 1000 bucks for an all access pass is good!
Old 23rd February 2007, 20:15   #25

Originally Posted by elf View Post
  1. We're in the process of evaluating whether a club or an association should be formed. This will enable us to move forward.
How about an Indian National Hot Rod Association (INHRA)

May be we can get affiliation or be a member something like that with NHRA just like FMSCI is a member of FIA. That way, we can get lot of support from them (I suppose).
Old 23rd February 2007, 21:23   #26
SRK

@elf I am in complete agreement with the List you composed..

But those Rs 5000/- for the seats?? What will be special about it..
I mean who can afford so much atleast not me, unless the person drives an exotic car and has a good business....

By the way where will the event be hosted..
I mean do we have some good long roads..
I havent seen anything better than the Bandra reclemation bridge/Pune express highway..Thats because I havent been to anyother place..

So I just wanted to know which places are suitable for this event.
I mean we have the rules..The people to take part..but wheres the track??

I am really getting excited..
Old 23rd February 2007, 21:43   #27

Elf, I dont mind getting into this full time... Just let me know when its time to get going...
Old 24th February 2007, 14:45   #28

1. We're in the process of evaluating whether a club or an association should be formed. This will enable us to move forward. : How does this help?
  2. Depending upon the class you enter, the entry fee for the participant shall vary. : Excellent idea.
  3. I like the idea of having it on two separate weekends.. Logistics nightmare.
  4. Free parking, with the option of paid parking as well, again with varying rates. Make all parking paid. Anyone who can afford a set of wheels to come all the way can afford 10-50 bucks to pay for parking. Make sure parking isn't too close to the spectator areas, because it will be hard to control showboaters anyway.
SRK, there will probably be a TBHP concession of some sort, so don't worry.

Nitrous, try finding a decent F1 ticket, let alone an all-access pass, for 110 USD. At 1k for an all access pass, you will see more janta in the pits than tuners or mechs. 3-5k will discourage timepass people, or so we hope. Of course, I speak from the other side, since my friend the gardenfairy has promised me a pass

From the perspective of the participants, there are a lot of issues wrt the scrutineering. Maybe Robeeeeen could throw some light on the procedures, because I'd hate to see a repeat of a 15.7 second 1l pro-stock, where everyone claims he's cheating but no one can prove it.

Also, I'd like it if people who showed a valid student ID or are below 22 or something, can get a discount on participation costs. Either that, or people who are applying for the MAI licence for the first time. It would go a fair way in encouraging fresh faces.

Last edited by v1p3r : 24th February 2007 at 14:47.
Old 24th February 2007, 14:50   #29

Just realised, the title of this thread is a bit of a misnomer. We don't want an alternative as such. It would be nice to have more than just one big race every year. Speedrun and the elfstrip could co-exist, and the sport would stand to gain.
Old 24th February 2007, 15:50   #30

no sun stroke in the day = mosquitoes in the night, people are always gonna crib!!

manson.