Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Old 5th November 2009, 12:57   #1

Luxury RALLY in the desert EDIT: Pics on page 2

Cougar motorsport is hosting the DESERT DASH 09 for premium street legal suv's

Cougar Motorsport

The event includes luxury stay's, its more like a care free event to enjoy most probably.

Entry fee's is 1,25000/- to 2,00,000/-

Starts 29th nov to 2 dec
Old 5th November 2009, 18:03   #2

Nice, but very steep pricing for a 5 day event. The time of organised driving holidays has come. I know of atleast two companies that have it in the pipeline. Expect some news soon.
Old 5th November 2009, 19:32   #3

Luxury package. the price shows that.
Expensive than the arabian wild wadi dashes

Is this someway related to our bhp-ian cougar?
Old 6th November 2009, 17:41   #4

Who is this Cougar motorsport?
What are their achievements? How are they qualified?
Personally, I think the average Indian Enthusiast doesn't need this right now.
Old 6th November 2009, 17:51   #5

Maybe the price is so high because the event is for Premium SUVs and not for unfortunate third world Jeepers, like me.

Yet, it is definitely on the higher side. Lets wait and see how many entries make it.
Old 7th November 2009, 12:04   #6

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Who is this Cougar motorsport?
What are their achievements? How are they qualified?
Sometimes its all about asking the right questions. Their about us page doesn't have anything other than a Porsche Cayenne photo (import numberplates) and this

The Desert Dash is organized by Cougar Motorsport - an organisation that brings together the experience of motor sport competitors, officials and event management specialists. All founders are high-ranking professionals with large organisations who have experienced first-hand the added dimension that motorsport can bring to executive life.
Old 7th November 2009, 12:21   #7
DKG

Very interesting. Great idea and from the looks of it sounds like a fun thing to participate. Someone with a 1 crore SUV won't flinch at paying the fees for a 5 day bash with luxurious stay and partying !

The website talks about a Rainforest and Himalayan dash in future!

Funny how when I met Sanjay David at Hyderabad we were discussing the need to create stuff along the lines of the Camel Trophy and looks like others have already set the ball in motion ! Fantastic and I wish them all the success
Old 10th November 2009, 15:32   #8

It is a great idea an there is a tangible market for it, though niche. These kind of luxury adventure drives are very popular internationally and I am glad some one has picked up the gauntlet here.

Just btw, the people who run Cougar are known to me and they have a very good idea of both motor sport and business, so please don't underestimate them. They have had the vision and guts to do this...while fools like me have been left only contemplating similar stuff..
Old 10th November 2009, 15:34   #9
DKG

Originally Posted by Manoj Biswas View Post
Just btw, the people who run Cougar are known to me and they have a very good idea of both motor sport and business, so please don't underestimate them.
Maybe you could throw more light on these people
Old 10th November 2009, 15:39   #10

Ashish Gupta from Delhi, veteran of many a Raid and Desert Storm (as an extreme category competitor), and a top-notch corporate banker till recently to boot, heads the show. A gentleman and experienced in the sport. Meet him and you'll know what I am saying.
Old 10th November 2009, 15:41   #11
DKG

I think its a terrific initiative and I wish him and his team all the success. Not too long ago I was talking to someone about the need to create such adventures and that you would have participation from around the world and now we see someone actually organising it. Great !
Old 10th November 2009, 17:09   #12

Is he the gent from Babcock & Brown?
Old 11th November 2009, 12:57   #13

Is he the gent from Babcock & Brown?
Hmmmm... am not too sure Phamilyman, he did have a short stint with a similar sounding company before opening Cougar.. maybe you're right.
Old 11th November 2009, 21:48   #14

Now thats a start. Motorsports that fit your needs and aspirations. Now lets just wait till someone fills up the entire spectrum.
Old 12th November 2009, 03:09   #15

Sometimes its all about asking the right questions. Their about us page doesn't have anything other than a Porsche Cayenne photo (import numberplates) and this

I think its a newly formed company trying to tapp the people with the cash and the car. The entry said by invitation only and you need to buy one.

Eventually it will become a place to show off the cars and mine is bigger that yours, The real deal are events like RAID-X, But then its again an event costing more than 4-5lac including the car prep to participate. So if we compare that to this the entry fee seems justified the 5star aint coming cheap.

May be is something called as luxury motorsports.

The indian motorsports scene is so slow and specially in the north side, Surprisingly, people have the cars and the passion yet no space,no1 to help. I have tried small time events, But very tough to hold something a on a bigger scale and mature scale, The only hopes are the G.noida track but that seems a dream at the moment.