Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 23rd October 2020, 10:42   #16

Re: 2021 Hyundai i20 N debuts with 204 HP and 6-speed Manual Transmission only

My opinion may not be in line with everybody’s views, but I don’t think i20 N will sell, unless Hyundai is going to a pull a rabbit out of the hat.

The third-gen i20 in diesel guise will easily breach the 12 lac mark in tha Asta (O) variant. Even the 1.0 TGDi with DCT won’t be priced below 12 lacs OTR Delhi (optimistic/humble expectations from my end).

Now, a 1.6 turbocharged engine with 204 horses shouldn’t be priced more than 20 lacs OTR, purely because, after all, its an i20. More than i20, it is a Hyundai! And Hyundai’s still doesn’t command that level of respect that VAG’s do. Being an i20 owner, I’m often looked down upon by many fellow enthusiasts.

Back to the topic though, I feel it cannot be priced below 20 lacs because of one simple reason: our taxation system!

If it’s priced below the psychological 20 lacs barrier, it might find a few takers, else, it’ll have a GTIesque story. And if Hyundai goes overboard with the pricing, it could be a dead on arrival story.

All that aside, I feel Hyundai will bring this to our shores as a halo/differentiating model. What remains to be seen is whether they’ll retain the regular dealerships to sell this car or do a NEXA for their performance-oriented lineup.

Utsav
Utsav3010 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2020, 14:07   #17

Re: Hyundai i20 N performance hatchback coming in 2020

I hope Hyundai at least considers an India specific N, with the 138hp 1.4 TGDi motor from the Creta - priced against the compact SUVs at 16ish on-road.
THIS! There are so many manufacturers who can do this!!! something like this would be the perfect upgrade from my JTP, and if it comes from the stables of Hyundai, Ford, VW/Skoda, or even MS, We can even expect reliability and good manufacturer support.

Disclaimer: I only included MS because of the Swift Sport rumours doing the rounds. That is the only desirable car from them IMO.
Turrrb0 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2020, 15:05   #18

We can all wish for the N to grace our roads, but be disappointed at the end. The demand for this car just would not be enough for hyundai to bring it here, if they did i feel that the car would have the same fate as the Volkswagen GTI.
Old 23rd October 2020, 19:31   #19

It is unlikely that i20N will ever make it to India. If it ever does, it will definitely be a CBU. The reason why I think so is that both from front and rear axles of the i20N are different along with that 1.6 T-GDI . Other than those, even a lot of interior and exterior components and the necessary electronics are different. Hyundai will not get the volumes to justify that kind of investment in India.

Hot-hatches are big in Europe and they sell like 'hot' cakes.
(Maybe cakes sell because they are hot?.. mmmm).
Anyway, my point is, i20N won't be produced in India.

A regular T-GDI top of the line i20 is around €20,000 and the i20N in could be around €23,000 to €26,000 considering the prices of Fiesta ST and Polo GTI.
If it is even brought to India as a CBU, perhaps we can expect it to cost around 22-24lakhs?

Perhaps an N-Line could be a plausible since it shares a lot more parts from the regular i20. A larger set of wheels, better suspension and a few visual bits and pieces and there you go, you have a 'warm' hatch.

Last edited by puneeth2 : 23rd October 2020 at 19:43.
Old 13th November 2020, 00:20   #20

Prototype drive review of the i20 N -

Old 2nd December 2020, 11:52   #21

In Australia, Hyundai i20 N hot hatch will be available to order via Instagram from tomorrow night.

Potential buyers can place a fully refundable $500 deposit to be one of the first to secure a vehicle when it arrives in Australia by the middle of next year.