Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Search this Thread
Old 19th June 2007, 19:24   #1
BHPian

Enginneering training abroad

hi guys,

didnt know the exact place where to post this and i didnt have sufficient privileges to post in the bhp advice section so here it is.

I am a mechanical engineering student at Thapar University ,Patiala and want to go in for my semester(Jan 2008 -Jun 2008) training abroad(because here in Indian companies as i have come to know ..only know about Maruti though they dont actually teach you anything or even let you touch anything) in some reputed automobile company preferably Europe. Dont know where to start the correspondace from ,so i said lets start from our own guys.

If anyone has an idea or how to go about the procedure for such training do let me know and i'm continuing my seach on net as some companies do accept your resume for the training .

I am very serious soguys do help.
Old 20th June 2007, 22:06   #2
Team-BHP Support

i don't know any details about the situation in Europe.
now are you looking at some sort of apprenticeship position working in a workshop or something then in the U.S. they generally prefer you having this certification -> ASE.
get in touch directly with the automobile firms.
go to dealer websites (if you're keen on working in workshops) as they're more likely to respond and see what they have to say. the dealer's won't be able to help you with your VISA but it's a start.
Old 20th June 2007, 22:13   #3
BHPian

wrote to the german embassy yesterday and got the following response
:
Hello Aman,

Practical training can be arranged as a requirement of the on-going
course
of study

- The student must cover his own airfare

- Employer/host institution is expected to pay a monthly living
allowance.
The allowance of Euro 615 per month, or Euro 395 plus accommodation per
month would entitle student to apply for a visa. The candidate should
get in