Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 25th July 2007, 01:15   #16

Originally Posted by ram View Post
You're quite likely to be right iraghava. I can see where you're coming from.

But I have learned better since 2005. You'd be surprised at what is being developed and tested in house in India these days! You'd be surprised at the depth of qualifications of specialists available in India these days! There's a massive reverse brain drain happening of designers and managers returning home to India from the better developed world.

BTW, this Mahindra uses neither ZF Friedrichshafen, Oerlikon-Graziano Drive Systems nor Aisin AW.
I agree with you Ram & I could be wrong about this whole thing. But my suspicion was triggered by two factors:

1. No manufacturer in India has so far attempted such an effort.

2. On a recent visit to Greater Noida I spotted a ZF or Graziano factory there (Not absolutely sure which one right now, but chances are it was Graziano) and hence my comment on their possible partnership, since it makes financial sense for both the companies.

Developing a 6-sp auto just for a few thousand units might not be the smartest move by M&M.
Old 25th July 2007, 01:25   #17

WOW! 180 bhp out of a 2.2 is right up there with the Euro diesel experts. Even Mercedes does not push out so much power from their 2.2. I wonder where Mahindra is getting the transmission from and also how they plan to meet the strict CARB emission requirements. VW had to retire their TDI Jetta for '07 because it could'nt meet emissions.

Ananth, rear is still a solid axle, but 5-links instead of leaf.
Old 25th July 2007, 01:32   #18

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Export models need to be leagues ahead if they want someone to buy them whereas in india, anything will sell, so why bother ? pathetic attitude.
Very true ! While on one hand, I am happy to see Mahindra make its foray into the US market, it pains on the other to note the fate so badly written on the Indian consumer who gets anything but quality.
Old 26th July 2007, 02:57   #19

Kudos to Mahindra! But I am not expecting anything big. It is a very difficult challenge taking on American trucks on American soil. Japanese have been trying it for a long time.
Old 26th July 2007, 05:08   #20

What tear in eye? Anand Mahindra deserves a punch in the eye for giving us a crazy ball of a truck while them Yanks get a 180 hp setup, with quad discs and ABS+EBD.

Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
Ummm... lets see it this way, in india anything will sell. however in india they also "need" to sell. as in say mahindra currently offers this vehicle in india with a trim and spec level which makes it possible for them to sell it for less than 10 lacs. now after these high-tech specs (6 speed auto tranny, no less!) and beastly power this same vehicle will probably cost 15 lacs in india.
What makes you say so? Unlike the traditional US-India price differences, which occur because cars like the Accord are built in the US but wholly or partially imported into India, the Scorpio is supposed to be an indigenously conceived, designed, and manufactured product. I'm sure Anand Mahindra can think of a way to give us a Scorpio with similar features at prices similar to US levels. Tata managed to sell the Indica cheaper in India than in the UK, and Reva manages to do it to this day.
Old 28th July 2007, 11:22   #21

They should try to sell it to the American Indians there. Try to cash in on the "Mera Bharat Mahaan" factor.
Old 28th July 2007, 11:47   #22

Gr8 going Mahindra, still a long way to go..good spec..but, i feel the first half of the truck resembles scorpio, its just like scropio cut into half and fixed to the carrier!!
Old 28th July 2007, 14:22   #23

180 BHP and 6 speed auto makes for great numbers. But are they going to offer these numbers even as an option in India? I am keeping my fingers crossed..

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Export models need to be leagues ahead if they want someone to buy them whereas in india, anything will sell, so why bother ? pathetic attitude.
We have come to take this attitude for granted. It is high time we DEMAND export quality products and services from our own car makers.
Old 28th July 2007, 15:08   #24

Sell to American Indians? I hope you don't mean the "Red Indians" now called "Native Americans"

Because you have a tough chance with the "desi" crowd there. They wouldn't even buy American or Korean. It is Japanese all the way. Also the Desi crowd is based in cities, and the Scorpio won't appeal there.

And a great percentage of the desi crowd (not the new gen, fly SFO-BLR every month IT-Vity crowd) have no knowledge or respect to indian stuff. Most have not visited Desh for 15 years, and what they think India is their village they had seen 30 years ago.

I am not joking. I personally know a lot of these people.
Old 29th July 2007, 03:52   #25

Originally Posted by DileepKS View Post
Sell to American Indians? I hope you don't mean the "Red Indians" now called "Native Americans"

Because you have a tough chance with the "desi" crowd there. They wouldn't even buy American or Korean. It is Japanese all the way. Also the Desi crowd is based in cities, and the Scorpio won't appeal there.

And a great percentage of the desi crowd (not the new gen, fly SFO-BLR every month IT-Vity crowd) have no knowledge or respect to indian stuff. Most have not visited Desh for 15 years, and what they think India is their village they had seen 30 years ago.

There are a lot of people who are like that. But I'd say its a minority. There are tonnes of people who are not afraid to take a risk,and go in for american cars. So,the chances of them investing in a car/SUV/pick-up thats more or less of Indian make are pretty high. Given that the price bracket that M&M cars are going to be in,a huge chunk of people (american or desi) would give it a try.

I've been pretty surprised to find a lot of Indians going in for american cars, that too as their first car(s).And Indians can be found even in the smallest of cities here in the US,so any car that fits their budget would land up in their garage..
Old 29th July 2007, 04:55   #26

The US truck buyer is very brand loyal. They are stuck on their favorite name plate, whether Ford, Dodge or Chevy/GMC. In the last few years, Nissan and Toyota have been slowly taking some of the market share away from the big boys but the brand loyalty is very hard to overcome.

Mahindra has been selling their farm tractors in the American market since 1994 and has built up a following so, if they play their cards right, they might get some buyers. My suggestion is for them to build their trucks to be super tough and dependable. The Americans love tough trucks.
Old 29th July 2007, 08:05   #27

This will definitely do good, because of the price range this is going to go to, there aren't many workhorse pickups.
Old 29th July 2007, 10:23   #28
Ram

Originally Posted by DileepKS View Post
And a great percentage of the desi crowd have no knowledge or respect to indian stuff. Most have not visited Desh for 15 years, and what they think India is their village they had seen 30 years ago.

These wandering soldiers of fortune deserted their motherland instead of developing it.

Should Mahindra, India's own dear automaker, really produce a product for them?

Methinks No!
Mahindra, in their drive for progress, are putting their very best foot forward to conquer an unknown land.
Wish them the very best!
Old 29th July 2007, 19:24   #29

the launch of the 2.2 cdi engine i not too far away. it should be on sale by end september if not earlier.additional features over the existing slx model are abs,disc brakes all round,cruise control,esp,2.2 crdi engine 145 ps 305nm torque.

most likely will be called the "hawk".not sure abt the transmission and the 180ps.likely to be priced at 10.8 on rd mumbai.

this info from a manager at mahindra,4 of them are already being tested in mumbai.
Old 30th July 2007, 00:21   #30

Originally Posted by ram View Post
These wandering soldiers of fortune deserted their motherland instead of developing it.

Should Mahindra, India's own dear automaker, really produce a product for them?
Answer is no and Mahindra hasnot developed the product for them, and they dontneed these either.How many Desi's have pickups? Or have the use for them?

However Mahindrais going in a market segment that has been vacated since times of yore. Where pickups were cheap and were no nonsense workhorses.

BTW I procured the TRUCKTREND issue (infact Truck trend is not widely circulated here its the TRUCKIN' that rules the roost) and page 8 made me very proud. I just showed an American who was browsing the Truckin' pages and he said "oh! looks neat". Love the fact that the bumper is the old scorp bumper not the new skirted do from the new scorpio.

Tere is also a considerable amount of chassis streching as appears from the side photographs over the scorp.

Want to see the TL here too!