Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 5th August 2008, 21:28   #1

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.

I find this very strange. These pictures were e-mailed to me recently. Saudi's take their cars with them all the way to europe, no idea why this is done. Is it legal?
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-5.jpeg  

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-6.jpeg  

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-7.jpeg  

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-8.jpeg  

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-12.jpeg  

Old 5th August 2008, 21:42   #2

Wah Bhai those are some serious exotics..!!!

Q:why this is done?
A: Because, Money hai toh Honey hai
Old 5th August 2008, 21:51   #3

There's nothing illegal about taking your car, as a visitor, from one country to another, although there is supposed to be a sticker on the back, or combined with the number plate, identifying the nationality --- eg it would be GB for UK.

I wonder if these guys take any notice of speed cameras?

Probably not.
Old 5th August 2008, 22:02   #4

Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
Wah Bhai those are some serious exotics..!!!

Q:why this is done?
A: Because, Money hai toh Honey hai
Hahaha is quite wierd. I was actually going to name the thread "Saudi Exotics in Europe: Money Hai to Honey Hai" but then thought it would be unappropriate. Anyway I like the way you think. Here are a few more "shocking" pictures.

THREE SLR's
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-111.jpeg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-222.jpeg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-333.jpeg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-444.jpeg

Name:  555.jpg
Views: 5779
Size:  62.6 KB

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-666.jpg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-777.jpg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-888.jpg

One Pagani Zonda
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177009301.jpg

F430 Spider
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010023.jpg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010052.jpg

F430
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-9.jpeg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010152.jpg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-19.jpg

Two Bentleys
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-11.jpeg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010473.jpg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010562.jpg
Old 5th August 2008, 22:06   #5

I have seen Danish number plates in front of cars here in America. One reason I know they do this is because, people love the look of the danish number plates.(the font, the blue strip with stars arranged in a circle). Arabic plates might be the same reason as well. They do look good on cars.
Old 5th August 2008, 22:11   #6

Continued

Two Lamborghini's ( the green one is hideous)
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177009826.jpg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177009869.jpg

Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177009936.jpg

Aston Martin
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010315.jpg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-10.jpeg

Porsche Cayenne
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010767.jpg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-1177010804.jpg

Mercedes S-Class
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-13.jpeg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-14.jpeg
Saudi and other Middle East registered cars In Europe.-15.jpeg
Old 6th August 2008, 00:38   #7

A few years ago I was staying at the Ritz in London, and I saw this row of luxury cars outside the hotel, 2RRs, Maybach, many...many S classes. They all had Saudi plates. Was told that a member of the royal family and his entourage were put up in the hotel.

My father told me that these guys take their cars with them when they travel as it saves them the risk and hassle of renting. I agree and think that it all has to do with safety when it concerns the luxo badges...

Oh and I love that they feel it ok to put aftermarket rims on a Murci...
Old 6th August 2008, 02:14   #8

@ K-S-A

this is a very common practise among the well off Arabs from Saudi, UAE, Qatar and so on. Especially during the summer months they have their exotics/luxury cars shipped to Europe and they drive around most major cities.

You know how these guys(while in their respective or other Arab countries) sometimes keep driving up and down the street or around buildings with cafe's and outdoor eateries just so that everyone can see them in their cars, well this is what some of them do while in Europe as well.

well like they say, if you've got it. flaunt it!
Old 6th August 2008, 08:29   #9

Maybe these cars belong to diplomats and their sons and family cheers:

Who cares about speed camera's these guys will surely have diplomatic immunity
Old 6th August 2008, 08:47   #10

Originally Posted by Gregory View Post
Maybe these cars belong to diplomats and their sons and family cheers:

Who cares about speed camera's these guys will surely have diplomatic immunity
They would have diplomatic plates.

These are wealthy folks with their own aircraft so it is a case of merely loading em up and driving off. Another possibility is that these may belong to expats who have moved back and in the process of re-registering them. Seen a lot of brits driving such cars (even a Polo) with Dubai export plates. I n one case, a cop stopped them to verify their papers
Old 6th August 2008, 10:14   #11

if am not wrong most countries have carnet rule right
these guys would need to get permission from the saudi autmobile federation
im not sure but can someone confirm
Old 6th August 2008, 14:23   #12

Saudi's can do anything. Similarly, have you seen Farenheit 9/11. They have sizeable stake in US economy. I was amazed to know that the saud have sppecial previlidges in US.
Old 6th August 2008, 14:39   #13

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I wonder if these guys take any notice of speed cameras?
If you can afford to ship or airfreight your car down to wherever you are vacationing, I dont think minor issues like speed cameras would stop you.

They probably compare the number of speeding tickets they received when they get back home - probably have a running bet on which of them would log the highest number as well.
Old 6th August 2008, 14:54   #14

Yeah its probably the same case as in Farenheit 9/11. Saudis are big in US, important people. Why won't they be, US/EU want oil..
Old 6th August 2008, 15:00   #15

Long ago on British media had read about the holiday patterns of Saudi royals in mainland Europe.

With the kind of money they spend on staying/shopping/flying etc no one is complaining