Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 24th October 2008, 18:45   #1

Mentley Insanne!

Ladies & Gentleman, here's presenting to you "Mentley Insanne"!!

Mentley Insanne!-mentley_insanne-large.jpg

Mentley Insanne!-im001129.jpg

This mad ‘gentleman’s hot rod’ conceived and built by leading UK customiser Andy Saunders will be one of the stars of the show at a London Auction next week.

Saunders built the Mentley Insanne because, while the Bentley Mulsanne Turbo had prodigious performance, he felt it lacked style and presence – likening it to ‘a large Volvo’.

The subsequent restyle involved a lower, sleeker design in which every panel apart from the bonnet was modified. The roof is lowered 76mm and ends in a glass landau top, apparently formed form the panoramic roof from a Mercedes 280SL. Range Rover lights front and rear are complemented by a ‘chopped and channelled’ traditional Bentley grill.
Source: PistonHeads Headlines

More here: Andy Saunders Kustoms - custom cars

What do I think of it??
Old 24th October 2008, 18:48   #2

Someone should have told him about the 300c. He would have been a lot happier.
Old 24th October 2008, 19:03   #3

A perfect waste of a good car.

It's like a mixed breed dog. A cross between LR & bentley. Perfectly way to waste money. I'm dying to know how much it will sell for BTW. Keep us updated on it.

It reminds me of those early days when contessas were modified to look as mercs! Rather it is a perfect look for the "pimpmobiles" that certain gentlemen buy in the United States.

Last edited by Tejas@perioimpl : 24th October 2008 at 19:05.
Old 24th October 2008, 22:00   #4

look at those external protruding wipers. They look right out of an Amby or fiat taxis.
Old 24th October 2008, 22:22   #5

Yeah that's definitely a waste. He could've at least used some custom headlamps rather than use RR ones.

I wonder how he lowered the roof without compromising the structural integrity of the body.
Old 25th October 2008, 00:53   #6

Yags! the only thing missing is a bunch of gun slinging home boys gearing up for a drive by!
Old 25th October 2008, 04:15   #7

I'm pretty sure I just puked a little in my mouth.
Old 25th October 2008, 09:40   #8

Now we know what happens when a Range Rover and a Bentley are parked together in a garage and left alone!!
Old 25th October 2008, 14:48   #9

Kya yaar I saw the pic and thought it was a modified Conti. Looks lousy.
Old 25th October 2008, 15:09   #10

Clarification : This may have something to do with the fact that I get thirsty around this time for sat nite whiskeys, but I actually like the overall profile of this car. It's muscular and beams with character. The low stance, massive width & sweet roofline are to my taste.

What I don't like is the choice of wheels, headlamps and front bumper. Has potential if these are changed.
Old 25th October 2008, 15:38   #11

I actually thought this snap, which I've had for a few years, was actually photoshopped. Seeing this thread, I dug it up for you guys. Blasphemy!

Mentley Insanne!-bentley-arnage-ugly-modification.jpg
Old 25th October 2008, 16:20   #12

The Pimp My Ride guys have done better! Those headlamps look awfully out of place. The best semi-bling Bentley I have seen is the one used in the Thomas Crown Affair.
Mentley Insanne!-bentley.jpg  

Old 25th October 2008, 17:07   #13

this look pretty sad, it is no where, not bling, not classy, not upmarket, not pimped, not funky . . it actually looks nothing.

AC