Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 15th December 2008, 11:57   #31

Looks awkward, ugly, monsterish. I don't understand Merc's obsession with metal colors. First was C class and now is E class. What next, an S class saloon in metal colors! :O
Old 16th December 2008, 01:51   #32

Originally Posted by no_limit View Post
Wonder what kind of "Image" would it potray..
Dont you agree that Rolls Royce is a ugly looking sedan but its image overpowers its look! Same thing with BMW 3 series back, which was launched in 2003 or 2004 ( I guess), but the sales didn't go down. I bet the sales for the new E-class will not be affected at least in Europe and North America because of the shape. This is best affordable sedan in the luxury segment.
Old 16th December 2008, 04:26   #33

Originally Posted by VIPER_SRT View Post
Dont you agree that Rolls Royce is a ugly looking sedan but its image overpowers its look! Same thing with BMW 3 series back, which was launched in 2003 or 2004 ( I guess), but the sales didn't go down. I bet the sales for the new E-class will not be affected at least in Europe and North America because of the shape. This is best affordable sedan in the luxury segment.

There is no way you can compare the E-Class to the Rolls Royce!
You're talking a difference of more than 3.5 crores! The Rolls isn't about the look; it's about the luxury, the status, the personalisation...

BMW 3 series again was a very practical, low-cost luxury sedan. E class on the other hand is a luxury sedan and belongs to a segment in which look, price, fuel economy, practicality and power all play an equal role. And to compete with the other brands in the segment (mainly BMW and Audi) it has to be strong in all these. Also remember, because the E-Class is also aimed at families, looks play a vital part.

Moreover, with the Audi's brilliant new A6, Mercedes has to ensure that the other factors overshadow just how awful this car looks. BMW can only get better with its 5 series (I hope).
Old 16th December 2008, 06:45   #34

Wow, that car's stunning...really quite gorgeous.

Oh, gotta go, my unicorn's hungry and my pigs need their wing-feathers clipped.
Old 16th December 2008, 18:27   #35

Originally Posted by VIPER_SRT View Post
Dont you agree that Rolls Royce is a ugly looking sedan but its image overpowers its look!
But with Rolls Royce you get an air of exclusivity which is not the case with Merc. With the competition (Audi and Jag) getting better in terms of designing new cars,I feel Merc will struggle a bit.
Old 10th February 2009, 08:41   #36

New E-Guard

Mercedes-Benz has added the E-Guard high-protection package to the new W212 E-Class lineup. Not easily differentiated from the normal sedan, most of the work is under the skin. A protective cocoon made of special steel and all-around polycarbonate glazing forms the basis of the E-Guard's protection systems.

The E-Guard can withstand attacks by a .44 Magnum firearm. Even the underbelly can resist the blast of a DM51 hand-grenade. An optional intercom system will enable occupants to communicate with the outside world without opening any part of the car.

To compensate for the extra weight brought on by the protective layers of the car, the AIRMATIC suspension and the brakes have been duly adapted while the E-Guard runs on 17-inch runflat tires.
Three engine variants are available with the E-Guard badge in both Elegance and Avantgarde trim; the E350 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY, the E500 and the E350.

The E-Guard package can be ordered in Germany from April at a price of €45,000 excluding VAT.

Source: Media.Daimler AG
Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-2010mercedesbenzeclassguard.jpg  

Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-2010mercedesbenzeclassguard_1.jpg  

Old 10th February 2009, 23:00   #37

Note from the Support : Please do not type with excessive dots........like............this.........

Mercedes taking their design language back to the 80s...look at the rear...and look at the current C class....retrofuturerism or futureretroism!!!...an edgy design..but a bit staid.This is how it was meant to be i guess!

Last edited by GTO : 11th February 2009 at 13:23. Reason: See post
Old 5th August 2009, 09:25   #38

2010 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Wagon official photos released

Following yesterday's catch of the 2010 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Wagon almost completely undisguised, the automaker has released official photos of the car. We don't know if WCF readers Alsuwaidi, in the Middle East, and xLumino, in Switzerland, are to thank for forcing MB's hands, or if Mercedes had always planned to drop the photos today.

What we did not have yesterday was a nice, clear picture of the rear taillights. Now, we can see LEDs incorporated in the design, which starts on the side panel and wraps around into the hatch. On one vehicle, we can clearly see oval-shaped dual tailpipes neatly tucked in at the back. But the beige car appears to hide the exhaust a little bit more than the other model.

The tailgate and cargo cover are expected to open and close mechanically, not manually, on all E-Class wagons. Overall, the estate is expected to be only a half-centimeter longer than the current model. Thus, cargo capacity should remain at 1950 liters (68.8 cubic feet). Inside, we see a somewhat staid layout on the dashboard, that is only cluttered by the tri-tone color scheme of beige, black, and brushed metal.

Rumor has it that five engines will be available on the car, including both 292 hp and top-shelf 388 horsepower petrol engines. Pricing in Germany could be around 55,200 euros for the low-end and 70,200 euros for the high end models. Diesel offerings should range between 170 and 231 hp, with retail price starting at 44,800 euros, on up to 54,200 euros.

The car will come with automatic air suspension, active head restraints, seatbelt pretensioners, and nine airbags. Eventually, the 4matic AWD system will appear, as will other engines.

Source: autobild.de
Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-460.jpg  

Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-517580.jpg  

Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-8189894.jpg  

Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-628274.jpg  

Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-1105417.jpg  

Official Pictures of Mercedes E-class (W212-series)-9280389.jpg  

Old 5th August 2009, 11:09   #39

Immensley practical but...yawn.
Old 5th August 2009, 11:25   #40

Quite analogous to desi Tata Estate, but very powerful and sturdy and ofcourse with a three pointed star
Old 5th August 2009, 15:27   #41

Dont like the new E class one bit.
Old 5th August 2009, 17:38   #42

I get to see the latest E , here in Europe on a daily basis.

Disappointment big time. Sorry, but Merc has lost it completely. Looks Korean(and they on the other hand are moving forward to a European styling), with no character of any of the past models
Old 6th August 2009, 19:57   #43

Mercedes Benz E-class Wagon (S212) Footage: