Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 15th July 2004, 14:36   #1

I was just browsing through the MB website and I like to keep track of the pricing..so today I saw SL65 AMG is on sale here, so I thought lets see how much it is..180k base and by the time a little personalization is added to it, you are looking at 188, are they kidding me...50k more than the 55..for 1/2 a sec quicker timing..its insane..I would get a 360 in that price man...hell I would get a lot of cars in that price...I thought it should have been priced more like 20k more..50k is an E320 added to it and frankly no matter what AMG engineers tell me, they couldnt have put that much into the engine alone to make this car 50k more..and I am talking comparable accessories..otherwise there is a diff of 60k, insane insnt it..I think [img]http://www.team-bhp.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/***.gif[/img] and thumbs down from myside..

no matter what..its stupid pricing...

L8r

Agreed it looks good, but man...they r asking for way too much..imagine currently the 55 comes to 1.3cr odd in india and this would be atleast 1 cr more..what are they thinking??

Old 15th July 2004, 14:47   #2
v12

If u look at the power increase ............ it shoots up from 306 bhp to 492 bhp. i'm talkin abt the 55 AMG.
Old 15th July 2004, 14:56   #3

u mean 55 over 500??

also no doubt, but overall, I really dont think this car can demand the price it does...also the CLS pricing is put on the web for germany(suprisingly they dont have SL65 yet) and it is pretty decent..CLS55 is 82k meaning you can have that in india for about 90 odd and the CLS350 for about 46-47Lakhs..which again is better..since I really dont like the new E(too too small, can compare it to my lancer in leg space ) anyhow..the whole point is..by the time they come out with CL65 it would be 200k and thats ridicolous..who would buy it..I am sure there would be some baf**ns..but then again..its crazy..I am a big fan of MBs no doubt..but still within limits is good..

L8r

Old 16th July 2004, 03:48   #4

I think that it even isnt worth spending a crore on the sl500 when u can get a M3( brand new) for abt 60 laks....

Mercs in India make a fool of us ...
till a year back , it was selling the C180 with that 125 hp engine at 26-27 laks..which even an ikon or esteem mpfi was able to take on at signals
where as we had the mondeo and accord and camry and also that sonata( this one was just to add more to the list).....which had more more power than the C180 Manual
Also , the handling of the mondeo is comparable to the MErc..why would any1 spend some 10-12 odd laks more on it??
is it only for those 6 airbags and the 3 pointed star.

Add t it that expensive services
I recollect some 1 stating 32 grands for a 2nd service.
whereas , even a 800 gets 3 free services
I think the ppl in India buy Mercs mainly for a status , who dont know the ABCd of it.. no offense

Its only after they faced compitition , they came out with some good engines like the E270 CDI

Still the change of the S320 to S350 dosent make any sense to me.
what did they achieve by adding 5 odd horses??

Imagine a santro having clear lamps, and the C class still to get one...
Wake up MB India
Old 16th July 2004, 12:15   #5

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]

Mercs in India make a fool of us ...
till a year back , it was selling the C180 with that 125 hp engine at 26-27 laks..which even an ikon or esteem mpfi was able to take on at signals
where as we had the mondeo and accord and camry and also that sonata( this one was just to add more to the list).....which had more more power than the C180 Manual
Also , the handling of the mondeo is comparable to the MErc..why would any1 spend some 10-12 odd laks more on it??
is it only for those 6 airbags and the 3 pointed star.
Based on this theory, it is surprising that any D segmenters sold at all. Every customer should have just got a Honda City Vtec which could whup almost every D segmenter.

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]till a year back , it was selling the C180 with that 125 hp engine at 26-27 laks..
Again, its important to get the facts right. The C180 sold for much less than that - 21.07 lacs to be precise. Thats almost a 30% difference.

If in doubt why people chose the three pointed star - try this
C Class long term review. Damn I forgot to mention the "status" benefits in there.

Old 16th July 2004, 16:49   #6

Sorry abt the price mistake for the C Class..Gto
But tell me honestly , is is really worth to buy a new top end C class for 30 laks on road mumbai..

yr comments on it please..
Old 16th July 2004, 16:58   #7

Mercedes Ex-Mumbai

C-Class C-200 k A/T Transmission Rs. 26,78,392.00

C-Class C-200 k Manual Transmission Rs. 25,32,045.00

C-Class C-220 CDI A/T Transmission Rs. 29,13,042.00

C-Class C-220 CDI Manual Transmission Rs. 27,66,696.00

E-Class E 220 CDI Rs. 39,61,175.00

E-Class E 240 Rs. 40,66,518.00

S-Class S 350 L Rs. 63,02,782.00

Add to it abt 1.5 to 2 laks for the C only for the registration and insurance
Old 16th July 2004, 18:26   #8

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]
But tell me honestly , is is really worth to buy a new top end C class for 30 laks on road mumbai..
In one word - NO. Mine was 21.07 with insurance and registration...keys in my hand. Anything over 22ish is just too much for a C.

BTW did you know that the E Class was priced at less than 24 lacs in 1997? The price on-road today is 44.xx!!!

Old 16th July 2004, 20:09   #9

As u said GTO its imp to get the facts right... None of the E-class model r 44 lakhs! I know of this since i am in the process of booking my E 270 Cdi which is still cheaper than the E 240 which being the top of the line cost no whr above 41 lakhs on road everything included this amount does not include the dealer discounts which r now given in large amounts on mercs over the table
Peace.
Old 16th July 2004, 21:55   #10

Complete roshni::::

C 200 Kompressor
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 2,357,961

dont know the difference between manual and auto

C 220 CDI
Base price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 2,584,195

E 270 CDI
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,467,298

E 240
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,531,442

E 200 K
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,227,443

SLK 230 Kompressor
197 hp It does 0- 100 in 7.2 sec
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,730,080

S 320 CDI
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 6,151,659

S 500 L ---- 305-310 horses approx
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 8,153,949

SL 500
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 9,583,084

ML 270 CDI
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 4,095,874

ML 350
234 hp V6
Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 4,407,993

Add 12--14 % to the above prices for getting the on-road mumbai prices
Prices sourced from a mumbai based dealer--Auto Hanger

[i]
Old 17th July 2004, 01:29   #11

I agree with you sahil, my friend bought the E240 without discount for 38.xx on road,with keys in his hand..including ins i believe..so 44 is something hard for me to imagine that bombay-ites are paying for their E..

Old 17th July 2004, 16:47   #12

Pricelist sourced from AutoHangar Mumbai

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]As u said GTO its imp to get the facts right...
I could not have put it any better Sahil. It is most important to get the facts right. Now I do know that Team-BHPians are more knowledgeable about cars than the average Indian, BUT I EXPECT SOME MORE FROM A TEAM-BHPIAN WHO IS ABOUT TO BUY AN E-CLASS!!

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ] None of the E-class model r 44 lakhs! I know of this since i am in the process of booking my E 270 Cdi which is still cheaper than the E 240 which being the top of the line cost no whr above 41 lakhs on road everything included this amount does not include the dealer discounts which r now given in large amounts on mercs over the table
Now the Mercedes pricelist seems to disagree with you on that count, doesnt it? Not only is the Mercedes E240 a WHOPPING 44 lacs on the road ex-mumbai (As I had earlier quoted), even the octroi saving and cheaper Thana registration is more than what you claimed as the "supposed price on an E Class".

A piece of advice...look at the pricelist carefully for the small print, and dont believe all that the salesperson may tell you *

Old 17th July 2004, 16:50   #13

And yes, here is the Sanghi Motor Cars link that also gives you information on the E Class pricing

Old 17th July 2004, 17:39   #14

Hey GTO ===Greatwork
can u also get the ON road prices for the

SLK 230
S320 CDI
SL500
S500

I could get only the base price for Pune, which is already posted

Also can we have similar price list for the BMW from Navnit Motors Bombay
Dying to know the exavt BMW prices....everyone gives vague answers.
Old 17th July 2004, 22:52   #15

Man I dont know about bombay-ites but I can tell you for a fact that the friend I have GTO is a big pheko, once when we were a little younger and I didnt know what his car was worth he told me that his LS400 was worth 60 lakhs..he is one of the guys who exaggerates the price...when he bought it, it was worth 27 lakhs, anyhow why I tell u this is..cuz he told me that he bought the car for 38 or 40 on road in delhi..now considering he is a pheko..I believe it was max 40..and then again all these are prices without discount..so there you go...also here is a price list from merc india site..why is it diff..this is the ex-showroom price..

E 200 K
-

E 200 K - Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,227,443

E 240
For a more dynamic driving experience, the E 240 features a new six-cylinder engine with a 2.6 litre displacement. It delivers a silky-smooth output of 165 bhp.

Elegance - Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,531,442

E 270 CDI
The very popular four cylinder CDI (common rail injection) engine is equipped with the new VNT (variable nozzle turbine). This engine has a displacement of 2685 cc and develops 127 kW The torque is a phenomenal 425 Nm.

Elegance - Base Price (Ex-showroom Pune): Rs 3,467,298

and after digging a little...

the price comes to 38 with automatic and leather and paint etc..(what al oad of crap man..these guys are looting the guys in india is all I can say..)

anyhow I am just telling u what my friend paid..so I guess you bombay-ites should come to delhi and buy your mercs