Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 24th June 2008, 23:04   #16

I saw it all over Long Beach in California, like how you see teens with roller baldes and skateboards. Infact I think they were renting this out.
Old 24th June 2008, 23:09   #17

Ya nice vehicle uses gyroscopes to balance itself. So you lean forwards to accelerate and as soon as you stop leaning it stops. Not only that it has a tzero turning radius. This thing has a top speed of about 25 Kmph and is best driven on footpaths and hence this would be the last thing I would expect on our roads since footapths rarely exist here.

Last I read somebody even designed a one wheeled motorbike which used a gyroscope system similar to the segway.

Last edited by revvedup : 24th June 2008 at 23:13.
Old 25th June 2008, 01:10   #18

yes, have seen it in airports where noise less and exhaustless vehicles need to be used.

president of USA is one of the select few who have ever fallen off a segway.

Bush Falls Off Segway Scooter - Funny Bush Photo
Old 25th June 2008, 14:11   #19

There are restrictions on use of Segways in pavements and pedestrian areas in many states in the US.

It was supposed to be the next level of transportation but unfortunately it never took off.
Old 25th June 2008, 14:22   #20

Its supposed to have taken a phenomenal amount of money to develop. The concept is very interesting, but cost has to be realistic for this to be commercially successful.

I saw a programme on this on Discovery Channel. Pretty amazing.
Old 25th June 2008, 14:45   #21

There was a news in Mumbai Mirror yesterday that Neil Nitin Mukesh has got a Segway through a dealer in Delhi. It said that he plans to use it for transportation between his vanity van and set. I think the cost mentioned was INR 10 lacs
Old 25th June 2008, 15:49   #22

Segway is around for quite sometime, but the cost prevented practical publicity wherever they tried to market. Although there are different versions (on-road/ off-road) available, it may not get a commentable customer-base unless cost is compromised, which is out of question as of now.

Dubai has a very high potential with its vast, plain, well-maintained areas throughout. My collegue was part of the first segway showroom opening somewhere in April 2006. There must be over 5 of them right now, which means they get good sales !!
Old 25th June 2008, 16:01   #23

Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
I think the cost mentioned was INR 10 lacs
Are you kidding me!! It costs between $5-6k, there's no way it's going to be more than 50k here!!
Old 25th June 2008, 16:05   #24

$5000= INR 200000 roughly. So, 50k is too low.
Old 25th June 2008, 17:22   #25

Originally Posted by prabuddhadg View Post
Oh crap Its should've been less than 5L!
Old 25th June 2008, 17:35   #26

Segways are becoming quite a hit in some European countries as a good way for sightseeing tours
Old 25th June 2008, 17:46   #27

Originally Posted by prabuddhadg View Post
Considering the 2 lakh utility part, its worse than a 40k honda activa in India. First of all you have to stand on it like a soldier wherever you go, secondly limitation of distance in one-charge with the poor indian roads.
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Oh crap Its should've been less than 5L!
Better to buy Tata Nano which seats 5 brains with body chilled (AC) just for 1 lakh !! Somany better ways to spend that kind of money in India. When its connected to a campus usage like infosys/ wipro etc. there is no alternative to it !

Last edited by shajufx : 25th June 2008 at 17:54.
Old 25th June 2008, 17:54   #28

It was spotted in Kamal hassan recent movie 'Dasavatharam'.A cool piece of toy but the price is a huge detterant.
Old 25th June 2008, 18:07   #29

Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
There was a news in Mumbai Mirror yesterday that Neil Nitin Mukesh has got a Segway through a dealer in Delhi. It said that he plans to use it for transportation between his vanity van and set. I think the cost mentioned was INR 10 lacs

Who are these guys Neil, Nitin and Mukesh. Must be a trio of idiots, who else would spend 10 Lakhs for commuting betwwen their vanity van and set instead of walking and excercising their limbs ?

Man, now I believe the video IQ's are really decreasing nowdays. On that note how about casting this trio in this video instead ?

Last edited by revvedup : 25th June 2008 at 18:09.
Old 25th June 2008, 18:18   #30

To grab eye*****, people go to great lengths. Come to think of it, if I had enough money lying around gathering moss, I would not really mind getting one of these. It is a very interesting toy. In fact I enjoy those two wheeled push and go toy scooters a lot.