Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 12th October 2005, 14:55   #1

The BEST car in the world...for sale

GTO Sale Link

1985 FERRARI 288 GTO, One registered owner (Ralph Lauren). Great History, #1 condition. Completely serviced & recently concours detailed to achieve "Gold" status in the Ferrari French Quarter Classic, 2004. A chance to own the "World's first Supercar", one of only 272 produced.

If God called me up and asked me for one car that I could have gifted, it would be the 288 GTO. This is the only car that I love more than all the other supercars of the world. Put Together.

And that fascination only grew after seeing an original being fired up in Boston.

Old 12th October 2005, 15:00   #2

Mileage kya hai ?

Jokes apart...one helluva car!
Old 12th October 2005, 15:04   #3

Who wouldnt want that car ?

Only problem is I dont ever get a call from God . Even a wrong number for a 355 would do the one Ferrari I lust for
Old 12th October 2005, 17:09   #4

Seriously love the F40 and the 288 GTO and I think I am more biased towards the 288. Don't like the F50 as much as these.
Old 12th October 2005, 17:16   #5

Its true. Older men own Ferrari's.

Unless, of course, your old man gave it to you.

Last edited by Gordon : 12th October 2005 at 17:24.
Old 12th October 2005, 18:47   #6

Originally Posted by Gordon
Seriously love the F40 and the 288 GTO and I think I am more biased towards the 288. Don't like the F50 as much as these.
All three should be seen at the same level, in my opinion, also including the Enzo.

My favourite as far as looks go has to be the F50. So full of life that I am sure red blood runs in hundreds of veins underneath that sensuos carbonfibre body.
Old 12th October 2005, 18:52   #7

Originally Posted by Gordon
No Testarossa fans here?
Old 12th October 2005, 19:01   #8

Testarossa I will gladly have on a poster on my bedroom wall, but from what I hear, it is simply far too big and scary, so dosent have as much fans.
Unlike the F50, I havent heard many defending voices in its support. Good on you Steeroid.
Besides, Testarossa can be brought in when the convo has 550, 575, Daytona etc in it. Now is time for the super-Ferraris ( what a corny term)
Old 12th October 2005, 21:46   #9

No Testarossa fans here?
Me me me me me me
Old 12th October 2005, 23:29   #10

I am not a big fan of anything old...some I can appreciate for what they were in their times, but i wouldnt jump to buy an old classic even though it is deemed "COOL" to have something like this and older if you have the money. but for me modern day ferraris like the 355, 360, 430, Enzo, do it...so if i had the money this wouldnt be in my garage..

but surely its a cool car..

and btw gordon, 80% of the time ferrari owners are old, but not always does a younger owner mean "dad owned"
Old 13th October 2005, 00:07   #11

Originally Posted by 1Day

and btw gordon, 80% of the time ferrari owners are old, but not always does a younger owner mean "dad owned"
Old owner= Mid life crisis
Not dad owned = Investment banker at a top wall street firm
Or you could be just another arab kid in boston who has inhertited a **** load and doesnt know whr to spend it.
Old 13th October 2005, 01:24   #12

Originally Posted by Sahil
Old owner= Mid life crisis
Not dad owned = Investment banker at a top wall street firm
Or you could be just another arab kid in boston who has inhertited a **** load and doesnt know whr to spend it.
Or you could be like my arab neighbour whose Modena used to disappear from the parking lot every weekend (Wed Evening to Friday Evening)....until the car stopped going out altogether for nearly a month. Wondered what was up until I saw him come into the garage in an Audi A8...with a burqa-clad passenger.

Needless to say, Ferrari was sold pretty soon.

MORAL OF THE STORY: If you want Black Burqa, get a Red Ferrari

and conversely

If you want to keep Red Ferrari, stay away from Black Burqa

Last edited by Steeroid : 13th October 2005 at 01:32.
Old 13th October 2005, 02:54   #13

Originally Posted by Steeroid
Mileage kya hai ?

Jokes apart...one helluva car!

Rotf........LMAO
Old 13th October 2005, 04:57   #14

Originally Posted by Steeroid

MORAL OF THE STORY: If you want Black Burqa, get a Red Ferrari

and conversely

If you want to keep Red Ferrari, stay away from Black Burqa
...makes a lot of sense ...
Old 13th October 2005, 11:01   #15

ralph lauren just added a Mclaren F1 LM to his already existing 2 F1 road cars.

selling this won't be a big deal.