Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Int'l Motorsport
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 4th November 2009, 18:34   #1
Senior - BHPian

Is GP2 worthy of being the unofficial F1 feeder series?

I was pretty surprised when I heard that Kobayashi was actually lousy at GP2. In fact, he'd have never made it to F1 if it weren't for Glock's injury. We know now that he's pretty damn good (he even made the WDC look like a total noob). At the same time, we've seen drivers like Piquet Jr. who are fantastic at GP2 but total crap in an F1 car. The only guy who I can think of who did successfully in both (I mean in terms of winning championships) is Lewis Hamilton. So is GP2 really as good a stepping stone to F1 as its thought to be?

P.S. Nico Hulkenberg, driver for Williams next year, is a GP2 champ!
Old 4th November 2009, 18:53   #2
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
We know now that he's pretty damn good (he even made the WDC look like a total noob)
Well that's not completely fair. Button had just come out of the pit stop when the overtaking incident between him and kobiyashi happened. Button was heavy and Kobiyashi was super light when that overtaking took place. Even button explained that during the post race press conference.

If you also consider the brazilian incident with his williams compatriate nakajima, i see another Takuma Sato in the making. Mind you, Sato was also a brilliant racer, but he had a better reputation for causing crashes and funny incidents during a race.

Let's hope i'm wrong, and someone picks him up for a race seat next season as toyota is no longer in F1, and as said by kobiyashi himself, he has no budget to race anywhere next year unless toyota or any other team picks him up as a driver. Else, he'll have to go back to japan and make "sushi" in his father's restaurant.
Old 4th November 2009, 19:09   #3
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by racingmachine View Post