Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 6th July 2011, 16:56   #1

Introduction from USA

Hello

I am a 53-year-old airline pilot based in the USA. I heard about Team-BHP as a result of an internet search for information about the automobile collection of HEH Nizam VII. I found the excellent thread created by user "DKG" with all the wonderful pictures of the Nizam's vehicles being rescued from storage for preservation and I wondered if there is more information or records of this collection of cars, trucks, and motorcyles.

A November 31, 1931 TIME Magazine article stated the Nizam had over 400 automobiles in his collection. I am curious if there exists any form of inventory of, or records from, this collection as it existed then and (if I am that lucky, what happened to all the vehicles).

I am a member of the Antique Motorcycle Club (The Antique Motorcycle Club of America - Home) and am currently most interested in this hobby, but I also have extensive background with internet services development and design.

Mark Hunnibell
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Old 6th July 2011, 19:02   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Introduction from USA

hi Mark,

Welcome ! Good to see around our part of the woods. Yes, @DKG is some one we look to for such information. Will give him a shout about your post here.

What do you ? Would love to hear about your hobby.

Hope you enjoy your journey here with us.
Old 7th July 2011, 12:08   #3
Senior - BHPian

Hi Mark,

Welcome!!
I gather that you got interested in the Nizam's collection because of his bikes? Anyhow, please share what you know, the thread is slowly moving on after your post.
As it looks like, you are into bikes and in India we have quite a number too. There are Indians and Harleys, our army did use them extensively. Today they are highly prized with collectors. But in India we had mostly British bikes, then some Germans, and fewer Italian.
So you may explore the forum and contribute to bikes too.