Team-BHP - Greetings, nice to finally be onboard
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Introduce yourself (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Greetings, nice to finally be onboard (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/introduce-yourself/190602-greetings-nice-finally-onboard.html)

Greetings Everyone.

Ithaca is an island in the Ionian Sea of Greece.

Ithaca is also a city in New York State and the reason I chose this handle is that while watching the TV Series "Friends", a character mentions Ithaca but pronounces it the NY way - Ithica.

My brother mentioned to me at that time that this is the proper pronunciation and not Ithaka as we would assume it would be. And this has stuck with me forever and seems to be my favorite user name in most places.

I am a mechanical engineer by education and currently on a break after working "hard" for past 21 years. Now I spend my time taking classes in technical institutes near my home and at times assisting my company in technical matters. I worked as a marine engineer and since it started getting a bit hectic, stressful and affecting my physical and mental health, i decided to take a self imposed exile for a while.

My hobbies include reading, music and movies. I love interesting thrillers and have a list of favorite authors whose books I buy irrespective of how their reviews are. Has become a habit now. The usual suspects - Clive Cussler, Dick Francis, Patricia Cornwell, Tom Clancy, Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, David Baldacci, Lee Child and now plan to start on Michael Connelly.

Currently restarted the Game Of Thrones book series and appreciating them even more; now that I can associate how the book characters would look by the TV characters who portray them.