Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 8th May 2022, 13:46   #1

Introducing myself

Dear BHPians,

I have been visiting the Team-BHP platform for many years now, mainly for its authentic reviews, as well as for the views of BHPians, which are based on first-hand experience and therefore very reliable. Last week, I finally decided to apply for membership. Grateful to Team-BHP for the approval.

I am from Delhi, in my mid-50s, took voluntary retirement last year, basically to do all those things in my 50’s which I would have otherwise done in my 60’s and 70’s. Going on long self-drive road trips and playing Golf are high on the list.

I have been a driving enthusiast since my teens, learnt driving at 13-14 years of age, way back in early 80’s. A good 40 years’ experience already behind me. Started with my father’s Premier Padmini (Fiat), which I loved. Fondly remember halting the Fiat during long journeys in summers to top up the water in the radiator, which used to be boiling hot. Also, remember the ‘totka’ of seasoned mechanics to add turmeric (haldi) to water for stopping leakage in a radiator. It was a lucky car, saved me a number of times. I maintained it till 2003 and had to finally let go due a badly rusted floor.

Have owned and extensively driven much of the Maruti stable at different points in time, namely the Maruti 800, Maruti Van, the Gypsy, the Alto VXi, the Esteem and till recently, the DZire ZDi (I loved her, but had to let go due to the 10 year rule in Delhi). Currently, we have a Honda City 2017 and a Honda Brio 2017 in the family.