Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 28th June 2007, 16:55   #1
BHPian

Gypsy driving a Gypsy

Hello everyone,

This is Arun from Noida. Am right in the middle side of 30s. Embedded software is what I do for a living - atleast that is what I claim at home.

Have been a regular visitor to team-bhp the last two months. Having seen lots of other groups, I really appreciate the moderators here who ensure "everything" remains within limits.

As with so many others, googling is what lead me to team-bhp. However, it was not googling for cars - it was googling for treks and travelogues. There is an amazing amount of information in that section. Which leads to my interests which are trekking and travel besides gadgets. Have travelled extensively in North India - Himachal, Uttaranchal and Rajasthan. Most of the trekking has been in Uttaranchal. Travelling to the CharDhams in hired taxis and buses did help in making me religious - atleast for the duration of that trip !!

Well as the title says, I drive a Gypsy King 2000 - the first lot of MPFI Kings. Three years into owning it (and incidentally, three years into marriage), was at cross roads - either to move over to a sedan or add creature comforts in the King. Took the road less travelled - got A/C fitted in, got radials, got some suspensions tweaks done, threw out the bench at the back and put bucket seats, changed the front seats for better support etc - to make it family friendly. For me, I got a K&N fitted. Now they (wife and one daughter) have got used to the nice bumpy Gypsy ride. Over 80kmph, the engine acts as the ICE as well. Recently, got a 2nd hand Matiz as well - for wifey and also in case our backs are having a bad day.