Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2008, 22:11   #1

Feels good to be among passionate car lovers

I am an Advertising Professional and belong to a Car Crazy family.
The love for Cars began in 1940 when my Grandfather bought a Ford and crashed into a storm drain somewhere on the Sylhet-Shillong section on his first drive. He survived and created a Car loving son (my Dad).
Way back in 1971, when I was just 4 yrs old my father bought a brand new white Fiat 1100 D on his meagre IPS officers salary. In 1980 he decided to live upto his dream and the entire family - my father, mom, my sister (who was just 3yrs old) and me decided to go on a long drive. We started from Agartala, Tripura in the Fiat (TRA 969) and drove up Cachar, Meghalay, Assam, down West Bengal, Orissa, Andhara, Tamil Nadu hugging the East Coast all along and down to Kanyakumari. We then turned into Kerala, touched Trivendrum, Kochi, Palghat re-entered TN again at Coimbatore, touched Salem and from there to Bangalore. From Bangalore it was a days drive to Hyderabad and then onwards to Rajamundry and back through Orissa, WB, Assam and reached Agartala again. That was 12000 kms in 50 days.
This set the pace and we have loved cars since. My father drives an Opel Corsa today and lives in RT Nagar. At 75 he is still an amazing driver.
My Fiance drives an Opel Corsa too and she could put most mens driving skills to shame.
She pushed me to fulfill my biggest dream a few yrs back and I bought a Ford Mondeo Ghia (among the last that Ford sold in India). Love the brute.
We still drive around as a family and love doing that..our little Spitz has also learnt to keep pace with this Crazy Family on Wheels..
Hope you guys liked the intro..cheers
Old 19th November 2008, 10:08   #2
BHPian

Hello There!! Welcome aboard.