Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2009, 13:11   #1
Senior - BHPian

Hi from Kolkata

Hi everyone,

I'm Aniket Sengupta, 27 years of age, corporate banker by profession and recently married. Avid interest in automobiles, music and reading (in that order).

The passion for anything on 4 wheels has been there since birth. An unshakeable reading habit (and a supportive dad) meant that by the time I was in secondary school, I was well-conversant on most legendary automobile marques in the world - their history, their landmark models and their positioning. My favourite marque of all is Mercedes-Benz, and my favourite car (all time) is the 1954 Mercedes Benz 300SL (the famous Gullwing coupe). Other favourite production cars include the Plymouth Road Runner Superbird, Jaguar E-Type, Jaguar XJ220, Nissan GT-R and the 1962 Ferrari 250 GTO (Road going version).

Of racing cars, I've always favoured Le-Mans and GT Racing over F1, probably because these are closer to road going models. Favourites include the Porsche 935/78 "Moby Dick", Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR and the Audi R10.

I am a reasonably fast driver, although I rarely cross safety limits. Leart driving in a 1972 Amby at the age of 15, and I believe anyone who's mastered driving in that car has a special ability to drive any other car in future very well! If for nothing else, the sheer effort required makes you a master driver forever!

Thankfully moved on to better machinery in the future. The family owned a M800 and an Indica (still there in the family). My own car is a Hyundai Verna CRDI SX ABS (black) which I bought in Sep 08. Quite a monster. I test drove 9 cars in the C & D segments before deciding on the Verna.