Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 3rd April 2009, 23:56   #1
BHPian

long time lurker introduces himself

Hi all,

First of all I must apologise (even if it may not matter to most, but i still feel guilty, so i must). I have reading this forum from early 2006 ..quite regularly, almost daily, for hours. And have never introduced myself. guilty of lack of basic curtesy.

I even registered once then. But before I could post, I forgot my password, forgot the email account to which it was linked..and did not have the heart to register in any other name. Then I was in college in bangalore. Had a bike (yam rxg), could not afford a car so did not think much about them, read xbhp and team bhp and was content.

In 2007 I graduated and moved to Bombay. Came into some money, and the desire to get a car fructified itself. I was still continuing to read the forum pretty close to daily; i guess the street experiences and travel section, the kind of passion and the enthusiasm that people show towards their vehicles, and the generally interesting writing from people in a time and background that one can understand, if not relate to..guess that kept me hooked.

Work was getting more and more boring; I slowly convinced myself I need material comforts (car) to keep me working for some more time. Team bhp did not help either; my mind went from swift diesel to second hand alto. Finally one sunday got sick of running from showroom to showroom, collecting brochures of cars and learning interest rates..I took an auto to Maruti True Value, chose a zen (a model i was sure was a peppy city ride), took a test drive, took out my credit card and bought the thing right there. Car was in good condition, so that helped make up my mind. Of course, it took me the next 4 months to pay the credit card bill (5 times my monthly salary!), but then when you need that car,u need that car right then.