Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 12th October 2009, 01:33   #1

SSA Team-BHP...

...And Namaste, Salaam. What a relief to be finally able to call myself a member of this forum. Lord knows I've tried enough times but finally, here I am.

My Name is Choji Singh, I'm 32 Years old and I live in Phagwara, Punjab. I’m an Excise Contractor, Thekedar in the local lingo, Purveyor of fine and not so fine spirits and liquors in other words. I’m a commerce graduate with a smattering of computer/networking training. My family also owns a Banquet hall and you might call me a Gentleman farmer, heheh, euphemism for saying that, while I do own farmland, I have next to no working knowledge of farming, having leased out the farm and basically only collecting rent.

Phagwara is a small city on the NH1 Between the two major cities of Punjab, Ludhiana and Jalandhar. It's claim to fame used to be the JCT Mills, if you remember the ad campaigns of yore "It's Got To Be Jay Cee Tee...", but mostly it's known as an export and manufacturing hub for diesel engines, spares and parts. (Gensets, Pumpsets and Tractor Spares mostly).

In December of last year I was looking for a car to replace my 10 year old Esteem Vx (Feb. 99), I wanted a hatchback, being that the other car is the ‘04 NHC, and everyone had one piece of advice, ‘buy the Swift Vdi/Ldi’. Love the car, hated the 3-6 months waiting period/Rs. 35000/- black, I mean it’s good but not that good. Test drove almost everything else even nearly in the same price range (got a 5.5 lakh quote on the base model Diesel Logan) and as a result wound up royally confused. Still, narrowed the choice down to the Swift, Vista Quad and Palio Mjd.