Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 14th October 2009, 15:22   #1

After lurking for five years, a non-driver comes out of the closet!

I've been seeing Team BHP since the middle of 2005. I registered in 2006, but I soon forgot my password. Team BHP's rules for resetting are so strict--24 hrs, etc., that I finally got myself a new password yesterday. I've decided to do the proper thing and introduce myself, first.

Harsh Shrivastava, 36, owner of many cars over the years, and a driver of none! Yes, that's right. I don't drive at all--don't even have a license.

Backstory: I was born with cataract. Both eyes operated, but I still don't have 100 percent binocular vision, so can't judge distances accurately, so won't pass test, so I'm a backseat driver, and so, an even bigger car aficionado.

In Mumbai since January 2009. Grew up here and graduated from Sydenham college. Dad had a 1970 Padmini that he bought in 1979 and sold in 2000! He moved to an Indica 2000 petrol, and now has a Baleno LXI, which he bought after I told him to read TBHP.

Moved to Delhi in 1996 and back now. In that time, I became one of the few Mumbaikars who said that Delhi was better than Mumbai, and not just for its roads and cars!

Car story: All office cars are new; all personal cars are second-hand.

My wife's first car was a Maruti 1000. A 1993 model bought in 1999 for Rs. 165,000, and sold in 2005 for Rs. 48,000. Reason for this car: BS Motoring had then said that this was the cheapest car with a boot, and I wanted my wife-to-be to be safe. That car developed engine problems, AC was a joke, it was low to get in, but at that time, it was big, and had a bright red color. Average: 11 kpl.

In 2002, I got my first new car. A silver-blue Indica LSI petrol (just before the V2 came out). It was a great car. Driven (by the driver) into Rajasthan and Uttarakhand. At 75 bhp, it was fast, and comfy. Lousy average of 10 kpl, but the company paid.