Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 17th May 2010, 21:40   #1

Hi, from a non car guy

I've been lurking around the forums for quite a while, especially the amazing travelogues, so thought i might as well put myself on the record.

My name is Arun and i'm currently a post graduate student at the National Institute of Design. I go around the internet by the name PlaneMad (and heres why). I'm more of a travelaholic and a geography nerd, so am always interested in seeing new parts of the country and capturing it on camera. That alongwith my interest in tracking the infrastructure development of the country is what brings me to this forum btw. This might probably against some unwritten code in the forum, but i'll just be honest and say that i'm not a big fan of cars i'd anyday pick walking, cycling, using the train or bus over driving my own vehicle. I feel you get to absorb more of your surroundings that way.

And well, i'm also into working with geographic data and have been creating Indian maps like these for quite a few years.

Lately i've been involved in a collaborative project to create an open source map of the world using gps tracks. Hoping to get more inspiration from here on where to travel during my next
Old 17th May 2010, 22:30   #2
MX6
Senior - BHPian

You've made the indian rail map look like London Underground. Great! Hope the babus take a cue from this and improve the service to those standards as well!
Old 18th May 2010, 12:18   #3
BANNED

Infractions: 0/1 (5)

I have used the Mumbai Suburban Railway Map on wikpedia.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...n_rail_map.svg

I must admit that this map is one of the best maps I have seen. Welcome to team-bhp!
Old 18th May 2010, 12:42   #4
BHPian

voila .. Welcome to Team-BHP !!

I first looked at the map and thought, what happened to all the curves

and later i realized i was looking at railways map and not road map ! ha ha ha
Old 18th May 2010, 14:16   #5

Thanks guys.