Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 15th June 2010, 14:05   #1
BHPian

Keep your eyes on the road and hands upon the wheel

I have been a guest on T-BHP for the last couple of months. It started as a simple search on Google - best hatchback to buy in India. Then the search was modified to Best pre owned hatchback to buy. By then I had stumbled upon this site and was hooked.Over the course of the next few months, while grappling with changing gears, getting honked at signals ( Just learnt to drive, that too pretty late in life) , doing a complex tap dance on the clutch , brake and accelerator on the Peddar Road
slope in peak morning traffic, I diligently persued T-BHP, especially the what car section.

My fundas on buying a car were clear now. I was a new driver, someone who had lived outside the country for the last three years, consdered honking/ being honked at very rude and needed to learn to reorient my
concept of personal space. So it had to be a cheap car,not from a dealer, below 1 lakh, preferably a Maruti 800 or the old zen, not white/ no decals and I would keep it for at least a couple of years ( so basically needed to be well preserved car).
My orignal choice was a pre- owned Getz( budget had gone flying out of the window by now and I like the car), but it was discontinued at that time, and the CRDi was impossible to get hold of, I relcutantly let go of the idea. So it was back to hunting on carwaale/Gaddi etc. This along with settling down in in a new city was time consuming, so the second thing to go flying out of the window was the no dealer rule.
My wife did not want an Alto ( too cramped as per her) or a M800 ( too Old) or an Old Zen ( refer to objections to Alto and M800).
I thought of waiting to see the Figo/Polo/Beat but that was too long to wait and too much to spend as a new driver.