Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 26th December 2010, 12:45   #1

Hello from a fellow Petrolhead

Hello fellow Petrolheads!

First things first - my real name is pretty well hidden in my login name, and so I hope my privacy is taken care of here

Coming to my profile w.r.t. wheels, I've been burning gas on my own for just over 2 decades now, since I was in my mid-teens. Started with my sister's Luna TFR Plus, then graduated to my dad's Bajaj Super scooter and Premier Padmini car, before being gifted with a Kawasaki Bajaj RTZ for my driving skills. Kept the same till my first job when I bought my own Hero Honda CBZ, which I quickly sold and graduated to Daewoo Matiz SA in 2000. After that it was a succession of wheels following the classic middle-income Indian rat-race up the segments - Tata Indica DLX (2002), Tata Indigo LX (2004) and Tata Indigo DLX (2005). The last one I sold off in 2009 before I headed to Australia for a mid-career break to do a 1-year post-grad degree in Management.

Now I'm back in India with a new job in a new city ... but without any ride of my own! Bangalore's Vajra (Volvo bus) service is proving to be a god-send, so I'm currently in absolutely no hurry to shod myself new wheels.

Driving experience-wise, I've toured pretty much all over Karnataka and parts of Kerala. Outside India, I've driven quite a bit in Austria-Germany (top speed 200kmph on the German Autobahn in a VW Transporter van with 7 screaming colleagues on board ; max duration is 14 hours doing Munich-Nuremberg-Vienna overnight at almost 160 kmph throughout with just a 1-hour break in the middle), and a little in Australia.

Current status is that I booked a Toyota Etios VX on Dec 3, and have been promised delivery in Mar-Apr '11.

Interests outside automobiles include pretty much anything related to technology, management, atheism and Bollywood.