Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 28th February 2011, 11:43   #1
BHPian

Hi :)

Hi all,

I'm new here though some of you will recognise from my handle at other forums as either a current or ex-member.

I hope to be of some help even as I learn. My posts sometimes ramble on endlessly - fair warning

I'm a 39-year old advertising professional currently based in Gurgaon. I am an active DIY hobbyist in audio and electronics, I can fiddle around with a guitar and produce some unmusical noises, and I like to cook sometimes. I spend quite a bit of time with gaming (racing games primarily) and play chess with real and PC opponents.

I am a driving enthusiast as well, unfortunately traffic in our country is not amenable to such an interest so I amuse myself by watching other people do it in cars with less horsepower than 'honkpower'. Currently I am without wheels and pay through my nose for a cab to take me to office and back.

I started learning to drive in a 1973 Premier President owned by my father, which still does duty in a small town in West Bengal. The circumstances under which I learnt driving would be considered illegal, then and now so I won't delve into that. We kept that car for 28 years, when we donated it to my cousin FOC as we didn't want to actually sell it.

The first car I bought then was a Daewoo Matiz (Daewoo pulled out of the country in two years after I bought it). It was quite a laggard, much less fun than the Fiat. It didn't give me any better fuel efficiency, though it was easier to drive and was reasonably spacious for its small size. We kept that one for seven years.

The next was an Opel Corsa Sail, which GM stopped selling two years after I got one. The Opel still runs fine and contrary to popular belief is not as difficult to maintain, and it still has the legs to do 160+ on highways - seven years on.