Old 15th May 2011, 22:39   #1

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D

Note from Mod : You have way too many spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other members / guests.

You are hereby instructed to proof-read your posts prior to hitting the "submit" button. Thanks

Ok, will not write too much on how i brought her and how did i find her.I bought her Second hand from a dealer from Sion at 2,35000 Rs Inclusive of all
(Including transfer), in the Month of Aug 2007, Odo was showing 21,061 Kms when brougnt and now exact on 7th May 2011 She has completed 1,00,000, She is just awesome, Enging is still running as good as new.The car was very well maintained by the owner, and it a April 2004 Model

Ok, What i like about this car, almost everyting.
1> She still looks good in todays modern cars.
2> Ride, it just Amazing ,Still amazes me every time i took her for log drve.My mother simply loves her back seat.
3> Quality of Plastic is still holding good, and i hardly maintains it, our roads are too dusty.
4> Even the boot space is 260 Lit , fells good may be it has more widht.
5> The Sterring response, the feel of in control while dring at any speed, High speed stability is amazing.
6> The body its too tough, even the bumpers, they took many small hits in their stride whith out need to be repaired.(One will surprise to see the
weight of the bonnet), the doors.
7> Seat has very good all round support.
8> Engine is smooth but vibrates a lot when its cold, but totally maintainace free.
9> Good milage from such a OLD engine (Varies from 10 to 22Km/Lt)
10> Excellant Toruqe hardly any gearshifts requirs, even gear box is very good nice and precise shifts, and harly any vibrations transfer to Gear lever.

Dislikes.
1> Turning Radius, its too big, really dont know the reason for this.
2> Does the small Hatch needs 1.9 Lit Engine..?
3> Fiat service center in Kalyan,nerulhas no info about how to service this car, Pune BU bhandari was best.
4> AC vents, worst i have seen in any car.
5> Small plastics keep coming like, under seats, Seat adjustment knob.
6> Few spare parts are too costly(Radiator Cap 240 RS, Sliencer packing 300RS)
7> Local gareges harldy accepts Fiat cars for service or for any other troubles.

OK few are the Stats of the Car

Engine 1910 CC
Torque 12.3
5 Gears +1 reverse
Top speed i did 170 Km/hr
Best avg i got 22 Km/Lt
Worst 9 km/Lt
Service Intervals 15000 k after switching ot Selenia.

Maintainance, OK i will put the figures roughly what i have chaged

Tyres Twice..
Earlier had the Bridgestone Basic one.
1> Micheline 185/80X13 Cost 3400 Per Tyre (Lasted about 43,000Kms) At 38,000 Kms
2> Micheline XM1+ Upgraded to 14 Inches with Fiat Adventure Alloy Wheels, tyres at 4100 Per Tyre.
3> Ally wheels Adventure alloy wheels it got from Kurla at 7500 Rs

The new XM1+ are amazing even after almost 20000 Kms no signs of wearing.

Mainantainace under the hood.
1> Replaced Stock filet with K&N Cost: 3700Rs
2> Replaced Clutch Plates at around (at 78450 Kms)
Cost of Clutch Plates kit 6192 Rs
Bearing 384 Rs
Labour 1250 Rs
3> Disel Filter Cost 2177 latest earlier it was 1600 (Changed twice) usually chaned after 25-30 k
4> Changed all Plugs two at a time cost for one plug was around 250 Rs and labour was same.
5> Ignition Swich changed at 85,000 Kms cost 1200 Rs Switch and 100 Rs labour.
6> Break Disck changed at 37000 Kms with Break pads (9500 Per Disk and 1100 For Pads) and labour i think 250 Rs.
7> Break pads replaced again at 60,000Km (1100 Rs pads 200 Labour)
8> Break pads changed again at 90,000 Kms, this time did at local garage TVS pads 650 Rs and labour 100 Rs.(OEM is also TVS)
9> Startor moter serviced at 81000 Km cost 2000 Rs (Some parts replaced.)
10> Battery Chaned in Augest 2009 with Amron 5,500 Rs.
11> AC Serving done at BU Bhandari cost me 3,300 Rs.
12> The AC service Done in local AC guy at 1600 Rs in OCt 2010.
13> Oil Earlier i used Mobile 15W40 Cost Appro 1100 For Can of 4 Lit (Car required 3.5) after 50,000 Kms Changed to Silenia (1897 for 3.5 Lit)
14> Changed all Belts,Tentioner, Pully, supporting bearings at 60,000Km That Service Cost me 12,000 Rs
Timing best was 1200 Rs, Alternator Belt is 850 Rs, but those Bearing are costly.
15> Servi cost at Tata Fiat is 1200 Rs.

Interiors
1> AC vents 400Rs Each Replace both the Side vents once.
2> Got Fiat Art leather Seat covers from Kurla at 1200 Rs.
3> Seat Adjustment Rotary knobs changed both 75 Rs ach.
4> Left side panel of Rear view mirror 170 Rs.
5> Window winder 75 Rs changed Driver side.

Accedental Damade of Damadge due to Bad roads.
1> Due to bad road, Under body Dasmadge
Changed Oil Sump and Silencer cost 10,000Rs INcluding Oil change and labour, Claimed Insurance and got 6,500Rs.
2> A tree fell on car (This is what my dad claims, i still doubt) Damage to Front Bumper,bonet, Right Shock absorber and right fender
And some damadge to Front door,both headlights also total cost 25,000 Done at Fortune powai, Awesome job done, 17,000 Got from Insurance.
3> Accident while coming from one of the BHP meet my friend was drivng, it was not his fault, we hit big stones kept by a truckwala, luckely escape unhurt, Damadge 15000Rs Radiator, Condencer, Front chassis, Also foundation got damage, and lower arms (Which already have stared showing their age)
4> The Rainwater drain pipe which runs from terrace,broke and fell on the tail lamp, changed at 850Rs.

Now the Car has done exactly 10,0650 Kms ,and Engine is Still strong no change in its beat, and guys am living in Dombivli(A suburb near Mumbai for those who don,t know), We have pathetic roads, if fact no roads at all, and am sure Fiats awesome suspention set up saved me from Back realted problems and saved a lot from Small accidents.
Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-dsc03802.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-dsc06311.jpg  

Last edited by GTO : 17th May 2011 at 13:21. Reason: Read Mod note in post
parimal_g is offline   (4) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 16th May 2011, 10:53   #2

Re: Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D

Forgot few things to add.

1> Wiper Blade changed three times. Cost 350 Rs for both Blades, and Make Bosch.
2> Coolant changed twice Drained one done the flusing also, dont rember the exact cost, but roughly 400 Rs for Flush and 3-400 Rs for coolant.
3> Need to repair the wiring of Headlights and turn indicators, due to rat bites.
4> Blown Fuses, 2-3 each 10 Rs.
5> Change Bulbs to Osram Blue Vision, Cost 800 Rs for All H1 and H7.
6> Regularly doing the Balancing and alignment.250 Rs for alingment, weight cost really dont remember.
7> Earlier XM1s were really puncture prone, minimum 15-16 Punctures.This set is awesome not a single one till date.
8> Master Cylender changed once, Cost 1100 and labour 500 Rs.
9> Rear Break liners changed once 650Rs and one Cylender 280 Rs.
10> One door Lock (650 Entire assembley), other two doors repaied twice 250 Each.
parimal_g is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2011, 11:53   #3

Thanks for the Update. Good to see you are still enjoying one of the best cars in the indian market. It has been repeated umpteen times but i cant resist thinking of what wonders such cars could do to the indian market if at all FIAT had managed things better.
gemithomas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2011, 20:00   #4

Thanks Gemi for the compliments, and its its really true, i still love this car like the day i brought her, never say no for any drive, many of my friends who dont drive Cars or for them its just a mode of transport, fails to understand the love for this beauty. But those who knows it like BHP members, PUG group, Fiat Fans , still loves this car a lot. The thud sound of the door, the Ride over bad roads, the Hight speed stability, the Steering response we talk so many times with out getting board.
And about the service Fiat is trying hard, but their partner is not helping them, in one line, Tata's are simply not professional enough to handle Fiat Fans .
Old 16th May 2011, 20:19   #5

Congratulations Parimal on completing 100,000 KM with your Fiat Palio successfully. And yes she still looks in good shape after all those KMs up its sleeve. Nice report and good to see your love for the car. Do add some more pictures of your car including interiors and engine compartment.
Old 16th May 2011, 22:01   #6

Thanks bluevolt, dont know the magic of this car, but love still increases day after day or am stupid.
But their has to be something in her, as its really pain to get this car serviced from Tata Fiat ***, as this car was discontinued before their JV.
Ok Few Snpas, dont have good Interior Snaps, will take few after Service.
Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-dsc04760.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-img_0444.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-img_0445.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-img_0453.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-img_3559.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-img_8927.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-picture-010.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-picture-012.jpg  

Life With Italian Beauty, 100,000 Completed,Fiat Palio 1.9 D-picture-016.jpg  

parimal_g is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2011, 23:12   #7

Thanks for making my day.
Its a indeed heart warming sight to see a well maintained Palio crossing this milestone.
I wish I had one. I still cannot imagine the thud of the doors of this car. I find thud quite heavy in a Punto and they say its even more in a Palio.
download2live is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2011, 07:50   #8

It gives vicarious pleasure to all fiat lovers especially me ,to watch another fiat cross the 1lac km .You have really taken great pains to keep your baby in proper order and for that you deserve thumbs up
Old 23rd May 2011, 12:02   #9

Lovely thread and very informative

The car looked stunning with the Adventure alloys You own a Punto as well?
Old 23rd May 2011, 20:09   #10

Congratulation for completing 100K nice review
Old 23rd May 2011, 22:13   #11

Originally Posted by download2live View Post
Thanks for making my day.
Its a indeed heart warming sight to see a well maintained Palio crossing this milestone.
I wish I had one. I still cannot imagine the thud of the doors of this car. I find thud quite heavy in a Punto and they say its even more in a Palio.
Thanks, and its really not difficult to maintain this car, hardly any maintenance required, except those two accidents, ow car is really trouble free. Do you own a Punto..?

Originally Posted by blueblooded View Post
It gives vicarious pleasure to all fiat lovers especially me ,to watch another fiat cross the 1lac km .You have really taken great pains to keep your baby in proper order and for that you deserve thumbs up
Am also following your Punto and good to know you are enjoying the car to Max, Punto is really awesome car, Its FIAT's problem they are not able to market it better, the car is selling on its own FIAT is not doing anything to boost the same.

Originally Posted by planet_rocker View Post
Lovely thread and very informative

The car looked stunning with the Adventure alloys You own a Punto as well?
Yes the Adventure Alloys are stunning and you get it at throw away price in Mumbai. No i don't own Punto, this one is of my friend's and he is there on forum.

Originally Posted by ravikn View Post
Congratulation for completing 100K nice review
Thanks Ravi.
Old 25th May 2011, 00:23   #12

Congratulations on completing over a lakh kms on the 1.9D.

I own one of these and its one of the best in the Indian market. Its difficult to find a diesel hatch that ticks all the boxes in comparison. Just wish that FIAT had managed the *** better.

Great to see your vehicle complete this amount of running without being haunted by the fuel pump rotor sensor issue.
Old 25th May 2011, 11:42   #13

Originally Posted by thenomad View Post
Congratulations on completing over a lakh kms on the 1.9D.

I own one of these and its one of the best in the Indian market. Its difficult to find a diesel hatch that ticks all the boxes in comparison. Just wish that FIAT had managed the *** better.

Great to see your vehicle complete this amount of running without being haunted by the fuel pump rotor sensor issue.
Good to see 1.9 D owner on forum, and its 1900 CC helps as it really pulls like an locomotive, awesome low end power this car has, and roar is amazing.

Am facing this Fuel Pump Rotor Sensor Problem , since more than 40k Kms, but its not giving me much trouble, other than some times i have to crank the engine twice.And new Tata Fiat dealers are not even aware of this problem so no point in escalating to them.
Old 21st July 2011, 01:09   #14

Hi BHPians,

After seeing this thread i decided to consider buying this car for my city drive.
I am owning an Innova & due to congested bangalore traffic i was forced to buy a used Matiz car.
But i drive a lot with in city too. So i was thinking of replacing Matiz with a diesel one and a used Punto was in my radar. At the same time high price was worrying me.

Whats your opinion on buying a used one like 2003 or 2004 one?
What should be maximum odo meter reading to consider?
Any special things that i should check while doing the inspection of the Palio D 1.9 ?

Please let me know your thoughts.
Denny
Old 24th July 2011, 12:55   #15

Originally Posted by Tornado View Post
Hi BHPians,

After seeing this thread i decided to consider buying this car for my city drive.
I am owning an Innova & due to congested bangalore traffic i was forced to buy a used Matiz car.
But i drive a lot with in city too. So i was thinking of replacing Matiz with a diesel one and a used Punto was in my radar. At the same time high price was worrying me.

Whats your opinion on buying a used one like 2003 or 2004 one?
What should be maximum odo meter reading to consider?
Any special things that i should check while doing the inspection of the Palio D 1.9 ?

Please let me know your thoughts.
Denny

Hi Denny,
If you are considering this car for strictly City driving my suggestion is strictly no, as the clutch is bit on heavier side, and also Fiat is increasing the Spare parts for Palio quite frequently, am lucky here because we can easily get the Palio Spares from local shops like Shetty Motors (Mumbai).
Also if you are considering this car check for the Fuel pump error, its an issues in Palio 1.9 D, you have to crank the engine twice ow get the Fuel Pump serviced from Bosch will cost you approx 15k, other than that absolutely no issue, but this is more a highway car than City car.

Let me know if you need any more info

Parimal