Old 26th September 2011, 11:22   #16

Congratulations ninja on the new car! How much did it cost you?
Old 26th September 2011, 12:04   #17

re: My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!

Congrats my friend on the great set of wheels in that awesome shade . With the new additions , the Vento is indeed a more complete package
Old 26th September 2011, 12:14   #18

A few pics from my end -

Have to applaud the gap between the tire and the body - the lady passed all the horrible potholes & speed breakers of mumbai - not once did she complain!
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0048.jpg

Another for-india feature - say a biker hits your ORVM, voila! It moves both sides!
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0051.jpg

Just flip it back and you are back to normal!
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0052.jpg

Uncanny gap between the boot & the rear glass - feels as if the boot is bent
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0063.jpg

A pic of the new ICE & the steering controls (kindly ignore the garbage in the car - it's a bachelor's car )
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0064.jpg

A pic of the USB slot installed in the glove box. Before you ask - no, castrol ain't sponsoring this pic - that's just another pen drive.
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0069.jpg

With the front seat set back to the maximum, still sufficient room for a 6 footer.
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0067.jpg

A picture of the lady at Marine drive
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0134.jpg
Old 26th September 2011, 12:26   #19

Finally!!!.. Its here. Congratulations
Wishing you safe miles on it!

1. Where are you planning the tints, floor mats, Leather covers etc.
2. How did you find the head lights in the expressway?
3. How is the sound quality with the new ICE ?
4. How is the diesel Clatter ? Mamba's clatter has gradually reduced a lot.
5. Whats her name and when can we have the photo shoot of the pune tbhp ventos ?
Old 26th September 2011, 12:31   #20

Few more pics -

Now even the diesel highline comes with an underbody covering
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0034.jpg

The engine bay looks cluttered - I remember GTO's comment about having a lot of empty gaps here
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0035.jpg

A small gap inside the headlight (notice the black area?) - haven't seen that in other car headlights
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0036.jpg

Hey look - there are actually 4 hooks in Vento - GTO only mentioned two. Sweet!

(1X2 Doors)
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0045.jpg

+ (1X2 Bpillars)
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0046.jpg

There are specific spots near both front & back tires where the jack should be used - no marking, but there's a small dent-like gap
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0049.jpg
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0050.jpg

A close(d) look at the boot light
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0058.jpg

As per @souravc, pressing the button (at the bottom?) releases air locks in the fuel tank - allowing close to 5-6 liters extra fuel intake!
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0062.jpg

A look at the ICE during the night - blue backlight has been replaced by a wheatish blacklight (a better pic to be uploaded later )
My Shadow Blue VW Vento TDI. EDIT: SOLD after 8 years, 80000+ km!-img_0018.jpg
ninjatalli is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th September 2011, 12:44   #21

NT: Congrats on the car! The Shadow Blue does look good. A lovely writeup on the car and the dealer.

How's the diesel clatter? Is it like Mikon's Mamba (though his has reduced over a period of time)
How's the quality of the new ICE vis a vis the old one.

Lastly, do I expect to see this in the company parking lot soon? (Soon is today afternoon )

Wish you many happy miles. Drive safe.
Old 26th September 2011, 13:01   #22

Congrats pn the Shadow blue Vento!

Nice and detailed write-up , always new things are discovered with every ownership thread.
Wishing you all the best and many happy miles .

Old 26th September 2011, 13:18   #23

Congrats on the top of the line vento!
Looks real nice in shadow blue.
I have the same question as Nicky - what was the 'surveillance system' and why was it removed?
Old 26th September 2011, 13:28   #24

Congrats ninjatalli on bringing home what IMHO is one of the best colours on the Vento
I saw another similar coloured Vento on my way home yesterday and was admiring it unabashedly. Wish you many a safe mile together and hope you bring her to the next tapri meet.

A Jopasu duster is a must for this colour though as I keep finding out the hard way!
Old 26th September 2011, 14:31   #25

Congrats Ninja. The blue , as everyone is gushing about it, is simply fabulous. Wish you a super mile crunching experience with it. Welcome to the vento club!

The interior surveillance system was present in the pre upgraded vento. It was meant to detect motion in the car , when the car is locked by the key fob. If any motion is detected , it would give off an alarm ( lights flashing and the horn). So basically on the roof where the front lights are situated, on the beige plastic there were two sensors meant for this purpose.

There was a switch on the drivers side B pillar, near the floor , by which this could be turned on or off. I am unsure whether this was just for the interior surveillance or for entire security locking system.

As to why it was removed- well VW can only answer that!
Old 26th September 2011, 14:40   #26

Originally Posted by aks_karthik View Post
Congrats ninjatalli for the wonderful buy.
Please post some more snaps especially New ICE and Steering Wheels with ICE controls ,USB in Glove Box and Reverse Senors.
Seems your car is the first New Avatar Vento(ICE alone) in T-Bhp.
Thanks, uploaded most of the pics, as for the sensors, they are body colored and can hardly be seen except for the round circles. Will get a pic and post it later.

Originally Posted by neoonwheels View Post
Looks really good in this color. Congrats and enjoy her to the fullest. BTW, BUB had always been good, earlier with FIAT_TATA and now with VW.
Glad to hear about this - have you utilized their services earlier?

Originally Posted by Rachit.K.Dogra View Post
Congrats Ninjatalli. I my opinion this is the Best Metallic Colour in this car.
I am still waiting for mine. I am also going for this colour. Looking at your car pics just cant wait for mine.

Congrats once again.

ENjoy
Awesome - there are hardly any blue ventos - the exclutivity feels quite nice!

Originally Posted by C300 View Post
Congrats Ninjatalli! What a colour. I was a fan of White colour on Vento but this one takes the cake! The new ICE looks upmarket. This car exudes quality inside and out.
Thanks! Yes it does, but I wish they had kept the blue backlight.

Originally Posted by Nicky View Post
Thanks for clarifications.
can you please elaborate " Removal of surveillance system"?
what is it?
They have removed the anti-theft surveillance system (check the image I have uploaded) the earlier Vento had this. Reason quoted by VW - the system was not of much use in India.

Originally Posted by _raVan_ View Post
Vento is now a complete package with the new Add ons. Congratulations on your purchase
a) How much did it cost you?
b) Whats the mileage you are getting now?
c) What are the service intervals?
d) Is bluetooth integrated? Or is it an extra add on? I see the bluetooth controls on the steering.

Please post more photos of the new dashboard and steering. Also, whats the backlight for the ICE? If its possible, please post a night shot of the dashboard with everything illuminated to get the idea.
a) Just a shy less than 11 lakhs OTR
b) It's only been 600 odd kms & 2 days - too early to quote a definite figure. So far highway rides (80%) have given me 22, while city ride (20%) have reached 16kmph.
c) Same as earlier - 15k/ 1 year & and so on.
d) No. The bluetooth control doesn't work - but if you get the bluetooth enabled ICE (accessory), or outside market system.

Have put a shaky pic of the ICE in the night - will upload a better one later.

Originally Posted by mikon View Post
Finally!!!.. Its here. Congratulations
Wishing you safe miles on it!

1. Where are you planning the tints, floor mats, Leather covers etc.
2. How did you find the head lights in the expressway?
3. How is the sound quality with the new ICE ?
4. How is the diesel Clatter ? Mamba's clatter has gradually reduced a lot.
5. Whats her name and when can we have the photo shoot of the pune tbhp ventos ?
Thank you sir.

1. Except for the mats, rest all postponed for next month. Cash crunch out here! Feel free to contribute if you feel so
2.Headlights felt ok on the expressway - but in complete black spots (where other cars are not present/no street lights), not good.
3. IMHO, far better. Haven't really tested the earlier Vento spearkers that much, only heard it in TDs and once on my friend's vento. The current set feels quite good - even at full volume.
4. Outside the clatter is normal diesel engine - inside hardly any sound. Again need to compare if VW have done anything better to improvise over the previous version.
5. Haven't come to a decisive one - still thinking. Photoshoot anytime. How about this weekend? As it is the lady's quite pissed off with me taking pics by a shoot&focus camera. Need some SLR heavy duty!

Originally Posted by souravc View Post
Congrats my friend on the great set of wheels in that awesome shade . With the new additions , the Vento is indeed a more complete package
Thank you sirji!

Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
NT: Congrats on the car! The Shadow Blue does look good. A lovely writeup on the car and the dealer.

How's the diesel clatter? Is it like Mikon's Mamba (though his has reduced over a period of time)
How's the quality of the new ICE vis a vis the old one.

Lastly, do I expect to see this in the company parking lot soon? (Soon is today afternoon )

First of all, the car is here. Till lunch it was resting in B2's shade - post that, had to keep her in the sun behind B3.

As I mentioned above, diesel clatter (inside the car) is very low.

ICE - definitely better. But a one-on-one comparision is needed badly.
Maybe the next TBHP meet?

Last edited by ninjatalli : 26th September 2011 at 14:45.
ninjatalli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2011, 14:47   #27

Congrats Ninja. Its raining Ventos on Tbhp. And blue is certainly the color to go for! It looks fabulous. With all the additions in the newer versions, I believe this completes the package for a complete car! I would no more complain about the plain Jane interiors.

And looks like the chrome insert in the steering is back. It was missing in few of the cars delivered earlier due to shortage!

And your beautiful car certainly deserves a thorough photoshoot. Please post us more detailed pictures both internally and externally.

Mind sharing the OTR price and the in cabin NVH levels?

Congrats once again and drive safe.

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
there were quite a few changes -
  1. New ICE with usb slot in glove box
  2. Steering controls
  3. Leather cover for steering wheel
  4. Remote sensors on rear bumper
  5. Removal of surveillance system
Old 26th September 2011, 15:05   #28

Originally Posted by flyingkolors View Post
And your beautiful car certainly deserves a thorough photoshoot.
+1 to that. And with a better camera. Will be doing that over the weekend.

OTR price came to 10.95 lakhs (current price in Pune). Since I had done the booking before July, the first price increase of 20k wasn't applicable to me, so that amount was discounted for me.

As for NVH levels, still need to measure them - but they have definitely come down from earlier!
Old 26th September 2011, 15:05   #29

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
4. Outside the clatter is normal diesel engine - inside hardly any sound. Again need to compare if VW have done anything better to improvise over the previous version.
You can compare the clatter sound with mamba's. But i suppose the more you drive, the more you get used to or the engine gets refined. I'm still confused

5. Haven't come to a decisive one - still thinking. Photoshoot anytime. How about this weekend? As it is the lady's quite pissed off with me taking pics by a shoot&focus camera. Need some SLR heavy duty!

But a one-on-one comparision is needed badly.
Maybe the next TBHP meet?
Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
I'm there with the DSLR. Lets do it. I'm awaiting for a meet too. Hope to see your blue lagoon and some one's boa constrictor.

p.s : I've given these names until the owners have given their own
Old 26th September 2011, 15:06   #30
SDP

Congrats Ninja. The pics are lovely and thoughtful. The place where I stay, there is a Blue Vento TDi parked just next to my car. So I get to admire the fantastic shade on a daily basis.

Congrats again! Have fun!