Old 14th April 2013, 21:32   #61

Re: Team BHP's First! Hemi Powered 2012 Dodge Charger

Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
don't you worry! remember driving on 'em Bangalore roads and you'll be just fine
LOL. Yeah. I wish i had my OHC here as well though.
Old 16th April 2013, 01:40   #62

Re: A day (half day actually) at New Jersey Motor Park

Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
I attended a track day organized by a club called Hooked On Driving at the New Jersey Motor Park on 12th April. Since i had signed up as a beginner, i had a coach assigned to me for all the sessions. There were supposed to be 5 30 minute sessions on the track but had to stop after 3 because there was too much standing water on the track. But the first three sessions were enough to give me a better understanding of my car's handling and the track as well.
The M3 above was imported from Germany.

And a couple of cars that were pushed over the limit:
Looks like you had fun :-)

Why was the M3 imported

Did you see any FWD cars there
Technocrat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2013, 02:13   #63

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Why was the M3 imported

Did you see any FWD cars there
The owner said that he wanted to experience the thrill of driving his car down the Autobahn!

There was one Honda Odyssey on the track. I believe it is FWD, but it was being driven by one of the Hooked On Driving instructors. Apparently she also could not control it and went into a tire wall!
Old 16th April 2013, 21:26   #64

The owner said that he wanted to experience the thrill of driving his car down the Autobahn!

There was one Honda Odyssey on the track. I believe it is FWD, but it was being driven by one of the Hooked On Driving instructors. Apparently she also could not control it and went into a tire wall!
Oh well, if they allow family Van, a FWD sports sedan should be fine

What are the charges & what is booking/reservation process?
Old 16th April 2013, 22:09   #65

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Oh well, if they allow family Van, a FWD sports sedan should be fine

What are the charges & what is booking/reservation process?
Charges vary from track to track and event to event. An autocross registration is 30 USD (20 if you are SCC member) whereas a HookedOnDriving event can go up to 300 USD too.

I am still trying to figure out autocross process but for Hooked On Driving events, you can just logon to their website (www.hookedondriving.com) and register (after paying the fee, of course)

I think the best way to go about it is to go the website of the track near you and look for events happening there.
amitoj is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th April 2013, 08:27   #66

I attended a track day organized by a club called Hooked On Driving at the New Jersey Motor Park on 12th April.
Great job. Nice to see more and more guys interested in track days. Respect to you and your car. I get frustrated when people talk about owning performance cars and never taking them to track.

Think of a cheap Miata for autocross. RWD is king in autocross. You can get Miata's for as cheap as a $3000 etc.
Jomz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th April 2013, 18:49   #67

Originally Posted by Jomz View Post
Great job. Nice to see more and more guys interested in track days. Respect to you and your car. I get frustrated when people talk about owning performance cars and never taking them to track.

Think of a cheap Miata for autocross. RWD is king in autocross. You can get Miata's for as cheap as a $3000 etc.
Thanks Jomz! I guess for many performance car owners, the pride of ownership is thrill enough for them.

Hmmm let me think about getting a third car!!
Old 22nd July 2013, 04:33   #68

It had been more than a month since I got polish etc ordered online and delivered from Zaino store. I was waiting for a free weekend to use it but it just didnt seem to be able to get a break!! Finally decided to set one day aside for the car and not compromise on that. Today was that day and here are the results. I was too tired by the end of it to take a decent enough picture.

This is the equipment used.
Team BHP's First! Hemi Powered 2012 Dodge Charger-img_9684.jpg

ScratchX was primarily for removing the older layer of wax. I used it on the roof and hood mainly.

Clay bar also helps in stripping off old wax, so I used the clay bar extensively, using ONR as the lubricant.

After that, the surface was further cleaned using Zaino's All In One.

Now the car was ready for the Z8 polish. Applied one coat, buffed it out, sealed with the Spray Seal and wiped again. This was done twice.

Here are the results.

Team BHP's First! Hemi Powered 2012 Dodge Charger-img_9687.jpg

Team BHP's First! Hemi Powered 2012 Dodge Charger-img_9688.jpg

Team BHP's First! Hemi Powered 2012 Dodge Charger-img_9692.jpg

Team BHP's First! Hemi Powered 2012 Dodge Charger-img_9693-3.jpg

Hopefully, i can just keep topping it up with the All In One every once in a while.

Amitoj
amitoj is online now   (14) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2013, 08:23   #69

Nice! Looks awesome! You are providing me the inspiration to wax my car too... been a while.

Nice plates too
mohit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2013, 16:30   #70

Thanks, Mohit.
Its a nice way to "bond" with your car
Old 22nd July 2013, 16:48   #71

Great Results and Licence Plate Number "Chalo Ji " Lol !
NOTORIOUS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2013, 16:54   #72

Wow amitoj ji! It is a dream of mine to go the states, settle down and get myself a nice muscle car. Its not about the power but the sound and feel of the engine in the car that i love the most. A dodge charger in red has to be the best combo of both the car and the color. After all, the car makes its presence felt wherever it goes. Also, does it weigh 2 tons? If so, even with 4 cylinders firing, the car must be pretty lazy off the line in eco mode. Anyways, hope you clock a lot of miles on this one!
Arch-Angel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2013, 18:03   #73

Originally Posted by Arch-Angel View Post
Also, does it weigh 2 tons? If so, even with 4 cylinders firing, the car must be pretty lazy off the line in eco mode. Anyways, hope you clock a lot of miles on this one!
Thanks! It already has nearly 19K miles on it!

It weighs somewhere around 5300 pounds. Thats nearly 2400 kilos i think. But the good thing is that the eco mode is off when starting off the line. It does need all 8 cylinders to fire in order to get going :P

But thanks to a CAI and a 93 Octane tune, the car does not feel as heavy as it should when taking off from a red light.
Old 22nd July 2013, 20:58   #74

It had been more than a month since I got polish etc ordered online and delivered from Zaino store. I was waiting for a free weekend to use it but it just didnt seem to be able to get a break!! Finally decided to set one day aside for the car and not compromise on that. Today was that day and here are the results. I was too tired by the end of it to take a decent enough picture.
Good stuff. I'm too lazy to all these myself. I remember I had all sorts of polish and other items for paint, upholstry, tires, glass etc back in India, but never used it.

Have taken an appointment with a local detailing guy for a 4-hour beauty session for my Elantra. I hope he does a good job.
Gandhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2013, 21:32   #75

Excellent job! Th car looks fantastic in gleaming red. I had got a Dodge Avenger with the same color in my last trip form Hertz and it was quite an entertaining car.