Old 26th December 2015, 11:53   #256

re: Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+

Thanks - estimated time to repair is 1 month and cost is Rs. 3-4 lakhs. all electricals need to be checked.

Again, I have to say this - if you have a fiat and have a serious blow, its really really bad -fiat service centres are familiar only with basic servicing - dismantling a car, identifying issues etc. is really poorer than course.

Contrast this with maruti which is handling 100 x the volumes in chennai and yet is getting stuff done in 15-20 days. Also, I am dreading their attention todetail - I hope car will work flawlessly after that and I hope I do not get stranded in the middle of nowhere later on.

Let's see what happens - I tried claiming total loss but mechanically since there is no issue, it has to be repaired it seems.
Old 16th February 2016, 17:20   #257

I got my car back - mixed bag. mechanicals are in fantastic shape but interior got soiled because of car standing under the sun after being stained by muddy water for two months.

Electricals are workign alright but small issues like speed adjusting volume control on HU not working.

I can say this again, the customer service from fiat is amongst the worst and with a capital "W". It took them 30 days after i paid money to get the car out and even then there were so many niggles - absolutely no PDI, no checks, nothing. I pointed out about 12-13 niggles which were fixed after a day when I took delivery of my car.

I can safely say that for those who want to buy a fiat car -may not be a bad idea to befriend an independent garage. I have had a maruti before and the service is incomparable - they used to call after every service and enquire about feedback.

Here, the moment money changes hands and gate pass is issued, you can forget about getting anything fixed.
varadha_r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2016, 21:03   #258

Update: Crusoe is now four years old and has completed 47,000 KMs. This year due to my health issues and work related travel, Crusoe has spent most of its time sitting in the garage but whatever time it was on roads, it managed to rule it. I still love the car as much as I did the first day I drove it out of the showroom. Once again, All Hail Crusoe!!!

Originally Posted by varadha_r View Post
I got my car back - mixed bag. mechanicals are in fantastic shape but interior got soiled because of car standing under the sun after being stained by muddy water for two months.
What happened to your car is quite unfortunate. I can understand your irritation with FASS, and would have reacted in a similar manner had I been in your shoes. I have mentioned in this thread earlier that my love/association is with Fiat the manufacturer not Fiat the service provider. After four years and 47,000 KMs, I can't find a fault in the product.

I returned from a trip to Uttarakhand yesterday, and during the past week I've traveled through some really treacherous roads. Absolutely no surface, steep hairpins, and just truck traffic for company. My car took many under-body hits and yet managed to get us out of such tracks safely, and without any mechanical issues. It was hot and dusty outside so we kept the AC on and still the car had enough torque to climb the bad roads. Along with all this, it still looks like a million bucks. It still manages to turn heads, and people in the hills do act surprised to see a 'luxury' (as per them) sedan on such terrain.

I can't think of many other Sedans that would have costed less than 10 lacs in 2012, and would have managed to provide the ownership experience that I have had with my Linea T-jet+
Biraj is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th June 2017, 16:18   #259

Hi Biraj,

Can you kindly update the condition of your CEAT Gripp tyres? How are they performing now?

Old 14th December 2017, 09:12   #260

Hi Biraj,

I would want your feedback on the CEAT Gripp LN tyres as well.
Also are they cost effective compared to the GoodYears or BridgeStones?

thanks,
Kart
Old 14th December 2017, 17:53   #261

Originally Posted by Kart View Post
Hi Biraj,

I would want your feedback on the CEAT Gripp LN tyres as well.
Also are they cost effective compared to the GoodYears or BridgeStones?

thanks,
Kart
Hi Kart, I haven't driven the car much in the past couple of years thus the total mileage in almost four years is about 25,000 KMs. So far, no punctures and tyres have performed satisfactorily. The noise is lesser than Goodyear NCT 5 and the grip levels are also decent even on the wet surface. It's definitely a cost-efficient option.

Biraj
Biraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2018, 02:08   #262

Six years and 52,000 KMs done

The last update I shared about Crusoe was two years ago. In these two years, Crusoe has done only 5,000 KMs. While the sixth birthday was celebrated in a service station with a failed alternator, Crusoe has been otherwise a reliable steed.

The details of why I was away and why Crusoe celebrated the sixth birthday in a service station is mentioned in this travelogue.

Some pics of Crusoe after a long time.

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-p_152017643473201.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-p_1519902870025.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-img_20180227_18163101.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-img_20180222_19000201.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-img_20180222_153744010101.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-img_20180222_15291901.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-p_151905795632801.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-1301.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-img_20160403_08351401.jpg

Crusoe Chronicles: Eleven years with a Fiat Linea TJet+-fb_img_151764265616201.jpg
Biraj is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2018, 14:34   #263

To sell or not to sell:

The other day I saw a BHPian looking for an upgrade to his Linea T-jet and the same thoughts crossed my mind.

The main reason why I am considering a change is that I had two surgeries last year, an AV fistula surgery in the left arm and a kidney transplant. The anti-rejection medicines I am on also cause mild tremors in hands and legs (rarely). The effect is felt especially while driving in traffic jam thus, I want to switch to an automatic. It will at least give more rest to my left leg and arm.

The main requirements:
  1. Automatic - Preferably not AMT
  2. Safety - Well built (confidence inspiring) and decent safety features. At least, 2 Airbags, ABS, all four discs, and EBD should be available.
  3. Petrol, ideally a turbo-charged petrol - My usage doesn’t require diesel
  4. Good looking - As they say, “if you can park it and walk away without looking back, you’ve bought the wrong car”. I don’t want a car that I don’t feel like clicking every time I park it.
  5. Should have at least the basic features - Automatic climate control, steering mounted audio-controls, day/night IRVM (preferably with auto-dimming) and well-cushioned leather seats,
  6. Space - Good for two with an occasional family trip of four adults. Decent sized boot.
  7. Not more than 15 lacs OTR - considering my health condition, I need to keep a sufficient fund for contingency, and don’t want to take much loan.

Now, the dilemma - My Linea T-jet checks all the boxes above apart from the automatic and the only car that fits the bill well is Octavia TSi which is at least 10 lacs over my budget.

Some other reasons that make the T-jet special for me:
  • It was from the initial lots of the T-jet. As per the SA and folks I spoke to in Fiat and outside, the initial Linea T-jets (2010-11 makes) were CKD assembly. The engine, gearbox and seat-covers were imported from Italy, rest of the stuff (including the mats) were from South Africa. Only the battery and tyres were from India. Thus, the quality is much better than even the T-jets that were made later.
  • The ride and handling of pre-ground-clearance increase models is way better than the subsequent ones. I have driven the new T-jet and it just can’t match my T-jet. Even the power delivery has been made linear in the interest of fuel-efficiency thus, the signature turbo-kick is a bit subdued. So, I find my Linea T-jet more special among even the T-jets.
  • After all these years, It still looks good. My phone is full of pics of my car and my dog. Hardly any humans.
  • The colour - Linea T-jet is a rare car, the Bronzo Scuro shade is even rarer. Till date, I have seen only three other Bronzo Scuro Lineas. I don’t think there will be more than 11-12 in India.
  • Have done a number of trips on it and almost 1000 KMs/day as well but have never felt tired. It eats away miles with disdain.
  • It feels safe. It was hit once by a Scorpio and another time by a Safari, both the times at slow speed. Once it suffered a dislocated bumper (just had to clip it back) and other time a chipped chrome strip. The Scorpio and Safari had mildly bent bull-bar and bumper.
  • It’s fuel-efficient if one wants that from it. I have seen FE vary from 11-19.2 KMPL on the highway. It all depends on my mood and the traffic. It is capable of giving good efficiency, when required.

So, apart from the automatic transmission, I really don’t need anything extra in my T-jet. The two options I have considered are:
  • Keep Crusoe for the highway and family trips. Buy a small automatic hatchback for the city. The downside is keeping a car like T-jet for usage of only once in three-four months. That will be doing injustice to the car and also not take proper care of its mechanicals.
  • Sell Crusoe and buy some other automatic car. Options considered and reasons I am not convinced.
  • Duster CVT - Poor interiors, no ACC, and the seats felt cheap.
  • Verna 1.6 VTVT AT - The steering and ride didn’t feel that great. If I compromise, I will go for this.
  • Creta petrol AT - Again similar reasons as above and doesn't seem to be very high in VFM.
  • Although not very inclined but will definitely check the Yaris when it gets launched.

Even when I read what I have written, it’s evident that my heart is still on Crusoe but the automatic is slowly becoming a necessity than luxury. Really, don’t want to let go of Crusoe especially considering the ridiculous resale value it will fetch.

Let’s see how things pan out. Will keep you guys posted.
Biraj is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2018, 15:35   #264

Any reason why you are not looking at the Vento TSI? Seems to be a decent compromise for the T-Jet especially as you want the automatic right?
arvind71181 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2018, 16:04   #265

Originally Posted by Biraj View Post
To sell or not to sell:

[*]Keep Crusoe for the highway and family trips. Buy a small automatic hatchback for the city. The downside is keeping a car like T-jet for usage of only once in three-four months. That will be doing injustice to the car and also not take proper care of its mechanicals.

Let’s see how things pan out. Will keep you guys posted.
This! You don't need to spend 15 Lacs, when 7 Lacs will meet most of your requirements. You'll not get a worthy replacement for the T-Jet for 15 Lacs, so keep it.
roy_libran is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2018, 19:59   #266

Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
This! You don't need to spend 15 Lacs, when 7 Lacs will meet most of your requirements. You'll not get a worthy replacement for the T-Jet for 15 Lacs, so keep it.
I agree with Roy. You should keep the Jet, as it is, it will not get any sparks flying in the resale. You will not be able find a worthy upgrade to the Jet. I tried really hard and was unable to find any, below the Octavia TSI.
mathuranuj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2018, 10:16   #267

Hi sir,
I'd say keep the Jet. I know how it feels after parting away from the TJET (I still regret my decision of selling my Jet). The earlier batches of the TJETs as you said were a lot better over the post 2012 TJETs. So just keep the TJET and get yourself a small Automatic hatch for the city runs.

But the problem is once you're used to the convenience of an automatic, it gets really tough to drive a manual occasionally. The initial few days would be okay. But as the time goes, for even some of the best drivers driving a manual becomes tough. Take my dad for example. He just loves manuals but after a TD of the Hexa AT, he just dropped his plans of getting the MT 4x4 trim and got the AT trim for a similar price. For the first few days, he did manage to drive a Manual and an automatic back to back. But after a few days, he just got so used to the convenience of the Automatic that he now almost refuses to drive our other manual cars at home. He feels at home driving an automatic through the traffic. Give him a manual in the traffic, you'll find him tensed and paranoid all through the drive which wasn't the case earlier.

I hate to admit it but once you get used to the convenience of an automatic, you just can't get back to a manual considering your health condition. I'd say either keep the Jet and manage to use her over the weekends and get an automatic which does your daily duties. If two cars are a pain to maintain, then with a heavy heart, put her up for sale and get a used Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI. This is the only worthy upgrade to your Jet and a used one would fit in your budget too. But the reliability concerns of the 1.8 TSI + 7-speed DSG (DQ200) combo are always there at the back of the mind.

Hope you take a wise decision,
Varun

Last edited by Varun_HexaGuy : 24th March 2018 at 10:17.
Varun_HexaGuy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2018, 18:38   #268

Originally Posted by arvind71181 View Post
Any reason why you are not looking at the Vento TSI? Seems to be a decent compromise for the T-Jet especially as you want the automatic right?
I have more or less decided to keep the T-jet so, the other car should be from a stable that offers reliability. Since I am not too enthused about a Maruti, I might look towards Hyundai.

Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
Even I am inclined towards this option.

Originally Posted by mathuranuj View Post
I agree with Roy. You should keep the Jet, as it is, it will not get any sparks flying in the resale. You will not be able find a worthy upgrade to the Jet. I tried really hard and was unable to find any, below the Octavia TSI.
We both are in the same boat so, can understand each other's predicament quite well.

Originally Posted by Varun_HexaGuy View Post
But the reliability concerns of the 1.8 TSI + 7-speed DSG (DQ200) combo are always there at the back of the mind.
Thanks, Varun, it's the reliability aspect that's keeping me away from Skoda. I already have a Fiat so, need the other or replacement car to be reliable. Can't afford to spend long hours at the service station or downtime with my health conditions.

------------------------------------------

The last major service I got done was in 2015 and after that, the periodic service was being done at a celebrated (on this and other forums) multibrand (specialists in Fiat) service centre in Noida. While I was happy with the responsiveness and support, I wasn't too happy with the work they had done with the AC, despite charging almost Rs 20K. The timing belt replacement was overdue so, I thought about getting it done from an authorised service station. All the service centres near my home have shut down so, the closest option is in Moti Nagar (about 28 KM). I spoke to the service head and got the service booked for Monday (April 23). They picked the car in the morning and I received a call in the afternoon to crosscheck all the work required. The work required was
  1. Major service (all oils and filters + coolant)
  2. Timing belt replacement
  3. AC not cooling effectively during peak summers. It was working fine but not as it used to.
  4. Alternator check as it had thrown a warning on the instrument cluster in February

I had to follow-up every afternoon to check the status of the work done and it took them two days for the servicing and timing belt replacement. Then another two days for AC. As per them the cooling coil and evaporator required replacement because the gas is leaking. I found it hard to believe as gas was there in the system and the AC was cooling. Had there been a leakage, all the gas would have leaked since the last time AC work was done, some 14-15 months ago. Anyway, I asked them to go ahead and get it done as long as the AC cooling returns to previous levels.

Finally, after four days I went to the service centre to check the work done and collect the car personally. They said the alternator is fine and doesn't require any work and all other work has been done. I sat in the car and saw the KM indication blinking. The technician said the Blue&Me of this car is faulty. I asked them to reset the ECU by removing the negative terminal. It fixed the issue and B&M was working perfectly well.

I paid the bill of Rs 28K and took the car out, and then... The car died at their gate with a "Check Engine Light".

Their team rushed to the car and pushed it to the side and started checking. After an hour they diagnosed it to dirty throttle body. They cleaned it and scanned the car, and gave me a go-ahead. The car worked fine during the drive back. Today, afternoon I started the car and the AC gave the smell as if there's no gas, and it just didn't cool.

Four days, Rs 28K, yet this...

I called the service head again, and he has promised to pick the car on Monday morning as he doesn't have any driver to pick it tomorrow and they are closed on Sundays. I am really runing out of patience with FASS but what option does one have? Such a fantastic car but such poor support when something goes wrong. I should perhaps have got the AC work done by some specialist outside.

Anyway, will see what they do on Monday.
Biraj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st May 2018, 08:01   #269

Originally Posted by Biraj View Post
Options considered and reasons I am not convinced.
Why isn't the Honda City AT in this list?

Yes; it is a cvt and cannot be compared to the excellent dsg on the Vento Tsi. You want peace of mind and there isn't any other sedan out there that betters the City when it comes to this. The engine is hands down the best NA there is. With the sad demise of the Fiat Linea, there really isn't any other drivers car out there.

I would recommend the Honda over the VW cause the drivers cockpit has more room too.

Car prices have increased across the board.

On to another subject.
The quality levels of the Fiat Linea are debatable. I had a 2011 T Jet and had no complaints. Nothing broke or rattled in 5 years and 43k km. However; the materials were the type that needed care to make them look as good as new. After I stepped into Keroo's T Jet, which is the face lift, I felt his car was a marked improvement in every way. I know for sure that the dashboard on the face lift was a direct import. It was evident in the quality of the dashboard materials. I thought it surpassed VW too. Seat material and stitching were better on mine plus the older ones got a third head rest too.

In fact, when tbhp reviewed the car and highlighted suspect material quality, I was wondering what they were on about. However; I did notice the difference. There is a huge difference in dashboard finish and quality between the top of the line Punto Diesel, 1.4l NA Linea petrol and T Jet variants.

Last edited by sandeepmohan : 1st May 2018 at 08:10.
sandeepmohan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2018, 18:11   #270
ZMG

Hi Biraj,

I have always admired the T-Jet!
I have a suggestion for you, why not get yourself a driver and relax?
In this way your T-Jet is used, plus you don't have to spend on a new car, which will ultimately depreciate in value.

Also if you do not feel like giving the T Jet to a driver, get yourself a used 1st gen Dzire, for about 2 Lakhs, and get a driver. Great back seat and a driver all at less than 7 Lakhs.

When you feel the time is right and you are ready to enjoy the car, get yourself a new car.

ZMG is offline   (1) Thanks