Old 7th January 2016, 11:56   #121

re: Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 118000 km!

Originally Posted by M35 View Post
  • The AC doesn’t seem to cool the cabin. [The blower works but no cooling at all. Any pointer ?]
  • Some hesitancy in getting the engine fired on starting. I suspect the battery, asked to replace it with a new one if needed.
The compressor could be out of gas or low on gas. If you open the hood and start the engine with the ac on, can you hear the compressor cutting in and out?

Engine hesitation is generally due to a weak battery. Also, since you are now at 100,000km, I would suggest you do a Xado engine treatment (look my Hariya thread for details). It helps significantly.

Geolandars are a nice and trusted choice for tires and will last you another 65-70k kms easily with good usage.
n.devdath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2016, 18:47   #122

I am a bit wary of Geolanders because of sidewall issue. Why not check the Michelin Cross for a change? Sadly, they aren't available for my Scorpio's size.
Sheel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2016, 15:27   #123
M35

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
The compressor could be out of gas or low on gas.
Some leakage. Corrected and the gas topped up. AC is a chiller now after the 1 Lakh km service, even during Kerala noon.
Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
Engine hesitation is generally due to a weak battery
Got a new battery. Also the starter motor got serviced.
Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
I am a bit wary of Geolanders because of sidewall issue. Why not check the Michelin Cross for a change? Sadly, they aren't available for my Scorpio's size.
I have used Yokos for the last 60k km or so, did not face any side wall issue, even after abusing it around.
But got 4 new Michelin LTX A/T for a change, priced at Rs. 400 more than the Yoko per piece.

Update: 1 lakh km service
The Vehicle was ready by the time I got there. In about 10 minutes I drove out of the dealership after having done the payment and thanked the SM for his attention to details. The vehicle was sounding, behaving and shining as brand new.

The important bit: The clutch slave cylinder which was replaced some 2000 km back was found leaking again = replaced FOC.

The details of the work carried out:
Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-mn-135.jpg

Drove into a tyre shop and got the Yokos replaced with 4 Michelin LTX A/T this time around. The significant advantage over Yokohama Geos I thought was that the cabin now is absolutely silent. These tyres are amazingly quieter. Now I get to enjoy that addictive roar from under the hood to the fullest.
Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc9431.jpg

Last edited by M35 : 10th January 2016 at 15:30.
M35 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 10th January 2016, 18:38   #124

Some leakage. Corrected and the gas topped up. AC is a chiller now after the 1 Lakh km service, even during Kerala noon.

Got a new battery. Also the starter motor got serviced.

I have used Yokos for the last 60k km or so, did not face any side wall issue, even after abusing it around.
But got 4 new Michelin LTX A/T for a change, priced at Rs. 400 more than the Yoko per piece.

Update: 1 lakh km service
The Vehicle was ready by the time I got there. In about 10 minutes I drove out of the dealership after having done the payment and thanked the SM for his attention to details. The vehicle was sounding, behaving and shining as brand new.

The important bit: The clutch slave cylinder which was replaced some 2000 km back was found leaking again = replaced FOC.

The details of the work carried out:
Attachment 1458983

Drove into a tyre shop and got the Yokos replaced with 4 Michelin LTX A/T this time around. The significant advantage over Yokohama Geos I thought was that the cabin now is absolutely silent. These tyres are amazingly quieter. Now I get to enjoy that addictive roar from under the hood to the fullest.
Attachment 1458994
Congrats M35 for the 1 Lac milestone.

Your scorpio is holding well and you are maintaining it immaculately. I am sure you will have many more miles of happy motoring with the beast.

My scorpio is also at 92000 kms. Observed very minor seepage from the slave clutch cylendar. Have decided to wait and watch for a while before i think of a replacement.

nvldvr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2016, 20:42   #125
M35

Originally Posted by nvldvr View Post
My scorpio is also at 92000 kms. Observed very minor seepage from the slave clutch cylendar. Have decided to wait and watch for a while before i think of a replacement.
Personally I wouldn't play a wait game here. It's no fun when the clutch pedal stays depressed in the middle of a long journey. Have had two instances already and for me is the 'only' weak point in this vehicle.
Old 11th January 2016, 15:35   #126

Dear, could you please post better pictures of the tires? Was cross available with the tire dealer?
Old 12th January 2016, 18:47   #127
M35

Give me a day for the pictures.
I didn't ask for the cross since I was interested in A/T only.

Update:

Earlier, my driver had noticed ABS warning sign on a couple of occasions. During the service they scanned for error codes but didn't notice any. But when I was driving home after the service, the ABS warning sign came up again with some pulsating movements at the brake pedal on multiple occasions.

Today as I was driving to Munnar, spent an hour or so at the ASC and got it inspected. Replaced a faulty ABS sensor under warranty = goodwill warranty.
M35 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2016, 14:46   #128
M35

Give me a day for the pictures.
I didn't ask for the cross since I was interested in A/T only.
See if this helps. Surprised to see the white lettering though

Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc9578.jpg
Old 14th January 2016, 21:52   #129
M35

Did a short trip to 'Anayirangal' near Munnar today. 'Scorp' sailed through the narrow but smooth tarmac on the stretch between Munnar and Poopara.
Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc96242.jpg

Last edited by M35 : 14th January 2016 at 22:02.
Old 23rd January 2016, 18:49   #130
M35

Covered some 1500 ood km after the major service. Typing this from Hyderabad.
The ‘Scorp’ seem back to its very best. The Michelins are definitely silent and when driven at 110-119 kmph, I simply don’t hear anything including that from under the hood except for that additive soft whistle, beyond 120 kmph the engine starts to become audible but I hardly push beyond that.

A recent DIY job before my Hyderabad trip:http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...r-console.html
Old 19th February 2016, 23:13   #131
M35

ODO: 108xxx km
Issues since the recent service: NONE

The vehicle drives absolutely immaculately. Back in town from Hyderabad. Steering is effortless and the ride and handling seem to be at its very best, thanks to the new Michelins and the 1 lakh service. The FE has definitely improved further, didn’t calculate it though.

Spending more time with a new member in the family - my little baby angel- these days, hence no long drives or birding trips planned.

Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc95812.jpg

Last edited by M35 : 19th February 2016 at 23:22.
Old 24th February 2016, 13:31   #132
M35

Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc0183.jpg
Drove along the beautiful container terminal road @Kochi. Never knew such a wonderful setting about 100km away from home. 'Scorp' continues to amaze me with it's pristine state and refinement.
Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc01962.jpg
Old 25th February 2016, 22:17   #133
M35

ODO: 108,xxx km
Update on the total service cost as of today. Got the figures from http://www.withyouhamesha.com/, since I don't keep any record myself.
Name:  sc.png
Views: 3129
Size:  12.7 KB

Last edited by M35 : 25th February 2016 at 22:20.
Old 12th March 2016, 21:01   #134
M35

Update:
Scorp gets a couple of accessories !
1. Hella twin tone horns- One of the OE horns had gone bad, hence got them replaced. Now these complement my other set- Roots Megasonic horns beautifully.
2. Hella 700FF lights. Looks great and they can light up the roads quite superbly.
Pictures will be up shortly.

Last edited by M35 : 12th March 2016 at 21:02.
Old 13th March 2016, 23:13   #135
M35

Scorp wearing a couple of Hella. Didn't like the white covers = blackened thwm, hence the menacing look.
Mahindra Scorpio SLE (M-Hawk) - 7 years and 1,18,000 km! EDIT: Totaled!-_dsc0675.jpg
M35 is online now   (2) Thanks