Team-BHP - My Mercedes Benz C200 Avantgarde: 2 year ownership review
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Long-Term Ownership Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/)
-   -   My Mercedes Benz C200 Avantgarde: 2 year ownership review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/162986-my-mercedes-benz-c200-avantgarde-2-year-ownership-review.html)

This is my first attempt at writing a full-fledged review. I have no intentions of making this a photo blog, so please bear the text heavy version of the review.

My first car was purchased in 2002 - Fiat Sienna 1.2 Petrol. From then on, every 3 years, I have changed my vehicle irrespective of the running or the ownership experience. So, on the way I bought the Ford Fusion 1.6, the Honda Civic 1.8s, Skoda Laura 2.0 L&K. With great pride, I can say that none of the cars gave me any headaches or complains. The only rule each time was to buy a genuine upgrade. After 3 years with the Laura, I wanted to move to a 30L range. Since my monthly average distance is not more than 600 Kms, I was never the one to be stuck with diesels.

Pre-requisites:
• Automatic
• More than 5 speed gear boxes
• At least a 1.8L engine
• Best in class safety
• Lots of gizmos

Within the first 1-2 weeks of research, I realised that none of the cars below 30L were a real upgrade and most of them were slow moving in the market (Teana, Sonata). Low sales usually translated to limited availability of spares, an issue that I faced with the Fusion. The other options like Superb, Fortuner, CRV and Camry were ruled out since they did not offer me any substantial feature or kit upgrade over the Laura. In fact, both the Japanese cars were poorly kitted and felt vague when compared to the excellent build of the Laura. The Hybrid version of the Camry was very good but that launched after my new Merc purchase.