Old 27th September 2017, 12:45   #481

Re: Sunroof Replacement

So there is a significant update now:

The cracked sunroof on my Ladakh trip is now completely repaired and vehicle is back in roadworthy condition. The copy of invoice and details below -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-invoice.png

The claim to insurance was raised on Sept 7, and the entire case was closed with payment only by Sept 18th. According to the service station staff and expert - the glass of sunroof alone cannot be replaced. I had reached out to Windshield experts - they too confirmed that only front and rear windshields can be replaced by them and sunroof is out of their expertise. So I had no other go but to proceed with work. Sunroof being not so frequently replaced part, M-A-S-S needed to order this with M&M and wait until the parts arrive. The actual work is only 3-4 hours but it requires the entire assembly with railings, sun shade and all the parts to be replaced under single assembly. It also needs the roof liner/ carpet (on roof??? I am sure there is better term for this) to be taken off at the front half portion to remove old part and fit new one. All of this is finally done and now I have a new view of the same sky

Oh by the way, Chrome motors did a fantastic job here. They also had to remove all my duct tape jugaad fix and clean the roof without affecting the roof film I have applied. They did that laborious task without making any noise. Through out the work, GM and SA kept in touch with me and also followed with insurance for survey, approvals, payments etc. After the work was done, service centre also released my vehicle promptly for my use. The insurance company (ICICI Lombard) delayed things a lot and based on surveyor's oral inputs, Chrome motors did great job without waiting for payments and formalities. I must say their focus on my work was commendable. The car was kept under proper covered parking as its raining in Bangalore for past 2-3 weeks almost every day.

My experience with ICICI Lombard was not so good. They delayed survey by 24 hours. Their approval for work came after another 36 hours or so. The actual confirmation on payments came almost 72 hours of invoice being raised! That's actually too much of a time lapse there and not even once they cared to revert back to me with status and updates - I had to call every now and then to their customer care and even they would not have any update. They would direct me to surveyor and he kept himself busy with all work in the universe except my car. I am sure they wont get my business again. In the entire process, I had to pay Rs. 3000 as compulsory deductible and some processing charges.

Anyway, an important work done and car is back in tip-top shape. Nothing makes me more happier than seeing a shining orange cheetah ready to take us places!

Another 1000 Kms and Orange Cheetah is due for 70K Kms service. Apart from minor rattles, re-torqueing suspension and various bolts/ joints, I will also change the engine air filter and as usual new engine oil. The supply from my Ladhak trip is still with me to use!

Ciao until next update!
abirnale is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th October 2017, 09:27   #482

re: Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km

A non-significant update!

After a long gap on local drives, we took a stroll on outskirts of Bangalore on Vijayadashami day! We went to Shravanbelgola and after trek to top of the Vidhyagiri hill, went to Devarmanne view point through winding Malnad roads and returned home! The lush green paddy fields, mist and drizzle on the way, clouds playing hide and seek with vistas in Devarmanne - it was one great day spent with family and Orange Cheetah is 1000km short of 70K Kms milestone!

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20170930_125623221_hdr.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20170930_125442543_hdr.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20170930_123031513.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20170930_122532058.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_9476.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_9515.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_9473.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_9437.jpg

And then followed a good washing session to take off all the much we have gathered so far including this very spare tyre which was never taken out of its place for cleaning!
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-20171001_112408collage.jpg

Soon 70K kms service will be done and all the minor rattles will be addressed too.
abirnale is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 31st October 2017, 17:35   #483

re: Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km

70K Kms Service Update:
Finally the 70K kms mark is approached! I have never had a single car run so much in my stable - can confidently say that around 68K must be driven by me alone!

In the routine service, below work is done -
  • Engine Oil changed (3 ltrs from old supply for Ladakh and 3 more)
  • Brake cleaning, checking
  • All suspension and hinges etc. retorquing
  • addressing some rattles
  • Filters (AC, Air) replaced
  • Routine 70K checks and work
The cost incurred was Rs. 5782. I still need to get the WA WB done as I do for every 10K kms. A couple of rattles were addressed too. The gear stalk was making noise and needed the greasing too. All done, car is absolutely rattle-free No recalls, service actions, all latest and greatest running - Orange cheetah is set for next 10K kms without an issue!

Service details -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-screenshot_20171031054349.png
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-screenshot_20171031054326.png
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-screenshot_20171031054413.png

Ciao until next update!
abirnale is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 13th November 2017, 19:14   #484

Last week got a call from Sireesh Auto about a service action. Nowhere in the WYH app or online links this was mentioned but they called to inform that there is a service recall related to door lock latch. Turned in the vehicle and got it back in two hours. It was to do with silver chrome line on doors that had some hollow space at one end which needed to be covered with foam tape and the door lock (picture below - red is replacement, original was white) seems to be faulty - sometimes door not unlocking syndrome is root caused to this piece of plastic. Got it replaced FOC and vehicle back home.

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20171108_110449880.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-sketch.png

Couple of minor cabin noises were also put to rest by simply removing the plastic panel around gearbox, apply extra foam tape on clips and areas that touch at the base and refit. Things seems to be ok for now.

The service call is not traceable unless the vehicle details are key'ed into their software and a popup is shown. the ASC folks have no clue as to which vehicles have this recall. It seems like as I did not visit the Sireesh Auto for long, the SA there tried to look at the record and found this popup - good hook to call me back and connect.
abirnale is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th November 2017, 11:50   #485

Quick day trip to BRT and K.Gudi Reserve:

On Saturday, we decided to have a family picnic. Drove from home early morning to BRT and K.Gudi reserve forest. We had planned on taking Safari but sightings on the road were so many that a separate safari was not needed. On the way to BRT we took road side break and slight deviation after Kanakpura. Home made breakfast ensured we stay in best of spirits until late afternoon. Sighted a wild tusker soon after entering the BRT area. A herd of elephants closer to K Gudu JLR Wildernest resort and a lone wild dog somewhere before K.Gudi check-post. A whole of 350+ Kms day trip and nice family picnic in complete absence of crowd/ traffic was fun and best weekend we have spent after a long time! Sparing Sunday for household chores and time to get ready for Monday, the weekend spent was truly rejuvenating our energy after a long time. Route taken and some pictures from the day trip -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-screenshot_20171119201255.png
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-screenshot_20171119201324.png
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0005.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_0097.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0002.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0084.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0059.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0072.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0108.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171118wa0135.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171119wa0010.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img20171119wa0018.jpg

Ciao until next update.

Last edited by GTO : 20th November 2017 at 17:39. Reason: As requested :)
abirnale is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th November 2017, 13:55   #486

An impromptu trip to home came up on last weekend. Took the opportunity to drive to Kolhapur - Panhala - Mhasai Platue! With 73600 Kms on odo, with more miles, more smiles our way!

Some pictures from the trip -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_0377.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20171124_153021408.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20171124_180000242.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20171124_172545282.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20171124_174341088.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_0426.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_0459effects.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_0452.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_0465.jpg

Ciao until next update!
abirnale is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th November 2017, 15:13   #487

Originally Posted by abirnale View Post
- The engine must last for 100K+ Kms. I will have not buy anything to replace this car at least in next 4-5 years.
Took the opportunity to drive to Kolhapur - Panhala - Mhasai Platue! With 73600 Kms on odo, with more miles, more smiles our way!
Well, with 3 years left you have 26k kms to cover

Just kidding; great to know your perspective considering the kids. Wish you all many safe miles with the XUV
selfdrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2017, 15:36   #488

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
Well, with 3 years left you have 26k kms to cover
He he he! How about moving the goal post? Let's say 150K kms? That will give me another 2-3 years and almost about another 75K kms. On a serious note though, the car and engine is absolutely as it was when new.. touchwood! At around 80K kms I may need to change brake-discs and pads, may be some work here and there and another set of tyres - as routine wear and tear. But rest all seems absolutely fine. I have made peace with some rattles and some I have fixed myself with a liner of foam tapes hiding behind the panels that were source of rattles! And these were mostly because I had fiddled with those stock fittings for dashcam, amp etc. The minor bruises and battle scars from Bangalore traffic will be taken care time to time. So all in all - 150K is absolutely doable.

Hence, move the goal post to 150K Kms
abirnale is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2017, 21:15   #489

Thanks for all the updates. I am in the market for a new car, torn between Hexa and XUV. I have a six year old daughter, and wanted to know if the kids enjoy the sunroof?
doxinboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2017, 14:33   #490

He he he! How about moving the goal post?

Hence, move the goal post to 150K Kms

Man, man ! I purchased the vehicle in July 2015 (reckon a month after you), and have only clocked circa 33,000 kms thus far- I really don't know how will I ever catch-up with you?

On a related note, your regular posts have been fodder to my brain- Being the lazy myself, I never bothered to pen down travelogues or ownership threads.

All the best again, with miles more to go- lets aim for 200k miles please !
jacobvarughese is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2017, 20:25   #491

Originally Posted by jacobvarughese View Post
All the best again, with miles more to go- lets aim for 200k miles please !
Thank you

Originally Posted by doxinboy View Post
I have a six year old daughter, and wanted to know if the kids enjoy the sunroof?
Sunroof is enjoyable for everyone regardless of age. *NOTE* definition of enjoyment is not popping your head out from sunroof while car is in motion! It's unsafe and there are stories of how people have lost their lives in such acts - includes a father who saw his daughter's blood on his lap and watch breathe her last. No second thought about this.

I enjoy sunroof - when its full moon night, when its evening drive, when i need breeze, when its cloudy and i need more light in cabin that isn't artificial, when its very hot and need to cool off fast on a sunny afternoon by letting the trapped hot air escape fast, when i hear and see the raindrops fall on roof - on the glass!

Sunroof is totally a matter of personal liking and choice. It's not necessity and can also be nuisance - a small stone can break the glass and make it open roof SUV or an over-enthusiastic idiotic bus passenger can spit his gutkha through your open sunroof on a busy traffick'ed city street

I hope I did not discourage or encourage you beyond what you expect!
Old 18th December 2017, 18:01   #492

Added functioning DRLs:
It was on my mind for long time to setup a properly functioning DRLs - aftermarket as M&M does not have any options. I need some bright lights (function over form is preferred) that are visible during the day and can dim like proper DRLs the moment headlights switched on. Thanks to TBHPian @KarhitkK - he had an unused and brand new set of Osram DRLs. With help from @SunnyBoi got these fitted! The power source was tapped from the engine bay fuse box. For dimming functions we used the FuseTap from the Low Beam lights - no cutting or splicing of the wires. The result is below -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-2.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-3.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-4.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-5.jpg

After a good wash:
After a long gap, spent the Sunday afternoon washing the car at home - the TLC shows up

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-6.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-7.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-8.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-9.jpg

Ciao until next update!
Old 20th December 2017, 22:55   #493

Added functioning DRLs:
It was on my mind for long time to setup a properly functioning DRLs - aftermarket as M&M does not have any options. I need some bright lights (function over form is preferred) that are visible during the day and can dim like proper DRLs the moment headlights switched on. Thanks to TBHPian @KarhitkK - he had an unused and brand new set of Osram DRLs. With help from @SunnyBoi got these fitted! The power source was tapped from the engine bay fuse box. For dimming functions we used the FuseTap from the Low Beam lights - no cutting or splicing of the wires. The result is below -

hey abirnale,

I would really appreciate if you can share a video of installation, pics which elaborate how you did it as I am also interested for same for my hunter(aka Xuv 500 w 10).

I also want to know if you have ever asked the M&M if they can change the present parking lights of S shape to DRL as being continuously on.

Last edited by navin : 21st December 2017 at 11:39.
singh.saab is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 10:33   #494

Originally Posted by singh.saab View Post
I would really appreciate if you can share a video of installation, pics which elaborate how you did it as I am also interested for same for my hunter(aka Xuv 500 w 10)
I unfortunately haven't recorded much pictures or videos. I will try to explain: What you need to procure is something like this - http://www.autotrends.in/osram-led-l...t-kit-drl.html There s video explaining the installation on this page. This thing comes with full kit as below -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-led1.jpg

You need to simply connect +/- terminals of the relay to battery and on the other side the DRLs. They come with nice connectors. And then hung them around where you want on the car bumper etc. It has additional cable ties, screws if you wanted to make them permanent etc. To be able to give it a dimming effect when lights come on - there is a additional input to relay box - that input needs to be connected to either fuse that powers your headlights or splice the headlight bulb wire itself and connect. That's all.

Originally Posted by singh.saab View Post
I also want to know if you have ever asked the M&M if they can change the present parking lights of S shape to DRL as being continuously on.
No - they wont be able to do this in current version for sure. To make them DRL, you would need a different controller/ relay setup which have to be custom made. And I would not want them to as those S shape light guides are not so bright to serve as DRL anyway.
abirnale is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2018, 11:49   #495

Got this message today on ICE when i parked car in office -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1515046544232.jpg

A quick check with manual and help from a fellow XUV Owner outside forum revealed an easy fix. See this -

Followed exact steps and now I have a new CR2032 button cell in the key fob. All it took was 10 mins including buying the cell from a nearby general stores!

Job well done and probably saved a trip to ASC as well as few bucks may be - five liters of more diesel to burn 😂

Ciao until next update!
abirnale is offline   (1) Thanks