Old 4th January 2018, 16:01   #496

re: Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km

I got this error message last week, and was clueless on how to proceed further.

Many thanks, Avinash, for your tidbits of wisdom !
jacobvarughese is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2018, 13:11   #497

76500Kms and counting!

Few pictures from an aimless wandering on Friday -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1516433961128.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1516433904298.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1516434002529.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1516433980380.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-1516433930518.jpg

Ciao until something more significant comes up!
abirnale is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th February 2018, 14:58   #498

re: Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km

A small update:

The odometer now reads 77,000 Kms

Over the last couple of weekends been to closeby places. Some pictures from those drives.

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180211_113956.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180211_114702.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180218_120000.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180218_124058.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180218_124223.jpg

Also, attended the 75 point free checkup camp - complained about the noise while pressing the clutch. Thought it was a spring on the pedal but turns out it was due to Clutch MC - lack of optimum pressure in the morning was causing that weird sound. There was no problem with the actual shifts or no judders, nothing. Guess what, Chrome Motors Mysore road happily sent it through warranty claim and I return home with ZERO payment.

Ciao until next update!
Old 17th April 2018, 13:07   #499

At around 79300 kms, symptoms of worn out clutch started - got it changed.

The usual summer vacations and our trips to beaches continued: pictures from the recent drives to Goa, Vengurla and some water bodies in Goa -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-alnavar.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-amona.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-sal.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-amothane1.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-amothane2.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-seabeach.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-vengurlaport.jpg

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-vengurla.jpg

The notable tidbits:
  • At vengurla, there is a newly started all - women mangrove safari rides. If you get the first morning boat safari ride, you will see a lot of birds! An amazing experience if you are in bird watching and do carry a DSLR!
  • After the Banastarim bridge, there is another newly laid road that leads into Sanquelim bypassing sesa factory and villages thereafter. This road goes through Virdi and its super narrow at the exit when you reach Sanquelim.
Hopefully in another week, Orange Cheetah will go for 80K Kms servicing. A complete checkup and a lot of preventive measures due.

Ciao until next update!
abirnale is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2018, 15:15   #500

80,000 Up!

The picture says it all!

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180421_180426.jpg

With a few minor things to inspect and action if needed, 80 K kms service will be done this week.
Old 7th May 2018, 21:31   #501

Delayed post about 80K service:

At Chrome Motors, Mysore Road, it was the most deserved break for car and me alike. Got all things checked and did below things:
- Engine Oil Change, Routine 80K service
- Various Filters change
- Replaced all brake pads (no warning yet but they were all almost to EOL)
- Also replaced the front discs

Total bill came to around 29K INR.

Before I started form home, I had added the engine oil flush and had bought 6 ltrs of synthetic engine oil from amazon - Motul 8100 X-cess 5W-40 API. The cost mentioned above is inclusive of this.

A quick visit to Madhu's for WA, WB including the AC recharging ensured all the necessary and good to have things covered too. Also spent weekend deep cleaning the wheels - a summary of cleaning below:

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-20180501_113100collage.jpg

A good wash and all suspension re-torqued, everything seems great with Orange Cheetah! With age and more miles, there are more and more smiles!

Last edited by abirnale : 7th May 2018 at 21:34.
abirnale is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th May 2018, 21:39   #502

Wandering around KRS Mysore, Summer Visit to Goa

Also used my bachelor weekend to stroll around KRS backwaters and nearby places without a definite plan. The day ended up in some great picturesque locations and result is below:

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180428_163915.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180428_164005.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180428_163854074.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180428_183135.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180428_180430.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180428_183813.jpg

Also, paid visit to Goa to get kids and spouse back in Bangalore for colder weather than hot and humid Goa. Clicked below pictures en-route:

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180505_081823.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180505_113928.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180505_114012.jpg
abirnale is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 28th May 2018, 10:03   #503

Odometer now reads 84500Kms!

It's been another great week on the road. We just been to Shirdi by road. Since the destination is on the same direction as our regular home ward destinations, we did few more detours to home, friends and family places too! On the way back to Bangalore, we happened to take a detour that went in around Haveri area and in the close proximity of the windmills. After a good rain showers, the views were beautiful. Pictures don't do justice to it.

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180525_130316.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180525_133752.jpg

A thorough wash and cleaning of wheels is must after rain drive:

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180527_121317.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-img_20180527_123221.jpg

Soon insurance renewal is due! Next update soon.
Old 3rd July 2018, 15:07   #504

Ownership tales of the Orange Cheetah - 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: 8...

86600kms on the odo and three years of satisfying ownership, orange cheetah is headed towards 100k kms mark, slow and steady!

The insurance is renewed with zero NCB. The provider is now changed from ICICI to HDFC ergo - primarily because ICICI experience in last claims wasn't great and HDFC had new customer acquisition bonus that kind of compensated for lost NCB. For an IDV if 11.81, b2b and zero dep with RSA and engine consumables, I paid approx 35K ₹.

The half yearly pollution check was completed too with a sweet surprise. I asked the operator at PUC booth to ensure my car has BSIV category. He did select right car model and now I have PUC for a year! Yay

During Eid weekend I happened to visit thekkady with my friends and a monsoon drive in Kerala. While everything was ordinary, our visit to windmill station near thekkady was out of the world experience. Let pictures do the talking -

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610476.502849.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610496.104142.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610518.064199.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610534.769492.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610560.927725.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610576.167204.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610591.759518.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1530610603.740352.jpg

Ciao, until next update!

Last edited by abirnale : 3rd July 2018 at 15:09.
abirnale is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th July 2018, 10:27   #505

Did a simple phone holder jugaad:

Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1532494407.206750.jpg
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-imageuploadedbyteambhp1532494426.856324.jpg

Bought a simple netted pouch from amazon and used the double sided 3M tape to hold it firmly. I already had a small OTG type C cable that was perfect for the phone to stay connected without getting in my way.

This now looks good as well as functionally perfect. Can be taken off in future if not needed. Can hold regular phones without an issue.

Now i can leave a cheap android phone in car, nicely tucked away and not worry about falling it. Happily continue to use my iPhoneX as primary use device.
Old 25th July 2018, 10:47   #506

Originally Posted by abirnale View Post
Did a simple phone holder jugaad:

Bought a simple netted pouch from amazon and used the double sided 3M tape to hold it firmly. I already had a small OTG type C cable that was perfect for the phone to stay connected without getting in my way.

This now looks good as well as functionally perfect. Can be taken off in future if not needed. Can hold regular phones without an issue.

Now i can leave a cheap android phone in car, nicely tucked away and not worry about falling it. Happily continue to use my iPhoneX as primary use device.
Just wondering why did you need that pouch when you had one just below it
Old 25th July 2018, 12:01   #507

Originally Posted by Repsol View Post
Just wondering why did you need that pouch when you had one just below it
Sorry, missed to mention the rationale itself :(

Most OTG cables come in either 1ft or 3ft lengths. The lower net pocket is not reachable from the USB port with 1ft cable and 3ft is too long. The longer cable stays there dangling either into driver side footwell or around gear stick. When i have to put another phone for charge, its more messy. Hence thought of adding a small pouch or holder that is perfect for short length OTG usb type C cable to server AAuto need.

Hope this helps.
Old 19th August 2018, 20:02   #508

There is more light!

I now have the Morimoto HID kit (https://www.theretrofitsource.com/h7...C47335%2C48753 35W, 4500K, with relay and capacitor Link). Raghu also gave his existing low beam 2Stroke LEDs (https://www.theretrofitsource.com/h7...o-2stroke.html). Yesterday as DIY, successfully fitted both the lights. Now Cheetah has HIDs in low beam and LEDs in high beam.

Points to note -
- HID fitting is easy if you follow the install guide.
- The most difficult part is accessing the bulb, removing bulb holder clip and fitting things back. The HID ballasts and relays needs to be strategically placed inside the engine bay and harness need to go through the original dust caps - a small hole is needed. All required things to make it dust proof are part of kit. If you want to revert to original stock halogens, you will need new dust caps for low beam.
- For LEDs in high beam, you need to fit the dummy H7 base spacer with original bulb holder clip and then lock in the LED on it. The entire light, assembly and wiring harness stays inside the headlight. And the original dust cap fits plush. No cutting and splicing.

IMPORTANT NOTE - In my 2G XUV, the shadow lines problem stays unsolved. Even morimoto bulbs cant help - its a projector design issue and not bulb.

Conclusion
1. The HIDs are the best way to enhance lighting without getting into any cutting splicing and warranty claim issues. Thats the real usable light. Does not dazzle oncoming vehicles if used in projectors.
2. The 2 stroke LEDs in low beam aren't as effective as HIDs.
3. Even for the high beam, LEDs are not as effective as stock halogens from the throw perspective. I have LEDs now for a few weeks to try. For sure it dazzles the oncoming traffic more than stock halogen. A good night bully weapon. Since HIDs do better job, I wouldn't need high beams at all - bully weapon for now works.

And to sum it up - few pictures and video from dashcam.

Low beam with just HIDs
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-lowbeamhid.jpg

High beam with LEDs
Ownership tales of Orange Cheetah, my 2015 Mahindra XUV5OO W10 FWD. EDIT: Sold after 150,000 km-highbeamled.jpg

Update after two weeks:
As I mentioned, the LEDs are pretty much useless to be called as usable light. Hence after two weeks I have now restored the high beam to stock H7 halogens.
abirnale is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2018, 20:23   #509

Hi Avinash,

Great thread you have here.

Ravi here from Bangalore. I am in the process of upgrade of my XUV500 (2014 F2 AWD) tyres and lights. Have some questions on the same. Appreciate if you could guide me on the same.

Last edited by moralfibre : 19th August 2018 at 20:39. Reason: Please do not share your personal contact information on publicly visible posts.
rave20 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2018, 20:34   #510

Originally Posted by rave20 View Post
I am in the process of upgrade of my XUV500 (2014 F2 AWD) tyres and lights.
Thanks Ravi. Just post your questions here so many including me can respond. But if not, do drop a PM. Happy to help in anyway I can.
abirnale is offline   (1) Thanks