Old 4th February 2017, 19:36   #631

Re: BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

Originally Posted by netchef View Post
Gents,
Thanks for all the advice.

I did take my car to an 'independent' to have the AC fixed, and I'm due to collect it later in the evening. By the way, his diagnosis was spot on and matched what Navnit motors said: the clutch on the Compressor had packed up. (I'll report in detail perhaps after a week or fortnight: if I'm happy with the job, I'll post his coordinates here so other German drivers in Bangalore have an optional Doctor at hand.)

This guy has fixed it for Rs 16,000/ but I've yet to see how effective the repair is and how long it lasts. In any case it was NOT the absolute murder that Navnit quoted.
Any feedback yet on the job? If you are satisfied, would be great if you could share the coordinates.
Also, my X1 is due for a front brake pads replacement (CBS shows another 1200km). Should I take it to Navnit or do we have alternate places?
Old 4th February 2017, 22:46   #632

Originally Posted by dinu2506 View Post
Any feedback yet on the job? If you are satisfied, would be great if you could share the coordinates.
Also, my X1 is due for a front brake pads replacement (CBS shows another 1200km). Should I take it to Navnit or do we have alternate places?
The Bosch company operated outlet in Electronic City might be an intermediate option between Navnit and a specialist FNG.

Here's the link to a thread where someone recently took an MB there for service and was quite pleased

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...bangalore.html
BackInTheFold is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th February 2017, 15:07   #633

Here goes:

UPDATE/1 WEEK/AC REPAIR

Gents/Dinu,

I waited a week intentionally to give the job a chance to prove its stuff and hopefully not fail. Since the AC is working flawlessly, here's my report and the coordinates of the more-than-amenable mechanic:

Most of you would have read by now of the failure of the AC on my 2012 BMW F10, and the subsequent 'shock quote' from Navnit (not really such a shock as we have all heard stories of their legendary pricing on spares and repair work).

Anyway, this 'off-the-grid' humble mechanic called Tarooq came to the rescue.

How to get there:
Landmarks are the Manyata Tech Park on the Outer Ring Road and the BEL Corporate Office. Cool Tech AC is located on the service road (I might have got the name of the garage slightly wrong, but it starts with Cool for sure).
It's no bigger than a two-car garage and opens right onto the service road.

What was done and how much it cost:
Navnit had said the clutch on the compressor wasn't working but they weren't allowed to replace just the clutch.
What Tarooq did was extract the clutch (I think it's a magnetic affair) from a used compressor, and attach it to my car. I speculate that outfits such as this obtain used spares from the main dealers, and then scavenge what's usable off them.

Please note: it was a used part and NOT new.
He charged me Rs 16,000 for the part and his labour.

Tarooq: 9886 186247

Please use my name as reference. He's a decent bloke and the more business we send his way, the higher the probability he'll stay fluid and ready to keep more of our vehicles purring.
netchef is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th February 2017, 15:23   #634

Originally Posted by netchef View Post
Here goes:

UPDATE/1 WEEK/AC REPAIR

Gents/Dinu,

I waited a week intentionally to give the job a chance to prove its stuff and hopefully not fail. Since the AC is working flawlessly, here's my report and the coordinates of the more-than-amenable mechanic:
Ok, good to know. I'm assuming this person is an AC specialist, so may not be doing other mechanical work like brake pads. Am I right?
Old 9th February 2017, 11:47   #635

Ok, good to know. I'm assuming this person is an AC specialist, so may not be doing other mechanical work like brake pads. Am I right?
Yes Dinu2506,
as far as I could tell he does ACs and nothing but ACs. Good luck.
netchef is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2017, 04:39   #636

Does it make sense to get a 530d in 2017 specially when the next generation 5 series launch is just round the corner in May thereabouts?

I rode the BMW GT, E350, superb and the XF but loved the engaging drive that the 530d offers.

There are good deals available on the new 5 series so what say gentlemen.
Old 26th February 2017, 09:49   #637

Does it make sense to get a 530d in 2017
It all depends on your budget. Last I heard, 5 series are discounted about 7-10 lac, maybe this will increase further depending on variants left. Given the way newer cars are priced over preceding models here, I expect new 530 to start around 65 so if you are getting existing 530 at around 50 Lac it will be entirely a commercial decision. Someone who is buying a car in this segment for the first time, it can be a nice upgrade with many gadgets like Digital display, Head-up Display apart from the awesome 6 cylinder engine but someone who already has similar stuff will surely like to wait and pick the newer one. If it's primarily being bought for self-drive and due to the engine, I will suggest to negotiate and pick existing one. I am not aware of the difference in the way newer one will drive over the old but again that will depend on entirely what you drive now and what are your expectations from this purchase.

You can search some comparisons till new one lands up here, either way, it's a great drivers car and easily most practical fun to drive 4 door sports car for driving conditions in India.

http://www.motor1.com/news/134200/bm...10-comparison/

Last edited by Turbanator : 26th February 2017 at 09:58.
Turbanator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th February 2017, 11:29   #638

Originally Posted by raj981 View Post
Does it make sense to get a 530d in 2017 specially when the next generation 5 series launch is just round the corner in May thereabouts?

I rode the BMW GT, E350, superb and the XF but loved the engaging drive that the 530d offers.

There are good deals available on the new 5 series so what say gentlemen.
While finalising my 320d purchase recently, I did enquire about the 530d also. The discounts quoted were approximately 7 lakhs, which was way lesser than 520d/i on which there were discounts of almost 12 lakhs till recently making the on road price cheaper than the ex-showroom price.

So, as per my understanding at the moment 530d is available at approximately 65 lakhs in NCR.
Strella is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2017, 12:19   #639

So finally decided to remap my E60 530d Highline after 7 years & 22000 kms on the odometer. Got the remap from Pete's & it's now close to 600NM & 280 + bhp. The transformation is unbelievable.In DS ithe torque is neck snapping & its feels like a different beast all together. Even in D mode it's a good shove in the backside which puts a big smile on one's face.Wish I had done it earlier. Was thinking on upgrading to the upcoming 530d but looks like I'll be sticking with this one.

Done only 22000 km so far in 7 years with the only upgrades being having the navigation professional upgrade & installing a tune2air WMA 3000b Bluetooth adapter for music streaming. The remap truly brings a new meaning to the word joy. Some satisfying pictures after The polishing job done at home. Now looking to change the Dunlop RFT's with non RFT's Michelin PS3 all around for a softer ride.

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-imageuploadedbyteambhp1488091556.600696.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-imageuploadedbyteambhp1488091581.031867.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-imageuploadedbyteambhp1488091597.757607.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-imageuploadedbyteambhp1488091630.218637.jpg

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 27th February 2017 at 09:58. Reason: Clubbing sentences into paras + spacing = better readability. Thanks!
Sandeepm777 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 09:52   #640

Originally Posted by Strella View Post
So, as per my understanding at the moment 530d is available at approximately 65 lakhs in NCR.
It's available for 69 lacs on road Mumbai with a couple of freebies thrown in on accessories front and the four year warranty and service package offered in that price.

I'm leaving for the US tonight so I guess it will be best to try out the newer edition there once before taking the plunge.

Rajesh
raj981 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 12:36   #641

I don't like the looks of the next-gen 5-Series; equally, I think that the F10 is among the best modern BMW designs. Thus, my choice would be the F10, similar to how I picked the 1st-gen City even after the 2nd-gen (Dolphin shape) was on sale.

Suggestion: Instead of spending close to 70 lakhs on a new 530d, why not pick up an almost new one like this car (belongs to a BHPian)? These usually go for 50 lakhs or in the whereabouts. IIRC, this example also has BSI for 5 years. On Carwale, you'll see some more cars, including one with <7,000 km (link)!!!

Keeping in mind how overpriced they are when new, I would strongly recommend a 'like new' example for 40 - 50 lakhs. You get extended warranties for 6 years, so what's your risk? Zero.

Originally Posted by Sandeepm777 View Post
Got the remap from Pete's & it's now close to 600NM & 280 + bhp.
Hahaha! Awesome man. How much for the remap?
Old 27th February 2017, 14:12   #642

29K for the Remap, seems like a bargain!

Last edited by Rehaan : 28th February 2017 at 11:37. Reason: Please use spaces after punctuation marks.
Sandeepm777 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 19:53   #643

On Carwale, you'll see some more cars, including one with <7,000 km (link)!!!
Saw the ad. At 55 L seems sweet. I'm on the flight to Boston currently and have asked my cousin to start the dialogue and offer a fair number. The only thing that doesn't seem right is that it was a demo car and has run 6500 kms. Can it still be unregistered???

Keeping in mind how overpriced they are when new, I would strongly recommend a 'like new' example for 40 - 50 lakhs. You get extended warranties for 6 years, so what's your risk? Zero.
Couldn't agree more chief !!! Thought at 12 lac off I was getting a good deal but near abouts 50L with less than 6500 miles is any day better.
Old 27th February 2017, 20:17   #644

Saw the ad. At 55 L seems sweet. I'm on the flight to Boston currently and have asked my cousin to start the dialogue and offer a fair number. The only thing that doesn't seem right is that it was a demo car and has run 6500 kms. Can it still be unregistered???
Yes the demo car will still be unregistered. You may get it a bit cheaper than a new 530d. But remember for those 6500kms its been really pushed. Also if you want to buy a service package, it is valid from the date of PDI of the car, so you lose out a year on that.

Honestly what is a better deal is the car the tbhp member is selling which was posted above. Its already registered, and has the 5 year BSI (which is worth a fair bit). Also since its a bhpians car you know its been driven well.

If I were in the market for a 530d it would be this without a second thought.
Akshay1234 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 20:58   #645

It's available for 69 lacs on road Mumbai with a couple of freebies thrown in on accessories front and the four year warranty and service package offered in that price.
69 lac's for the brand new one, Or 2-3 lacs more less for their demo car's.

I don't like the looks of the next-gen 5-Series; equally, I think that the F10 is among the best modern BMW designs. Thus, my choice would be the F10, similar to how I picked the 1st-gen City even after the 2nd-gen (Dolphin shape) was on sale.
Ditto, I too don't like the look of the next gen 5, Its not that i hate it but keep an F10 next to it, And ill happily pick the F10.

Suggestion: Instead of spending close to 70 lakhs on a new 530d, why not pick up an almost new one like this car (belongs to a BHPian)? These usually go for 50 lakhs or in the whereabouts. IIRC, this example also has BSI for 5 years. On Carwale, you'll see some more cars,
I am looking for the same! Just called Amit today (Quick car) And told him i need a 530d, He said i missed a lovely almost new one by a couple of days only, Went for 45 lac's, I am waiting for him to buzz me with a happy news probably.

including one with <7,000 km
Unfortunately, This one is unregistered, So 54 + 8-9 lac's for Mumbai Registration.

Its unregistered.

Ill probably be going tomorrow to check out couple of 530d's, Lets see how it goes.
Tanveer_2558 is offline   (1) Thanks