Old 15th March 2017, 08:44   #661

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

Originally Posted by petrolveins View Post

I should be in the market (hopefully) by the time its facelift comes, probably in 2 years and I can see this car ironing its first feedback cycle for the Indian market by that time.

Agreed, I would also wait a couple of years for them to iron out the niggles specific to our market. The only draw back of this is the inflationary cost that would go up and once the German manufacturers start to discount the pricing then their cars start to loose some features. I have noticed this with most of their cars. For example the initial C 200 that was the launch edition had so many more features that the current C 200 has.

Liked the Khan comparison though. Ha ha.

Last edited by Arjun Reddy : 15th March 2017 at 08:46.
Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2017, 09:24   #662

Re: BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

you own a Mercedes but you live a BMW
I wouldn't agree to that.

Some people (a small % like us) enjoy the driving experience; to others (a majority), they'd enjoy the space, luxury & features more. Even when they're driving themselves, they would prefer a light steering & soft ride. The typical 50 year old millionaire / corporate head honcho doesn't care about revv-happiness or brute acceleration as much as he does about legroom and the sense of occasion that the E350 offers.

Automotive pleasure means different things to different folk, and the new E-Class will impress far more people in our market than any competitor. It has moved the goalpost.
GTO is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 16th March 2017, 14:37   #663

White walled tyres??

Does anyone have any information if any of the established tyre companies make white walled tyres for a BMW 525D F10?
I've always been partial to them but have not heard of any being sold anywhere!

Perhaps the Chinese/Koreans sell white walled tyres, but I wouldn't risk going with those brands: what would interest me would be something from the illustrious DNA of a Pirelli or Michelin or Dunlop, with the added aesthetic.
Old 17th March 2017, 12:10   #664

Originally Posted by netchef View Post
White walled tyres?
Please reconsider - white walled tyres will look terrible on the 530d. In fact, they don't suit any modern automobile.

It'll anyway be impossible to source them, considering that even tubeless tyres are hard to come by in the 275 / 245 sizes.
Old 17th March 2017, 18:20   #665

White walled tyres
I completely agree with GTO in saying that white walled tyres would look completely out of place on a BMW, and that it would be extremely difficult to source them in the required (or any size for that matter) size.

However, if you are seriously inclined, you can read the following thread and see if you want to go ahead with aftermarket white wall inserts.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...utorunner.html

If you are okay with such a modification, try contacting the vendor and request for a set matching your requirements.
dailydriver is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2017, 10:41   #666

GTO, one of my friends is planning to pick up a 530d with good discounts. Is it a good idea to pick up with the new round the corner?
Old 27th March 2017, 09:36   #667

Originally Posted by sriramv.iyer View Post
GTO, one of my friends is planning to pick up a 530d with good discounts. Is it a good idea to pick up with the new round the corner?
If he really likes the classic styling, go for the F10 (but pre-owned). If not, the new car as it will offer a lot more.

Frankly, it doesn't make sense to buy a brand new 530d - it's overpriced & on the verge of being phased out. I'd suggest getting a 1 - 2 year old car with warranty for 40 - 50 lakhs.

If your friend wants to go the brand new route only, then it's better he waits for the next-generation to be launched.
GTO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th March 2017, 10:27   #668

If he really likes the classic styling, go for the F10 (but pre-owned). If not, the new car as it will offer a lot more.

Frankly, it doesn't make sense to buy a brand new 530d - it's overpriced & on the verge of being phased out. I'd suggest getting a 1 - 2 year old car with warranty for 40 - 50 lakhs.

If your friend wants to go the brand new route only, then it's better he waits for the next-generation to be launched.
Thanks a lot GTO! He was tempted by close to 15L discount. It makes sense to wait for the new model.
Old 27th March 2017, 11:44   #669

He was tempted by close to 15L discount.
As previously suggested, it will depend on what your friend is driving at present and what's his budget besides how much can he wait. 15 Lac is a good discount, don't expect anything substantial on the new one immediately but given the way BMW prices here, newer 530-D will also go discounting route, I expect this to happen around the end of this year or early next year.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 10:42   #670

If any North India BHPians are looking out for a 530d, this seems like a great car. 25,000 km means it's as good as new. 2012 = most of the initial niggles sorted out. 25 - 26 lakhs would be a fair price. Belongs to a BHPian - link to ownership report.

Link to Team-BHP Classifieds
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-picture_211084.jpg
GTO is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 8th May 2017, 11:51   #671

I've a question about something on my 2012 525D dash that has puzzled me ever since I got her:
Bang in the middle between the rev counter and the speedo is a string of 3-4 digital readouts. Perhaps one is the trip meter. One of them with a fuel pump icon beside it constantly reads 9.0 Km/l.

My question is should this not be a dynamic figure? Why is it constant? For example, when I drive on the highway, I would expect it to climb to 12-14 Km/l.
What sense does it make if it is frozen at a constant setting...or am I missing some Bavarian logic?
Old 8th May 2017, 14:16   #672

I've a question about something on my 2012 525D dash that has puzzled me ever since I got her:
Bang in the middle between the rev counter and the speedo is a string of 3-4 digital readouts. Perhaps one is the trip meter. One of them with a fuel pump icon beside it constantly reads 9.0 Km/l.

My question is should this not be a dynamic figure? Why is it constant? For example, when I drive on the highway, I would expect it to climb to 12-14 Km/l.
What sense does it make if it is frozen at a constant setting...or am I missing some Bavarian logic?
It's the long term average - won't change with a short highway run
abhi182 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th May 2017, 16:09   #673

Originally Posted by abhi182 View Post
It's the long term average - won't change with a short highway run

Ok thanks. i think I once spied it reading 14 km/l on a drive to Chennai, but other than that instance, I've never seen it vary.
Of course, I do understand you can't have it changing constantly or it would fluctuate 100 times on a short run within the city.
Old 8th May 2017, 16:39   #674

My question is should this not be a dynamic figure?
Most cars now show:
1. average FE since explicit reset (or battery disconnect)
2. average FE for the current trip (which ends anytime car is stopped for longer than 2 hours)
3. real time FE indicator

In this car (F10): real time FE indicator is shown as part of "efficient dynamics" in RPM/tachometer.
Current trip value is in iDrive screen (journey computer)
FE since reset is on the instrument cluster.
androdev is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th May 2017, 21:33   #675

Slightly

Finally Ivdid a worthy upgrade from my 530d.

E92 BMW M3
(with lots of Carbon fiber parts and some performance upgrades)

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img_2406.jpg
Borla ATAK exhausts, CF Diffusers

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img_2506.jpg
CF roof, front lip, mirrors.

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img_2499-1.jpg
Stock wheels as of now with staggered setup.

Last edited by mikon : 8th May 2017 at 21:44. Reason: Details added
mikon is offline   (12) Thanks