If you finally decide to get this
Originally Posted by dhruvritzed View Post
at max this car is worth 11-12 lacs
Might be worth a look if you get it for a good price.
The owner has decided not to part with the car. Thanks everyone for your response. Maybe I will increase my budget to 20-23 Lakhs and look for a F10 530d Msport or the F30 320d LCI.
Old 2nd February 2018, 09:07   #857

Re: BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

Considering many people come to this thread for F10 advice, sharing a link of a monster in case someone is interested and has the budget.

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-dz832tp_1280234_1_9918940.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-m3qfunr_1280234_1_9918941.jpg

Link to ad
GTO is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2018, 09:39   #858

Considering many people come to this thread for F10 advice, sharing a link of a monster in case someone is interested and has the budget.

Attachment 1723146

Attachment 1723147

Link to ad
Asking price is too high for something that's been given the beans for almost 60000kms with multiple brake pads blown and probably a suspension change too and with 2 owners. Remember this car was 98 Lacs ex showroom in 2012.
dhruvritzed is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2018, 09:48   #859

That's my dream car right there, a car that will wipe decades off my age and make me feel young again. Now, if only I had the ₹₹

But seriously, on the face of it a 5 year old M5 that's run 57K kms with 2 owners may be asking for trouble. I don't know but it makes me feel uneasy.
R2D2 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2018, 13:07   #860

Attachment 1723146

Attachment 1723147

Link to ad
I know the guy selling this car quite well. If someone is seriously interested PM will get you in touch.
Sahil is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 10:00   #861

Originally Posted by dhruvritzed View Post
Asking price is too high
The asking price for big engined, niche cars should only be seen as a 'suggestion'. They are hugely bargainable. There have been M3s & M5s on sale for 1.5 - 2 years, with frequent price cuts and no buyers.

Just wondering though where one would enjoy an M5 as I find the 530d to be too fast for Indian roads. Even today, given the choice between a 5 year old M5 & 1.5 year old 530d, I'd pick the latter any which day.

Copying my post from the M5 review:
I must add that it's sibling - the 530d - is quite a sedan in its own right. A more practical car, that 6-cylinder diesel also has more power than you'll ever know what to do with (in India) and sips the cheaper fuel too! It's priced 1/2 as much and will be as quick in any point A -> point B drive in India, including expressways.
Our friend Clarkson made a similar statement on Top Gear about the F10 M5 & 530d.
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 11:01   #862

Last months ACI has an article on "Buying a pre owned M5" aptly titled "Heaven and Hell". The car under review was available for 25-30 lakhs albeit the 2005 E60 M5 with S85 engined V10. What was interesting was the advice on the pluses and minuses of buying such a car.

Quoting from the article - "Owner's tearing their hair out in frustration is just Level One. Then there's Level Two and Level Three and that's what gets people to cut their losses and sell their cars."

As he adds: "Locating a workshop that has successfully handled an M5 before is an important prerequisite. Successfully being the operative word. Or else it would empty your wallet in a flash."

Buying an M5 on a budget needs serious thought - there's no doubt that 25 lakhs for an M5 sounds just too good - heck it's even less than some variants of the Octavia!

Just be prepared for Heaven and Hell.

Last edited by AMG Power : 3rd February 2018 at 11:04.
AMG Power is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 4th February 2018, 21:15   #863

Originally Posted by AMG Power View Post
The car under review was available for 25-30 lakhs albeit the 2005 E60 M5 with S85 engined V10.
Can't recommend that car at all. Among other things, its gearbox was a nightmare. There's an E60 M5 that's been on sale in Mumbai since 3 years, and yet no buyers!

In other news, a cat has ripped apart my car cover at the front & back. Will get it stitched up.
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-20180203-20.34.26.jpg
GTO is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 13th February 2018, 02:53   #864

This sure is going to make you happy GTO

Jeremy clarkson reviewing the new Audi A8
https://www.driving.co.uk/car-review...i-s8-plus/amp/

“I still maintain, though, that no one who buys a vehicle of this type is that interested in cars. It’d be like going on a cruise liner because you enjoy sailing. If you do enjoy driving and you want a big car, get a BMW 530d. If you just want somewhere nice to sit after a hard day in the office, the Audi’s fine.”
extreme_torque is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 13th February 2018, 08:22   #865

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
This sure is going to make you happy GTO

Jeremy clarkson reviewing the new Audi A8
https://www.driving.co.uk/car-review...i-s8-plus/amp/

“I still maintain, though, that no one who buys a vehicle of this type is that interested in cars. It’d be like going on a cruise liner because you enjoy sailing. If you do enjoy driving and you want a big car, get a BMW 530d. If you just want somewhere nice to sit after a hard day in the office, the Audi’s fine.”
OT: I was looking for the reference to 530d and then realised that the link indeed was of 2016 Audi S8; not that it made any difference

https://www.driving.co.uk/car-review...-2018-audi-a8/
vb-saan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th February 2018, 10:33   #866

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
If you do enjoy driving and you want a big car, get a BMW 530d. If you just want somewhere nice to sit after a hard day in the office, the Audi’s fine.
Clarkson appears to be a big fan of the 530d. I remember when they were discussing the F10 M5, he said that the 530d has gotten so good that it makes a lot more sense than an M5.
GTO is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th February 2018, 13:17   #867

In other news, a cat has ripped apart my car cover at the front & back. Will get it stitched up.
Was the cat searching for a rat?! do check if some enemy infiltration has happened or not
Jaggu is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2018, 13:14   #868

Originally Posted by v&v View Post
They are now selling this through their dealership. Costs Rs 950/- per bottle. I am trying this in my X1.

Attachment 1484054
I was never informed about adding an additive to diesel at the time of purchase of my X1 last year. The SA informed me it is advisable to use as diesel quality here is not that good. Better pick up, vehicle functioning etc. What are the pros and cons of using this? How often should one use diesel additives ? and can i buy after market additives instead of from the dealership ? Any info would be highly appreciated.

Thanks !
Old 15th February 2018, 14:39   #869

Better pick up, vehicle functioning etc.
Have used certain times, too hard to tell. But I don't keep most of the cars too long so cannot comment on any longterm gain. No harm in using occasionally, say after every 2 or 3 Tank fulls.

and can i buy after market additives instead of from the dealership ?

Better avoid and stick with their product unless some have a definite first-hand experience otherwise.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2018, 14:57   #870

Originally Posted by aypatel View Post
I was never informed about adding an additive to diesel at the time of purchase of my X1 last year.
If anyone feels any difference from a fuel additive, it is perhaps the best example of the 'placebo effect'.

I have never used any additives in my German / any cars. Pure, unadulterated diesel is the best diet you can put her on. Find & stick to a good pump (preferably company-owned & company-operated).
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks