Old 5th April 2018, 12:27   #886

Re: BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

You know how some cars will 'upshift' in the middle of a corner and make you lose your balance (even in M mode)? The 530d doesn't
Nice feature, from the S60 Polestar review I understand that it also has this.

BTW, with DSG, this happens only in D. In M and S, it does not upshift mid-corner.
anandpadhye is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th April 2018, 22:02   #887

My BMW 530D M-Sport (F10) has done 27000 Kms. One of the issues that i am facing is a humming sound on slow speeds. I have recently replaced the tyres and yet this sound continues. Even on high speeds it seems that the decibel of the overall drive has increased. This was not the case 10000 Kms ago. Any one else face similar issues?
Old 8th April 2018, 22:29   #888

Originally Posted by ashishkashyap View Post
My BMW 530D M-Sport (F10) has done 27000 Kms. One of the issues that i am facing is a humming sound on slow speeds. I have recently replaced the tyres and yet this sound continues. Even on high speeds it seems that the decibel of the overall drive has increased. This was not the case 10000 Kms ago. Any one else face similar issues?
It could possibly be your engine mounts wearing out. It would make sense to get those checked. Does your car also shake more while shutting down and starting up?
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2018, 22:36   #889

Thanks for sharing. No. It does not shake while starting up or shutting down.
Old 9th April 2018, 12:41   #890

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Mahabaleshwar! Hands were itching to steer on the highway, so went out for this 700 km round-trip. The car indeed makes every road-trip a memorable one. Beautiful performance matched with sensible practicality.

Despite the stupid spare tyre placement, the boot can still take a fair amount of luggage in:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-1.jpg

If you're a car guy, automotive merchandise inevitably finds its way into your life:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-1b.jpg

Weekday afternoon = emptier roads. What tarmac to push the car on. This is the one-way ghat section before the Wai turn:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-2.jpg

ZF gearbox allows aggressive downshifts for engine braking, even when the resultant revs go a little over 4,500 rpm in a diesel! In comparison, Mercedes' conversative boxes won't allow one even at 3,500 rpm:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-3-edited.jpg

The roads are simply fantastic! Took slightly over 4 hours to get there, despite some traffic in Pune city:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-3b.jpg

Weird! First time ever I saw the temp needle go over the 100 degree mark. This was while climbing up the mountain to Panchgani. It was blazing hot outside and I was redlining a fair bit:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-4.jpg

Found this place on Airbnb and cannot recommend it enough. If you visit Mahabaleshwar-Panchgani, be sure to stay at Dala Rooster. A professionally managed bungalow, excellent support staff (cook + help), convenient location, clean facilities & very spacious:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-5-edited.jpg

All rooms with a view:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-6.jpg

In the glass dining house:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-7.jpg

Breakfast for a king (prepared by their support staff)!
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-8.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-9.jpg

You know you love your car when you catch a glimpse of it from your bedroom window :
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-10.jpg

Did the usual Mahabaleshwar-Panchgani things like Hirakani corn pattice + strawberry ice-cream:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-11.jpg

Times change, friends don't. This is at the same spot from a Moderator drive back in 2004! Team-BHP was a baby then. That's Aditya - Stratos - F50 - Rehaan - Rudra:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img_1577.jpg

Boating in the scenic Venna lake:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-12.jpg

Juicy strawberries:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-13.jpg

Experiencing horsepower of a different kind:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-14.jpg

Got a guy to wash the car while we were boating:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-14b-edited.jpg

Safe parking everywhere:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-14c.jpg

Silly games:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-15.jpg

Mind-blowing frankie (corn + cheese + green chillies) at the famous Cream Corner. It's amazing how this place had no empty chairs, while the 10 joints around it were only 10% occupied:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-16.jpg

Table Land:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-17-edited.jpg

No petrolhead will miss a chance to drive gokarts at this superb track (although the karts are slow):
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-18.jpg

Let's go bare feet (I prefer to, even on highway drives to get a 'feel' of the car - related thread):
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-20.jpg

The market. Also give your sweet tooth a treat at Elsie's:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-21.jpg

Talk about beating the Bombay heat! It actually rained on our final night there:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-22.jpg

Spotted a smart Safari with a Team-BHP sticker...
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-23-edit.jpg

...and met its owner, BHPian Joshuakeys:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-24.jpg

Finally, Mahabaleshwar gets a proper fuel pump. I remember the earlier days when we used to drive down to Wai to get 'clean' petrol / diesel:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-25.jpg

The only parts of Mahabaleshwar where the fat girl got uncomfortable - those narrow inside lanes:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-26.jpg

Other Points:

• There is a lot of research that suggests dawn & dusk are dangerous times due to the funny light conditions. The 530d's auto-headlamps automatically switch the headlamps on in the evening, even if its 6 pm & very bright. The car apparently uses the onboard clock for this. Again, it's these little things that impress with ze Germans.

• She'll now be going in for her annual service very soon. I believe this is going to be a major one (includes brake pad change).

Originally Posted by avdhesh15 View Post
Spotted your car on the expressway few minutes back. Your car looks in great condition
Thanks! Was on the way to Panchgani.

One of the issues that i am facing is a humming sound on slow speeds.
Wheel bearings?

Last edited by GTO : 9th April 2018 at 13:01.
GTO is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 14th April 2018, 13:05   #891

Hi GTO,
Happy to see pics of your trip, and learn how 530d performed. I notice that you have changed from RFT tires, Which ones are you using? How much do these cost? I am considering buying a 530d (F10). My post to BHPians with few questions follows.

I have owned BMWs for over a decade. 535xi in US, and 320d (E90) in India. Love to drive these.
Experience of owning in India, and service from BMW dealers (Pune, Mumbai & Goa) has been satisfactory.

Having read GTO's excellent review of 530d M starting 2015, I am thinking of acquiring a pre-owned 530d (F10). My sub-20 Lac budget will fetch me 2010, at most 2011 model. I have few specific questions. Will appreciate responses from BHPians, specially from GTO. Thanking all of you in advance.
1. I know 2010 was 1st year for F10, and model may not have been "settled". But, what are known problems in early 530d F10s?
2. To assess if 530d will fit in my parking spot, will appreciate response to - a. Is external size of all F10s the same , or 530d is larger?; b. do all F10s have turning radius of 6m, or only 530d has 6m?
3. I know that many owners don't like Run Flat Tires. Well, I like them, regardless of these being expensive, and ride is hard.
Question is - what is price of Continental stock RFTs on 530d - front (245/40/18/97Y/XL), rear (275)? Are tires easily available?
4. Not many F10, 530d were sold in India. Do we have to wait for parts?
5. amongst many websites to decode VIN, which ones are reliable? I do see few differences in decoded VINs from websites.
6. How does 530d behave / drive in city traffic?
7. How to obtain insurance claim history of pre-owned car?
Thanks in advance once again for taking time to respond.

Viva

Last edited by GTO : 15th April 2018 at 22:06. Reason: Too many typos - please PROOF-READ your posts before submitting it
viva is offline   Received Infraction
Old 15th April 2018, 20:56   #892

Originally Posted by viva View Post
I notice that you have changed from RFT tires, Which ones are you using?
Nope, still on runflats as I wasn't able to source the rear 275s locally (plenty of options available for the front 245s though).

I know 2010 was 1st year for F10, and model may not have been "settled". But, what are known problems in early 530d F10s?
I've heard of early ZF gearboxes going kaput and giving up in the middle of nowhere.

Damage due to lesser ground clearance.

Nothing much otherwise. It's a solidly engineered car.

Is external size of all F10s the same , or 530d is larger?; b. do all F10s have turning radius of 6m, or only 530d has 6m?
Same.

what is price of Continental stock RFTs on 530d
Little over a lakh for the staggered setup.

Not many F10, 530d were sold in India. Do we have to wait for parts?
Haven't had to wait for any parts, but haven't had any failures either. This engine + transmission is shared with other models and is very popular worldwide, so I don't see any issues in part sourcing.

How does 530d behave / drive in city traffic?
Beautifully, except for the size which you have to get used to.

Last edited by GTO : 15th April 2018 at 22:03.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th April 2018, 22:57   #893

GTO- Speak to Saifee to source the tyres. He managed to get me RS5 size of 265/35R19 Michelin PS that are very rare. I was on the verge of getting them from tirerack.com but he got them cheaper in barely a weeks time.
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th April 2018, 23:51   #894

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
GTO- Speak to Saifee to source the tyres. He managed to get me RS5 size of 265/35R19 Michelin PS that are very rare. I was on the verge of getting them from tirerack.com but he got them cheaper in barely a weeks time.
Spoke to him couple of weeks back, Apparently he gave his best shot for the 275/40/18 (I had asked for P Zero or Super sports) but he could not source them & he also seemed reluctant to import them for some reason, Only thing he offered was the stock Conti RFT's that too at almost the same price BMW sells.

After thinking long about it, I maybe ill simply swap the tyres at BMW too.
Tanveer_2558 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th April 2018, 09:47   #895

Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
Apparently he gave his best shot for the 275/40/18 (I had asked for P Zero or Super sports) but he could not source them
Likewise when I needed a change. He was only able to get runflats in the 275 mm size. However:

1. His stock was older than at the BMW dealer.

2. His price was a couple of hundred bucks higher than the dealer.

Meanwhile, the car is going in for a major service today to Infinity BMW.
Old 17th April 2018, 17:02   #896

The rear alloys of my BMW-530d-sport-f10 are badly bent. Which is why the noise that i had complained about few days ago on this forum too.

Request views on the two options :

1. Is there a way to get the alloys repaired? Any expert in Gurgaon or Delhi?

2. The second option for me is to get the alloys replaced (but not from BMW auth outlet). some of the pictures of the options for the alloys are here.

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-alloy2.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-alloy1.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-alloy3.jpg

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-alloy4.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 17th April 2018 at 17:15. Reason: Pictures inserted in-line.
Old 17th April 2018, 19:08   #897

The rear alloys of my BMW-530d-sport-f10 are badly bent. Which is why the noise that i had complained about few days ago on this forum too.

Request views on the two options :

1. Is there a way to get the alloys repaired? Any expert in Gurgaon or Delhi?

2. The second option for me is to get the alloys replaced (but not from BMW auth outlet). some of the pictures of the options for the alloys are here.
Don't go for the aftermarket ones unless you know what you are getting into. I had a bad experience.

Did you try to file a claim with Insurance? How old is your car and insured with whom? Chances are you may not get claim only for the alloys and will have to include the tyres also, maybe at one time, you can get a claim of up to 2 unless you cook something. Repairs, I dont think will be possible but even if someone can do, just replace.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2018, 12:52   #898

The rear alloys of my BMW-530d-sport-f10 are badly bent.
See if the BMW dealer can fix them. If not, claim insurance (as Turbanator said). I've successfully gotten the insurance company to replace a damaged rim on my ex-C220.

some of the pictures of the options for the alloys are here
Love the 5-spoke . But be watchful of what brand you put on this car.
Old 22nd April 2018, 04:07   #899

Spotted a smart Safari with a Team-BHP sticker...
Attachment 1750053

...and met its owner, BHPian Joshuakeys:
Attachment 1750054
It was nice meeting you GTO.
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-1524350210450.jpg  

Last edited by joshuakeys : 22nd April 2018 at 04:10.
joshuakeys is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2018, 09:44   #900

I was surfing through OLX and found these beautiful 530D M-Sport 18” alloys for sale in Bombay. As per product details, seller is having a set of 4 alloys for sale at a competitive price. The design is exactly similar to GTO’s 530D. I am attaching product link.

https://www.olx.in/item/mag-alloy-wh...-ID1j7Xwd.html

Last edited by ShubhamGhute : 22nd April 2018 at 10:00.