Old 28th September 2018, 13:57   #976

Re: BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

Originally Posted by raj981 View Post
Have you changed the brake unit on your vehicle in any of the services? What would be the typical costs involved?
Not yet. I'm guessing because over 50% of my km are highway km, and I use engine braking a lot.

they are trying to sell me the service plan
From what I've seen, these service plans only make sense for those with super high running, if at all.

I know you haven't taken the service plan for the 530D. In hindsight has the decision played out well for you or would you have rather taken the plan?
You bet! The servicing costs have frankly been lower than I expected. I see bills the same size as my cheaper 4-cylinder C220 from a decade ago!
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th September 2018, 15:52   #977

Have heard of many similar cases, so it's not unique. But yes, I have heard of warranty being extended more to owners of high-end cars (e.g. 5-Series & 7-Series) than entry level like the X1.

Wow! Considering the cost of the battery is ~40 grand, that must be quite a sweetener.
Not really - the SA for my old X1 called me a week before the 4 year warranty expiry and suggested I send the car.

He later called to say that the front suspension has some issue (which I had not evn noticed) and changed it under warranty

Hi Rush,
Have you changed the brake unit on your vehicle in any of the services? What would be the typical costs involved?
My E350 is with MB for annual service and they are trying to sell me the service plan with the rationale that the third service will be a major service and the brake disc and pads would be changed at a cost of INR 1.2 lacs and a probable change of the transmission oil which would be 75k. So just undecided whether to go for that?
I know you haven't taken the service plan for the 530D. In hindsight has the decision played out well for you or would you have rather taken the plan?
Rajesh
For regular wear & tear parts , I suggest you order OEM from a reputed third party vendor (I order from a vendor in Delhi)
The disc definitely won't need to be changed for most cars in a lifetime, the pads typically last 20-30K in Indian city driving conditions (more if highways usage is higher)
Also, I am not sure about MB but most transmission cases are sealed for life and certainly won't need a oil in the third service itself

As for the Brake pad replacement, if you order from outside and get it done at a good workshop, the net cost will be south of 20K

Last edited by abhi182 : 28th September 2018 at 15:59.
abhi182 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th September 2018, 17:59   #978

A dinner at Kode (highly recommended) and then a nice late night drive on Mumbai's empty roads with good music & the sunroof open is the perfect way to end a long day. Despite being my primary car, it still feels special to drive, after all these years.

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-dinner-2.jpg

It's even better when yours is the only car parked on the inside area!
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-dinner-1.jpg
GTO is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 11th October 2018, 16:34   #979

F10 530ds are now trading hands at Rs. 15 lakh or below! Here's a clean looking example - link.

If you are thinking of one:

1. Be sure to get a full pre-purchase inspection done from a BMW dealer.

2. Follow all other best practices listed in our used car buying guide.

3. Have access to a very good independent mechanic who specialises in European cars.

4. Remember that there is no such thing as a cheap 5-Series. If its cheap to buy, it certainly won't be cheap to own. Plan your budget accordingly because when things go wrong, the bills are usually in the 6 figures.
GTO is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 20th October 2018, 22:40   #980

A dinner at Kode (highly recommended)

It's even better when yours is the only car parked on the inside area!
Attachment 1803162
Tell me about it! Its the proverbial cherry on the cake for us petrolheads to come back to privileged (porch/doorstep) parking

Last edited by Rehaan : 23rd October 2018 at 15:50. Reason: Post edited. Please use spaces after punctuation marks. Thanks
octane1002 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2018, 09:48   #981

Originally Posted by octane1002 View Post
Its the proverbial cherry on the cake for us petrolheads to come back to privileged(porch/doorstep) parking
Totally! I'd rather give a good tip for the convenience & safety, rather than park my car anywhere and risk having it damaged / keyed.

This is a recent pic from rush hour @ PVR Juhu. Parking inside the compound, right next to the staircase entrance
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-lexus.jpg
GTO is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 10:17   #982

Totally! I'd rather give a good tip for the convenience & safety, rather than park my car anywhere and risk having it damaged / keyed.

This is a recent pic from rush hour @ PVR Juhu. Parking inside the compound, right next to the staircase entrance
Attachment 1809932
When did the Lexus happen? I am going test riding one for a close friend. After the 6 cylinder oil burning beast it will be interesting to see how this one goes.
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:50   #983

A thought, ac outdoor units have drain pipes which can, at times leak hard water on vehicles creating permanent stains.

When did the Lexus happen? I am going test riding one for a close friend.
It's a media car owned by Toyota.

Would be good to know your experience.
n.devdath is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 12:26   #984

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
A thought, ac outdoor units have drain pipes which can, at times leak hard water on vehicles creating permanent stains.
AC condensate is technically distilled water. It is the same as condensate from refrigerators, bottle coolers, freezers, car ACs and similar equipment. However, this water it is not potable and should not be used to top off batteries. The water may be contaminated by metals and dirt present in the AC unit.
R2D2 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 13:00   #985

Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
The water may be contaminated by metals and dirt present in the AC unit.
Which is why it becomes hard and stains vehicle paint and glass permanently when/if it falls on it.
n.devdath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 13:35   #986

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
Which is why it becomes hard and stains vehicle paint and glass permanently when/if it falls on it.

That is not "hard water"

That miniscule amount of metal in the water from the AC unit is insufficient to leave a deposit on the paint. Any stain you notice is probably caused by atmospheric dust including that on the paint or dirt present in the water as it travels down the conduit. In normal conditions any water, including DW will leave behind a mark if left long enough to dry on the paint

Last edited by R2D2 : 22nd October 2018 at 13:38.
R2D2 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 18:11   #987

F10 530ds are now trading hands at Rs. 15 lakh or below! Here's a clean looking example - link.

If you are thinking of one:

1. Be sure to get a full pre-purchase inspection done from a BMW dealer.

2. Follow all other best practices listed in our used car buying guide.

3. Have access to a very good independent mechanic who specialises in European cars.

4. Remember that there is no such thing as a cheap 5-Series. If its cheap to buy, it certainly won't be cheap to own. Plan your budget accordingly because when things go wrong, the bills are usually in the 6 figures.

Kept in mind all your advice and finally got one.

Will try and post a detailed review soon.
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-530d.jpg  

karanj is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 10:36   #988

Originally Posted by karanj View Post

Will try and post a detailed review soon.
Congratulations!! I couldn't take my eyes off this pic and have to gave a good long stare. Looks really mammoth. Keep this pic to cherish in future. Please post your deal details if possible. Looks like i have to resort to Mumbai when it comes to pre-owned Beemers. I am struggling to find a good one in ahmedabad, Gujjus love to own expensive cars but dont want to spend on maintaining one. No floods in last 4 years in Ahmedabad and i still came across few examples with hydro done twice. Dont know when my dream of driving this machine will realize. May be when some bhpian (GTO or Tanveer) thinks to upgrade further.

Last edited by Mission_PGPX : 23rd October 2018 at 10:46.
Mission_PGPX is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 13:11   #989

Originally Posted by karanj View Post
Damn, your car looks smoking hot! And a sweet number too. Congratulations.

Please share your initial impressions (likes / dislikes). Also, deal details for the benefit of others.

Better go out on the highway this weekend . Would recommend a drive to Lonavla or Igatpuri ghat.
Old 26th October 2018, 12:37   #990

Related Thread (Simplified: The Idiot's Guide to keeping your car clean & shiny)

Keeping in mind the best practices listed in that thread, the 530d is getting its post-monsoon detailing session. That's the team from Kamyo. It's also the car's 5th birthday gift - she turns 5 in November.
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-capture-4.png
GTO is offline   (9) Thanks