Old 9th December 2018, 09:40   #1006

Re: BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast

I just LOVE our new sticker design (the Team-BHP font). For the first time, my car isn't wearing a GTO's BHP sticker:
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181207wa0009.jpg
GTO is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 19th December 2018, 16:06   #1007

Hi GTO, Tanveer and other 530d owners on this forum, I am posting my query here because of the relevance of this car i want to buy from pre-owned car market in ahmedabad:

Option - 1 : Make-April-2016 530d used as a demo vehicle until 17000 kms, serviced and sold in Dec -2017. Technically car is just 1 year old by registration date. Asking price 40 lacs.
Pros: Car is still tight. Checked through my contacts here in bmw and they confirmed the history during demo but advises me not to pay 40 lacs because it must have been sold at around 47 lacs on road. No accident claim in last 1 year. Most importantly Carbon black exterior with cinnamon brown interior, the combo i dream to own some day.

Cons: its a demo car and must have been abused in early years.

Option - 2
Make and registration April -2014, Imperial Blue with beige interiors, 54000 kms driven, all service records checked and complete in BMW, tyres changed at 36000 kms and recent service done 2000 kms back. Owner wants to buy G30 and hence in a hurry to take advantage of december offers. Offered price is 29 lacs non-negotiable.
Pros : Car is well maintained at 3M and still holds a good clean shine.
Cons : Car will be 5 years old with around 60000 kms on it by April 2019.

which one can be a good deal or should i look for some other deal?
BTW i am offered new G30 530d at mouth watering 62 lacs OTR. Comparing that with F10 prices, i am not convinced to pay anything over 35 lacs for F10 model. Please advice.
Old 19th December 2018, 17:45   #1008

Originally Posted by Mission_PGPX View Post
Option - 1 : Make-April-2016 530d used as a demo vehicle until 17000 kms, serviced and sold in Dec -2017. Technically car is just 1 year old by registration date. Asking price 40 lacs.
Make and registration April -2014, Imperial Blue with beige interiors, 54000 kms driven, all service records checked and complete in BMW, tyres changed at 36000 kms and recent service done 2000 kms back. Owner wants to buy G30 and hence in a hurry to take advantage of december offers. Offered price is 29 lacs non-negotiable.
Neither of them is ideal IMHO. The demo car will have been royally abused over 17000 km, while the 2014 has too many km for my comfort. I don't like buying used cars with over 40,000 km or so on the odometer.

My recommendation = You have the budget for the G30 530d and are getting a very good deal. Go for it (unless a low mileage F10 comes up at a tempting price).
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th December 2018, 17:46   #1009

Option - 2
Cons : Car will be 5 years old with around 60000 kms on it by April 2019.

BTW i am offered new G30 530d at mouth watering 62 lacs OTR. Comparing that with F10 prices, i am not convinced to pay anything over 35 lacs for F10 model. Please advice.
Hi, I'm not a 5 series owner, but the choices you're looking at, aren't great. A test car from the dealership is abused by people who have no intention to buy the car. The 5 year old car is a bit too much, I've seen a similar one offered for 24, in bangalore where prices are always on the higher side.

The answer is in your post, the car is being offered OTR at the list price and you think the used cars are overpriced. If you are considering buying a 40 lakh car used, it'll work out cheaper when bought new. The F10 is eight years old now.
avira_tk is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th December 2018, 17:51   #1010

A demo Bimmer is a no-go even with the warranty as you would not like to spend time resolving issues (due to abuse) which are unknown at this point.

Option - 2
You need to rethink if you really want to buy a F10 at this point when even G30 will become "old" gen in few years.

You might be better off searching for a couple of years old G30 which has odo under say 30k kms or get a new new at heavy discount.

Better to stay away from either of the cars.
the_skyliner is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th December 2018, 17:53   #1011

Neither of them is ideal IMHO.
Thanks GTO for quick response. I was in two minds as well. I actually asked to option 1 if he could close the deal around 30-32 but negative. I would have probably gone for it if he would have agreed but ifs and buts in life.

Anyway, just now found a sparingly used G30 530d Med blue and Mocha, 15000 kms done and with 6 months warranty left for 55 lacs. Poor chap has invoice of 71 lacs in Aug-2017.

My recommendation = You have the budget for the G30 530d and are getting a very good deal. Go for it (unless a low mileage F10 comes up at a tempting price)
Unfortunately, No. The max i can stretch is 40-42 lacs. so have to wait till such deal comes up. But thanks for the opinion.
Old 19th December 2018, 18:37   #1012

Thanks GTO for quick response. I was in two minds as well. I actually asked to option 1 if he could close the deal around 30-32 but negative. I would have probably gone for it if he would have agreed but ifs and buts in life.

Anyway, just now found a sparingly used G30 530d Med blue and Mocha, 15000 kms done and with 6 months warranty left for 55 lacs. Poor chap has invoice of 71 lacs in Aug-2017.

Unfortunately, No. The max i can stretch is 40-42 lacs. so have to wait till such deal comes up. But thanks for the opinion.
There is a GJ registered 2017 530d with very low miles on the ODO in our classifieds section. The owner seems genuine. Asking 40 Lacs negotiable. Only thing is that the car is a second owner car and its in Gurgaon.
BLACKRiVAL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2018, 21:45   #1013

I actually asked to option 1 if he could close the deal around 30-32 but negative. I would have probably gone for it if he would have agreed but ifs and buts in life.
Good that you left the Demo or actually good for you that the Dealer didn't agree. You should sometime see or ask the sales guys how some of the guys drive. Don't even bother to click the links for demo cars if someone sends you

Current Ex-Showroom prices for 530-D after rebates is around 52 Lac (may go even lower when you sit with the money), so you can calculate the depreciation about 25 % on first Year an perhaps 15-20 % subsequent and arrive at costs.

You should look at such examples and there will be more. Key is Patience and sticking within your Budget and Absolutely No-Compromises on the checklist.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/buyin...car-india.html (ARTICLE: How to buy a *USED* Car in India)

Last edited by Turbanator : 19th December 2018 at 21:48.
Turbanator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th December 2018, 06:18   #1014

The max i can stretch is 40-42 lacs. so have to wait till such deal comes up.
That's a very good budget. You'll easily get F10s from the final batches within that. Wait for a year and even G30 530ds will fall in the budget.

If you like the G30 more, here is an out of the box idea = invest the 42 lakhs, make it 47 lakhs in a year and then go out and buy your dream car.
GTO is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th December 2018, 10:54   #1015

Current Ex-Showroom prices for 530-D after rebates is around 52 Lac (may go even lower when you sit with the money), so you can calculate the depreciation about 25 % on first Year an perhaps 15-20 % subsequent and arrive at costs.

You should look at such examples and there will be more. Key is Patience and sticking within your Budget and Absolutely No-Compromises on the checklist.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/buyin...car-india.html (ARTICLE: How to buy a *USED* Car in India)
Thank you Turbanator and everyone for brilliant views as expected on this forum. Such depreciation rates actually exist? If i consider that, then all of a sudden this 15K run G30 looks an attractive option. The guy has invoice of 70 lacs, car is now 18 months old so can easily take out 30% atleast, anything around 47 lacs is a deal. I am game. Buyer is a king in used car market, should I offer him 47 lacs and see or will it be a loose ball?

That's a very good budget. You'll easily get F10s from the final batches within that. Wait for a year and even G30 530ds will fall in the budget.

If you like the G30 more, here is an out of the box idea = invest the 42 lakhs, make it 47 lakhs in a year and then go out and buy your dream car.
Thanks GTO. Somehow in last 24 hrs G30 started to make much more sense in my buying decision. car will still be same till next 5 years apart from LCI. I have to now visit BMW and check this car in and out. They gave a spare wheel inside the well in boot, seriously?

I dont really have 40 lacs liquid, its the max amount including trade-in of my Jetta i can afford to finance. The max EMI i can afford is for a loan of around 30 lacs at say 10.5% max interest rate. Calculations, hell!! This is what your dreams do to you, sounds crazy but we are not gonna take the money with us. if not today then when.
Mission_PGPX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2018, 11:40   #1016

all of a sudden this 15K run G30 looks an attractive option. The guy has invoice of 70 lacs, car is now 18 months old so can easily take out 30% atleast, anything around 47 lacs is a deal. I am game. Buyer is a king in used car market, should I offer him 47 lacs and see or will it be a loose ball?
I dont really have 40 lacs liquid, its the max amount including trade-in of my Jetta i can afford to finance. The max EMI i can afford is for a loan of around 30 lacs at say 10.5% max interest rate. Calculations, hell!! This is what your dreams do to you, sounds crazy but we are not gonna take the money with us. if not today then when.
Well, new 530-D is being retailed around 51-52 Ex-showroom today, the guy who bought new must have paid full amount so he lost 15 Lac Plus just on the discounts by BMW and we are not talking about depreciation yet

If you have to borrow money on interest at 10,5 or so then you should seriously consider buy-back program from BMW. Do check local dealership for more details. Considering the fact that Road Tax in Gujarat is 6 % on personal registrations, it appears new option with Balloon payment might work for you.

Last edited by Turbanator : 20th December 2018 at 11:42.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th December 2018, 12:21   #1017

Well, new 530-D is being retailed around 51-52 Ex-showroom today, the guy who bought new must have paid full amount so he lost 15 Lac Plus just on the discounts by BMW and we are not talking about depreciation yet
Yeah the problem is whenever this guy is selling, he doesn't talk about his landing cost, he will keep the advantage with him. No one shows the invoice until we are finalized on deal here in Gujarat. So he would not loose that much when he keeps the discount with him. And this guy is in no hurry to sell until he gets what he wants as a minimum. Ideally the tipping point should be somewhere around 52 lacs, but even then it will not make a good proposition to accept.

If you have to borrow money on interest at 10,5 or so then you should seriously consider buy-back program from BMW. Do check local dealership for more details. Considering the fact that Road Tax in Gujarat is 6 % on personal registrations, it appears new option with Balloon payment might work for you.
I have checked that option, but buy back is seriously expensive. The EMI is charged on total amount of loan and not deducting the amount of buy back. say 4 years buy back with 15000 kms, the buy back value is 24.xxx lacs. So if take a loan of around 40 lacs, EMI will come around 70,000/-. So i will loose around 50 lacs in 4 years and if i dont pay the buy back amount, i will be without Car after 4 years. Baloon payment I have to check with BMW.
Mission_PGPX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2018, 13:07   #1018

Such depreciation rates actually exist?
My own car was billed for 68 lakhs to Cadbury (company registration). I bought it for 42.50 when she was under 1.5 years old .

Somehow in last 24 hrs G30 started to make much more sense in my buying decision
I could tell. Go for the G30 only then.

Calculations, hell!! This is what your dreams do to you, sounds crazy but we are not gonna take the money with us. if not today then when.
Hmmmmm, I disagree. IMHO, you should buy an Alto when you can afford a Swift, an Octavia when you can get an E-Class and a 5-Series when you can bring home an S-Class.
GTO is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st December 2018, 13:25   #1019

I just LOVE our new sticker design (the Team-BHP font). For the first time, my car isn't wearing a GTO's BHP sticker:
Attachment 1826044
AGREED! The first time I'm ordering stickers since for quite a few years. Infact only for this one!
dhanushs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2018, 14:05   #1020

My own car was billed for 68 lakhs to Cadbury (company registration). I bought it for 42.50 when she was under 1.5 years old . I could tell. Go for the G30 only then.
Holy goodness!! You are one lucky guy i must say. I am attaching some pics of the car i was talking about. Applying the same logic and depreciation as your deal, i should get this in about 43 lacs. And trust me, i am game for it, but the guy is looking for 54 lacs. So please share the secret of closing this gap. Whats the best price point you recommend to buy this at?

Hmmmmm, I disagree. IMHO, you should buy an Alto when you can afford a Swift, an Octavia when you can get an E-Class and a 5-Series when you can bring home an S-Class.
You are so right, but thats not the case with me. Things work in reverse for me. I bought Jetta (thanks to this forum)when i could only afford Vento and now looking for 5 when i could afford 3. The thing is when i think about my passion in life, only two thing comes to my mind, Running and Cars. Now how can i compromise on that and what have i achieved if i could not fulfill my own passion in life.
BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181219wa0024.jpg  

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181219wa0025.jpg  

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181219wa0026.jpg  

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181219wa0027.jpg  

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181219wa0032.jpg  

BMW 530d M-Sport (F10) : My pre-worshipped beast-img20181219wa0034.jpg  

Last edited by Mission_PGPX : 21st December 2018 at 14:08.
Mission_PGPX is offline   (12) Thanks