Old 21st November 2019, 20:54   #196

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Thanks machi. .

We need to meet up sometime again.

Cannot wait for Astraea to meet your Ciaz machi. Nyx did not get the chance either!
And the ride was plush. But it would have been more wonderful if the pressure was at 30/32 psi.
Sanjeev911 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th November 2019, 16:26   #197

re: 1,30,000 km & counting, My Maruti Ciaz ZDI

Update :

A fancy odo: Completed 1,01,000 km

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20191128_1623494843.jpg

Munching miles like its no one's business It has run 2750 km so far in November.

December will be a hectic month as I am planning a few out of station drives. Looking at 1,05,000 km before ending 2019. I ended 2018 with 69,000 km on the odo. 2019 has seen almost 36,000 km or 3000 km a month or 100 km a day!

It is going to just increase in 2020

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 28th November 2019 at 16:33.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th November 2019, 16:19   #198

A sudden unplanned 300 km round trip to one of the most soulful coastal areas of TN - Peravurani

I actually had the choice of taking the tank-filled Storme v400 but then, I wanted to do some good speeds today and sticked with the ciaz. The drive was 60% pedal to metal and the rest on rural roads. FE: 19.3 kmpl for the trip.

The car badly needs a wash.

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20191129_140634_106.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20191129_140142_646.jpg
PrasannaDhana is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th December 2019, 21:36   #199

Update :

Completed 102k km

A fancy odo

10 20 30 km
"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20191205_2110242682.jpg

The last 1000 km have been completed in 7 days. TN is getting very heavy monsoons and the ciaz is looking horrible. Needs a nice wash and a wheel alignment done. See you all at 1,03,000 km with wheel alignment update

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 5th December 2019 at 21:38.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 14th December 2019, 19:06   #200

Update: 103k km done

Monsoons still being unforgiving here and I was quite busy. I must try to squeeze in a good waterwash and wheel alignment/balancing tomorrow.

Odo :

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20191214_1903236892.jpg

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 14th December 2019 at 19:08.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2019, 11:10   #201

Finally found some time to wash the car and apply wax polish. Wax polish was bought by my brother who gave it to me. Maruti genuine accessories polish, but I did feel 3M was better.

Odo : 103750 km

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191222_105710.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191222_105802.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191222_105737.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191222_105624.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191222_105650.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191222_105830.jpg

Now alignment and balancing is due this evening.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 22nd December 2019 at 11:11.
Old 27th December 2019, 21:42   #202

Odo : 1,04,400 km

I went to the wheel alignment place and told him there is a mild wobbling issue since the last couple days(more like mild jumps) at slow speeds. I also told him I checked for bulges on tyres but there weren't any.

He checked and told me there are mild bulges, but I couldn't see any. Looks like it's time to replace the tyres.

Continental MC5 have lasted 63,000 km. I enquired if MC5 205/65 would fit on stock 15 alloys. He was not optimistic and suggested 205/55 would fit.

I will wait till January to replace the tyres. I may go with Michelins, either 195s or 205s.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 27th December 2019 at 21:50.
Old 28th December 2019, 06:41   #203

Continental MC5 have lasted 63,000 km. I enquired if MC5 205/65 would fit on stock 15 alloys. He was not optimistic and suggested 205/55 would fit.

I will wait till January to replace the tyres. I may go with Michelins, either 195s or 205s.

Why don't you try 205/60 R15 Michelins?
Old 28th December 2019, 07:25   #204

Odo : 1,04,400 km
Stellar reliability. Not many consider the Ciaz as an enthusiast's car but the way you have kept her and driven with passion indeed it turns out to be one.

Are you looking to touch the 2 Lakh mark with this?
VWAllstar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th December 2019, 11:27   #205

Originally Posted by Sanjeev911 View Post
Why don't you try 205/60 R15 Michelins?
Yes machi, Going to look for the proper fit at another tyre shop soon.

Originally Posted by VWAllstar View Post
Stellar reliability. Not many consider the Ciaz as an enthusiast's car but the way you have kept her and driven with passion indeed it turns out to be one.

Are you looking to touch the 2 Lakh mark with this?
Thank you

I am hoping to hold the car (I don't really think I can part with it) until 2022. So 3 more years, 36k a year, it will easily hit 2.1 lakh km before I sell it.

Ciaz definitely is not an enthusiast car. The steering is vague and the suspension is tuned for comfort. But I got completely used to it and push the car to its limits at every chance possible

I find perfect balance of practicality, fun, reliability and comfort in this particular car. If I didn't find it so perfectly fit to me, I would have sold it by the end of 3rd year/70k km mark.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 28th December 2019 at 11:32.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2019, 18:52   #206

Final update of 2019

Odo : Almost 105k km

1,04,950 km

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20191231_1810578722.jpg

Just came back from a 250km drive. What used to be a 3.5 hour usual drive, took me 4.5 hours as I felt the vibrations on the steering and didn't want to go beyond 100 kmph.

I have decided to change the tyres tomorrow and did a small research about having 205 fitted on the 15 inch stock alloys. To my disappointment, I found out that the stock 15 inch 5.5j rims aren't compatible with anything over 195 sections.

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-screenshot_201912311752412.png

So, it is going to be 195 sections again. The current worn out Continental MC5s have been very effective, for all the 63,000 km of usage. But I started feeling they were a bit noisy at highway speeds. Initially they felt quite silent when compared to stock Apollo's. Might have been a placebo effect.

Now though, I am going for Michelin Primacy 4ST 195/65 R15. Major reason for this choice is the reduced tyre noise. The local shop has it in stock, and they quote 6.4k per tyre.

Continental MC5 in my car now are 195/60 R15, Michelin P4ST are 195/65 R15.
There is a 1cm increase in sidewall height. This means better ride quality and a better ground clearance.

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-screenshot_201912311900152.png

It would also fill up the wheel well slightly better. The contis had a good 3 inch gap.
"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20191231_190830.jpg

I will be starting the new Year 2020 with new set of tyres.
2019 has been a busy year for the ciaz. 36,000 km usage!

Wishing everyone a very Happy and a Prosperous New Year 2020.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 31st December 2019 at 19:12.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 1st January 2020, 13:23   #207

Happy New Year 2020 guys!!

Started off the new year with new set of tyres

Michelin Primacy 4 ST 195/65 R15

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20200101_122600.jpg

Worn out continentals and the michelins
"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20200101_131447.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20200101_1316322.jpg

Total damage to wallet 26,600 including the tyres, balancing and alignment. The ride is a bit more plusher and the tires are very silent. But this is too early to comment.

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20200101_1209425172.jpg

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20200101_122756.jpg

One of those rare instances the boot is used fully
"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-photo-collage20200101_122917.jpg

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 1st January 2020 at 13:29.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th January 2020, 11:09   #208

Update : This is for documenting my opinion on the new Michelin Primacy 4 ST 195/65 R15 tyres

Odo : 1,05,500 km

It has been 500km on the new set of tyres.

Pros

Excellent improvement in ride quality. My wife never gave me any feedback on ride quality so far, but told me this time the ride has become noticeably better. The 2cm increase in sidewall height helps I guess

Substantial reduction in road noise. The tyres are quiet, so much that all I hear is the engine hum on the highways @120 kmph

A slight improvement in ground clearance. Ciaz already has a 170 mm GC, this tyre has improved it a bit.

Cons

Continental MC5 was amazing when it came to handling and road grip around corners. This negative may mean nothing to 99% of ciaz drivers. But I put this car through stuff that most ciaz owners won't. I mean doing speeds (can't mention here) and taking curves at that speeds. Continentals were 195/60 MC5 (Max contact for MC) lived upto its name and proved to be amazing around curves inspite of Ciaz's inherent non-enthusiastic driving dynamics.

Michelins do live up to its name (ST - Silent tech or something I read somewhere), but it accentuates the fact that ciaz has a vague steering and a soft suspension. There is noticeable roll around corners. I might get used to it with a few more thousand kilometres, but right now, I just don't feel as comfortable as before in pushing the car around corners.

Overall, the new tyres are great (atleast for 80% of my needs). The passengers are uber happy with the excellent ride and reduced NVH, the driver in me though wishes for lesser roll.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 6th January 2020 at 11:15.
Old 14th January 2020, 15:36   #209

Well, 2020 is going a bit relaxed and lazy for the ciaz. The first 1000km of this year took 14 days!

Odo : 1,06,000 km

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20200114_0924492042.jpg

But then, the car doesn't show its age, at all. I must say it has become a very trusted companion, infact, my identity at times

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20200112_065436_340.jpg
Old 25th January 2020, 19:28   #210

Update :

Odo: 1,07,000 km

"My 2015 Maruti Ciaz ZDI - 1,33,000 km completed : Now Sold-img_20200125_1907252782.jpg

The last 1000 km was done in 11 days, not bad I must say.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 25th January 2020 at 19:29.