Old 12th May 2019, 22:25   #631

Re: The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
Hi Shashi,

I'm planning to install Neolite rectangular yellow fogs in the front. However, I wanted a clean looking button for them on the inside. I came across your car's fog lamp button. Can you let me know where did you source it from? If its MGA, I can look up at my local dealer.
My car has rear fog lamp switch, that won't look good in your case(symbol differs). You should get Part No: 37270M60C10, its front fog lamp switch of Esteem(same dimensions).

I got it from my local MGP store, but I had a look and found that the part is in ready stock at Boodmo and you'll get in 4-5 days if ordered.

Shashi

Last edited by Leoshashi : 12th May 2019 at 22:28.
Leoshashi is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 12th May 2019, 23:11   #632

Re: The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Completed the routine oil change service at home during the weekend.I'll post an update shortly.
Looks like it was a Oil Change Special Weekend.

Changed oil myself, opted for 5W40 Idemitsu, purely due to better data sheet compared to Shell HXU.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190510_182756.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190510_182822.jpg

I have been getting regular complaints of a particular oil filter which Maruti uses. Unfortunately, it's also used on F8D Engine. Hence decided to find the best replacement filter. Wix Filter is a reputed brand internationally, and it had an offering as per their cross reference chart. The Wix was noticeably heavier and well built than the stock Maruti filter(16510M68K10). This stock MGP filter was made by Elofic.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_115505.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_115633.jpg

There was another filter with different part number, 16510M68K00 which was made by Mahle and was just a shade lower in terms of weight compared to the best in business.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_115545.jpg

This small experiment was a nice opener, hence I decided to wait it out till weekend. Needless to say what was used in the Golden Goose.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_164119.jpg

Changing procedure: In addition to the usual procedure, I did two things which I hope made some difference.

1. Even when dripping stops, there is quite some oil left inside the engine. Tried to bring that out as well. Used Stanley blower at its lowest setting, plus in short bursts. A lot of old oil came out.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_173350.jpg

Extra oil which came out:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_173630.jpg

A Video of how it was done:

2. During screwing back the filter, I filled it 75% with oil. Learnt this trick on Chrisfix and ETCG and it apparently reduces the time needed to push the oil through filter, hence better protection.

Pic from ETCG:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-c.jpg

Hardest part of the DIY: Pouring oil and trying to click a pic at the same time

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_174513.jpg

New Drain bolt and crush gasket:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190512_173833.jpg

Also had changed the footmats to Elegant mats, looks much better than MGA ones. I'll use rubber mats only during rains.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190507_132545.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190507_132551.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190507_133655.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190507_133711.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190507_133801.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190507_170815.jpg

That's all for now.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 13th May 2019, 00:55   #633

Wow, probably the best looking mats for M800. Looks way better than any MGP part. I liked the idea of using a blower to push out the excess oil from engine. So, whats the ODO reading now bhai?
SS80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2019, 21:10   #634

I not sure if using a blower is a good idea. Especially in India, where a dust free environment is a pipe dream except maybe in manufacturing facilities, using a blower is a sure shot way of getting dust particles into the cylinders, unless the blower is very very clean. Might not cause damage to the engine, since this is the F8D, but still, I'm not too sure its worth it. Lifting the front of your car using a jack normally found in all workshops might be a better option to fully drain out the old oil.
longhorn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2019, 21:26   #635

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
I not sure if using a blower is a good idea. Especially in India, where a dust free environment is a pipe dream except maybe in manufacturing facilities, using a blower is a sure shot way of getting dust particles into the cylinders, unless the blower is very very clean. Might not cause damage to the engine, since this is the F8D, but still, I'm not too sure its worth it. Lifting the front of your car using a jack normally found in all workshops might be a better option to fully drain out the old oil.
I had this thing in mind. But took chances as I was doing it at my personal enclosed garage which is relatively very much clean compared to workshops. 2ndly the blower is brand new and I was hoping that its clean.

Took my chances since I see how MASS opens the oil filler cap during draining. They keep it open for 5-10 minutes and their workshop floor is far from being dust free. With bodyshop around, fine dust is always in the air.
If you notice, the front was jacked up. That didn't drain all the old oil.

Very fine dust if it gets inside, the oil should keep it in suspension and the filter should take care of it. If fine dust can damage an engine then what would you say about this in an engine :

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-sludge-builup.jpg

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 13th May 2019, 21:45   #636

Shashi, the excellent and admirable manner you have taken care of your Maruti 800 is motivating me to look after my 9 year old Honda Jazz till the 15 year forced retirement. Those mats look very neat. And how are the pedals looking so spotless after 20+ years. :-)
V.Narayan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 13th May 2019, 22:06   #637

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Those mats look very neat. And how are the pedals looking so spotless after 20+ years. :-)
Those pedals come under MGA and were added 4 years ago. They are looking spotless since I mildly cleaned it before taking this pic.

Dirty pedals were spoiling the look.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 16th May 2019, 16:49   #638

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post

2. During screwing back the filter, I filled it 75% with oil. Learnt this trick on Chrisfix and ETCG and it apparently reduces the time needed to push the oil through filter, hence better protection.

Pic from ETCG:

Attachment 1875595
While this is a commendable practice but i have one doubt. I also change oil my 800 myself and as you know, the oil filter is mounted vertically on the engine block wall. Won't the 75% oil that you added will simply pour out while screwing the oil filter into its position? I also had this idea of filling the oil filter up before installing it but i simply backed off thinking that the oil will simply pour itself out. I would love to hear it from you that how you managed to install it? Did you use any technique?

Last edited by EFF-EIGHT-BEE : 16th May 2019 at 16:51.
Old 16th May 2019, 17:23   #639

Originally Posted by EFF-EIGHT-BEE View Post
While this is a commendable practice but i have one doubt. I also change oil my 800 myself
Kindly allow me a question first. How do you remove the oil filter? From bottom of the car right?

Shashi
Old 16th May 2019, 17:32   #640

Kindly allow me a question first. How do you remove the oil filter? From bottom of the car right?

Shashi
No i accessed it from front as i couldn't fix the oil wrench from bottom. As the oil filter sits just behind the front bumper, hence i removed it and accessed the oil filter from there (from front) not from the bottom
EFF-EIGHT-BEE is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th May 2019, 17:49   #641

No i accessed it from front as i couldn't fix the oil wrench from bottom. As the oil filter sits just behind the front bumper, hence i removed it and accessed the oil filter from there (from front) not from the bottom
Great. In my car, the situation is even worse. I have seen mechanics easily accessing filters in F8B cars, but they struggle a bit in my car.

I prefer to remove the bumper and then easily access the filter. If you too do that way then the oil won't come out if you fill it and then try to screw.

When I first saw the Video, I was sure I wouldn't be able to do it as the filter sits horizontally in our cars. But I tried to see if its possible and had a vessel underneath to collect any oil.

I took the filter vertically to the screwing point and suddenly turned it and screwed gently(taking care not to be rough). Then I noticed that the block isn't vertical but is inclined at an angle(say 15 degrees) from vertical. That helps and not a single drop of oil came out during screwing. Don't fill the filter more than 75% else the chances of oil dripping will increase.

Also, I filled oil very cautiously. Since the filter had some oil, I filled the oil conservatively so that the level on dipstick doesn't go beyond the full mark. Usually when filter is dry, level goes down a bit after the engine is run for some time. This didn't happen this time.

Another info for you-I'll try it next time. Alto uses the same block as mine but in BS3 and BS4 models,the filter is screwed vertically. They use a 90 degree adapter. That should hopefully make the oil change a bit easy in my car.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190516_174628.jpg

Hope it helps.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 16th May 2019, 18:04   #642

Another info for you-I'll try it next time. Alto uses the same block as mine but in BS3 and BS4 models,the filter is screwed vertically. They use a 90 degree adapter. That should hopefully make the oil change a bit easy in my car.

Attachment 1876675
That's great, so you mean to say that, since the engine block is similar, the oil filter adaptor can be fitted on our cars too? Can you share the part number please?
Old 16th May 2019, 18:13   #643

That's great, so you mean to say that, since the engine block is similar, the oil filter adaptor can be fitted on our cars too? Can you share the part number please?
I'm not sure about F8B but it's a bolt on fit in my engine(F8D). The only thing I have to confirm is the clearance with nearby assemblies like the Alternator, crossmember etc.

The F8Bs also use a much larger filter so I'm not sure if it will work in your case. A size comparo of the two filters, smaller one is of F8D, orange one is of F8B.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190305_184553.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20190305_184613.jpg

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 29th May 2019, 09:55   #644

My car has rear fog lamp switch, that won't look good in your case(symbol differs).
Got the upgrade done. Also got the exhaust redone - the stock one had too many holes in it. Will post video of the sound soon.

This is how the front now looks. I wanted a clean look ~kinda like the Altos in Japan. I'm happy with it:
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-1fe3c23d22d7449183cb128c2d2bb1bd.jpg

Larger tip is a giveaway of the non-OEM exhaust:
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-c0f15ee8ac064883a8ab528587894e39.jpg

Used this MGA switch. It was made in 10/2005!
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_7730.jpg

With the fogs on:
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_7726.jpg

The throw. I know there is some fine tuning pending. Will get it done over the weekend:
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_7724.jpg

Only fogs from the driver's seat:
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_7727.jpg

Headlights low + fogs:
The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_7729.jpg

Overall happy with the mods. These were done at Nelly Auto (run by a BHPian).
blackwasp is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 29th May 2019, 10:31   #645

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
Got the upgrade done.

This is how the front now looks. I wanted a clean look ~kinda like the Altos in Japan. I'm happy with it
Looks clean. What I also loved is that the fogs aren't blocking the condenser/radiator.

Used this MGA switch. It was made in 10/2005!
We are relieving Maruti of their dead stocks. In my case, it was made in 2004!

BTW the switch in your case is jutting out a bit. It should sit cleanly. See if the dummy blanks need some more trimming/filing.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (7) Thanks