Old 20th May 2020, 17:31   #721

Re: The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27

The power figures for the Maruti 800 bumped up to 44/45 BHP from the earlier 37/39.5. There were a few iterations of this engine too which probably Shashi can tell better since 800 pumped out 39.5 BHP previously and then power dropped to 37 later. Though the engine block was shared with the Omni, but still there were a few differences and that was evident due to the power output.
Over to Shashi.

saket77 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th May 2020, 17:41   #722

Re: The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
The power figures for the Maruti 800 bumped up to 44/45 BHP from the earlier 37/39.5. There were a few iterations of this engine too which probably Shashi can tell better since 800 pumped out 39.5 BHP previously and then power dropped to 37 later. Though the engine block was shared with the Omni, but still there were a few differences and that was evident due to the power output.
Over to Shashi.

The reduction in power from 39.5 BHP to 37 was after the compliance to Euro II upgradation, I believe.

The bump in power to 45 BHP was in the 5-Speed only that to because of 4 valves per cylinder against 2 valves in 39 BHP model.

So why wasn’t there a good power bump after moving to MPFi from a carb?
dr.aviansh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th May 2020, 18:42   #723

^ didn’t the 4 valve/cylinder come with MPFi version only?

Last edited by moralfibre : 21st May 2020 at 12:45. Reason: Typo
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2020, 19:24   #724

Originally Posted by dr.aviansh View Post
I really love your 5-Speed beauty and the way you have been modding it from time to time is literally an inspiration.
Thanks a lot!

I had a query regarding the 800. Like when MPFi came in, the power and torque figures increased in the Zen and the Esteem. The Zen had a 20% increase in power output and the Esteem had a whopping 30% increase.

But why were the figures nearly identical in the carb and the 4-Speed MPFi 800?
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Originally Posted by dr.aviansh View Post
The bump in power to 45 BHP was in the 5-Speed only that to because of 4 valves per cylinder against 2 valves in 39 BHP model.

So why wasn’t there a good power bump after moving to MPFi from a carb?
First clearing the air about Zen, Esteem and Gypsy.

When they got MPFI, they also got upgraded from 8V Head(2V/Cylinder) to 16V. Hence there was a significant jump. All carb iterations of Zen, Esteem and Gypsy were 2V/cylinder layout.

Maruti used to advertise this as 16x4 Hypertech. 16 Bit ECM+4 Valve per Cylinder head config. You will see this sticker on most MPFI Marutis from 2000s:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img20190910wa0043.jpg

Infact Zen also got a 2V MPFI variant briefly and it's power output and performance was very close(55BHP) to carb Zen. A read from ACI's 2000 edition magazine where they reviewed all MPFI Marutis:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-zen-mpfi.jpg

The 5 speed 800 was not only about the revised head and new 5 speed gearbox but also got F8D motor, where block was entirely different.

Power bump depends a lot on the design of intake as well. I remember reading ACI's report where they had mentioned that Omni couldn't get any significant power gain was due to restricted design of Intake due to space constraints. Also for Omni the conversion was only limited to MPFI tech, whereas the gearbox and head remained largely similar.

If you compare M800 4 speed with same F8B engine, carb to MPFI saw a drop in output perhaps due to the restricted nature because of catcon etc. Just guessing. It's case was similar to Omni where they stayed on the same engine and got just MPFI tech.

Shashi

Attaching another nice brochure of Maruti 800 5 Speed, look at the reviews :

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-new-doc-20191202-13.03.04_1.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-new-doc-20191202-13.03.04_2.jpg

Last edited by Leoshashi : 20th May 2020 at 19:35.
Leoshashi is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 21st May 2020, 02:11   #725

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
If you compare M800 4 speed with same F8B engine, carb to MPFI saw a drop in output perhaps due to the restricted nature because of catcon etc. Just guessing. It's case was similar to Omni where they stayed on the same engine and got just MPFI tech.
Slight doubt here regarding Omni, according to these 2 brochures, Omni made identical power in both carburettor & mpi (BS II) form i.e 37bhp. The BS III brochure on the other hand quotes power at 35bhp, 2bhp down from BS II & carburettor Omni. Omni BS IV also made 35bhp. M800 4S in both BS II & BS III made identical power of 37bhp.

August 99 brochure:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-maruti_omni_aug__99page002.jpg

June 00 brochure:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-maruti_omni_june__00page002.jpg

Omni BS III brochure:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-omnibs-iii-brochure.jpg

Last edited by chiranjitp : 21st May 2020 at 02:14.
chiranjitp is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st May 2020, 10:09   #726

Originally Posted by chiranjitp View Post
Slight doubt here regarding Omni, according to these 2 brochures, Omni made identical power in both carburettor & mpi (BS II) form i.e 37bhp. The BS III brochure on the other hand quotes power at 35bhp, 2bhp down from BS II & carburettor Omni. Omni BS IV also made 35bhp. M800 4S in both BS II & BS III made identical power of 37bhp.
Apologies if I sounded a bit confusing. What I meant was M800 4S like the Omni got just the MPFI tech and hence no power bump.

Regarding Omni, it got a different state of tune compared to M800 always despite sharing same block. Compare the max torque output of M800 and Omni and the RPM at which they are generated and you'll get the answer. There is slight difference.

Omni's priority was more torque and it received an entirely different tune always compared to M800. To add to that, Omni had packaging constraints which somewhat restricted its output. Of course the restrictions of stricter emission norms played its part too. See how Pre 2000 and June 2000 Omni makes almost 62Nm(=6.32kgm) while for BS3 it fell to shade below 60Nm(=6.1kgm).

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 21st May 2020, 13:23   #727

The 2000 -2003 era was the golden age of Maruti Suzuki. The 5 speed MPFi had a significant bump up in price from the carburretted model and rightly so. Many parts specific to the 5 speed came straight from Japan. This was an era when the company was driven by engineers. The boost from 37.5 bhp to 45 bhp might seem small, but clubbed with the low weight and 5 speed gearbox, the car was truly a wolf in sheep's clothing for its time. The integration of the F8D and the 5 speed gearbox was so beautifully done. No lag in any gear and power is always available on tap. Not only did we get more power, the 5 speed was more fuel efficient as well. The sheer quality of parts that went into the 5 speed speaks for itself. The quality of paint in my 2014 WagonR pales in comparison to what the metallic shades of the 5 speed looked like in the year 2000.
longhorn is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 20:53   #728

I completely agree to this.
Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
The integration of the F8D and the 5 speed gearbox was so beautifully done. No lag in any gear and power is always available on tap. Not only did we get more power, the 5 speed was more fuel efficient as well. The sheer quality of parts that went into the 5 speed speaks for itself. The quality of paint in my 2014 WagonR pales in comparison to what the metallic shades of the 5 speed looked like in the year 2000.
Today I got the spark plugs clean which were causing shuddering of the engine somehow. Took it for a spin around my home just to check the engine and oh boy !! It was fast and furious all again. People on the street would have been thinking what a maniac.
I usually drive our 1.3 MJD dzire , type 2 and it is, I would rather call a punishment, to drive it below 2000 RPM. But this 800 DX is crazy. No power drop even after 17 years and about twice cycling the odo. Just press the pedal and it zooms. . Though the 1.3 turbo kick is thrilling but the smoothness of the F8D is not a match. And somehow the quality of maruti suzuki was better in those days. The bumper just falls down in a hit and you can pick it up and hitch it back in the groove again.
ankitsharma is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 21:27   #729

Originally Posted by ankitsharma View Post
I completely agree to this.

Today I got the spark plugs clean which were causing shuddering of the engine somehow. Took it for a spin around my home just to check the engine and oh boy !! It was fast and furious all again. People on the street would have been thinking what a maniac.
I usually drive our 1.3 MJD dzire , type 2 and it is, I would rather call a punishment, to drive it below 2000 RPM. But this 800 DX is crazy. No power drop even after 17 years and about twice cycling the odo. Just press the pedal and it zooms. . Though the 1.3 turbo kick is thrilling but the smoothness of the F8D is not a match. And somehow the quality of maruti suzuki was better in those days. The bumper just falls down in a hit and you can pick it up and hitch it back in the groove again.
Awesome. Do share pics of your 2003 DX.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st June 2020, 19:32   #730

I have read your LTR a hundred times and wish to read more and more. Your passion and love for M800 is really commendable. Salutes to you.
bharatmarch is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2020, 09:46   #731

Sure. Here it is. Pardon the bad quality these days.
Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
Awesome. Do share pics of your 2003 DX.
I used to maintain this 3 years back when I was living with my parents. Now it is mostly worked up by the cleaning guy.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200601_104502.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200602_102916.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200601_104518.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200602_102905.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200602_102839.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200602_102833.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200601_104546.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20200602_103003.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 4th June 2020 at 03:57. Reason: Pictures inserted in-line.
ankitsharma is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2020, 13:06   #732

Originally Posted by ankitsharma View Post
Sure. Here it is. Pardon the bad quality these days.

I used to maintain this 3 years back when I was living with my parents. Now it is mostly worked up by the cleaning guy.
She looks decently well maintained even though there are rust catching up at some places. Interior too seems neat except for the worn out pedal covers.

Btw, I'm having the following queries related to your car :
1. What is the current odo meter reading?
2. Did you ever repaint her body?
3. Is the rear M800 decal original? My 2000 M800 DX have monograms instead of these cheap looking decals
4. Side moulding's piece on the fender is missing in your car, why?
5. Why did you replace the original instrument cluster with that of newer 800s?
6. Is the Nippon central locking system from Maruti still in working condition?

Last edited by Shreyfiesta : 3rd June 2020 at 13:08. Reason: Question addition
Old 3rd June 2020, 17:20   #733

Originally Posted by Shreyfiesta View Post
She looks decently well maintained even though there are rust catching up at some places. Interior too seems neat except for the worn out pedal covers.
1. 141522. Those days not many cars had the lakh digit. Maybe they were not built to be driven that long.
2. Original Paint Sir.
3. It is the stock one. In 2003 MSIL had given the 800 line a facelift. Decals , instrument cluster, front grill were some of them.
4. Right fender was replaced and probably it got missed then.Left still has it.
5. It is still stock. 2003 facelift had this instrument cluster.
6. It was working until last year and then it developed problems with the engine immobilizer. Dad took it to a local guy who did not understood the wiring and disconnected it altogether.

Last edited by aah78 : 4th June 2020 at 03:57. Reason: Quote trimmed.
ankitsharma is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2020, 17:43   #734

Originally Posted by Shreyfiesta View Post
3. Is the rear M800 decal original? My 2000 M800 DX have monograms instead of these cheap looking decals

5. Why did you replace the original instrument cluster with that of newer 800s?
After Dec 2002, All 800s started getting these decals instead of emblems we have. Internally these are referred to as JAN 03 regulation by Maruti. No idea what that means.

Also speedometer in the white car is genuine and original. These had common brake fluid and handbrake warning sign. Also note his car has HMSL and rear seat belts. These started coming from late 2002 onwards.

Shashi

PS: @ankitsharma Sir, which AC gas system is your car running? Will love to see pic of engine bay as well.

Last edited by Leoshashi : 3rd June 2020 at 17:45.
Leoshashi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th June 2020, 02:59   #735

Hello Shashi sir,

Firstly would like congratulate you for completing so many successful year with the car. I take you as my idol when it comes to maintaining my car. When my father bought home a WagonR in 2015 I was sure to buy all the products that I could with my two year's of savings. I was still in Inter School and had only 1000 as my savings. Bought a Jopasu duster, a microfiber and a Formula 1 Wax so as to keep her in immaculate condition. Fast forward to today she has only done 8500 kms till date and is the best looking car in our neighborhood despite people buying newer cars.

Also sir, I'm planning to perform a comprehensive service on my friend's 2008 Alto LXI. The engine is my primary concern right now. The car has clocked a total of 73,000 kms and the servicing was mostly delayed. I last drove the car in Dec 2019 last time when I was teaching him how to drive and there was denying the fact that the engine has been abused badly. There is a definite resistance when one wants to accelerate, the clutch grabs too quickly, the brakes feel too woody and the list just goes on. Infact i'm so much scared that i might break something while just trying to fix it that I've never popped the hood till date as i fear whether the hood will latch again or not.

So this is all that I've thought of performing on his car:-

1. Oil Change to full Synthetic
2. Radiator Flush
3. Coolant Change to Ecstar Coolant/Golden Cruiser
4. Brake Fluid change to Ecstar DOT 3
5. Cleaning of oil strainer.
6. Adding Liqui Moly Injector Cleaner
7. Replacing Brake Pads
8. Replacing the water pump and timing belt
9. Cleaning the fuel tank.
10. Replacing the fuel filter
11. Replacing the Air Filter, Cabin Air Filter
12. Replacing the spark plugs.
13. Clutch Overhaul
14. Gear Oil Replacement

These are the jobs that I wish to perform on his car. I shall add that I'll not be able to perform all that in one go as he will provide me with a limited budget of around Rs.4000 but these all jobs will be performed in a stage wise manner.

Although I have my doubts with each of the points mentioned above. Firstly will changing to fully synth will be harmful for the oil seals? I'm pretty sure that the car has been used with mineral oils till date, and I definitely don't want to add a flush and want to rely on the synthetic oil additives to clean the engine so as to maintain the oil seals. Also should I get the oil strainer cleaned after switching to synthetic? The synthetic will definitely cut out sludge and thus will be blocking up the oil strainer again if cleaned before or will the deposits will be too less to worry about? Another doubt is what grade to use? You and bhpian chiranjitp have opted for 5w40 and is that what i should be continuing with? Since the owner's manual is lost i'm unable to figure out the recommended oil for this particular engine. I'm thinking to go ahead with Mobil 1 5w40/5w30 as the shell is going to be a bit heavier on the budget.

Then comes the doubt about water pump and belt. Surely the car has surpassed the recommended interval for changing of timing belt and water pump but these are some parts which are bit heavier on the pocket. So should i be postponing it for the next service or get it done ASAP?

Another doubts emerges about the fuel tank cleaning. I saw how sediments can damage the fuel pump in one of your posts and thus decided to get it cleaned up as well although not immediately. So i would like to ask should i be adding the injector cleaner after the tank cleanup or before?

Would also like to request you to tell where did you get your wix filter from? My teacher just who just got his honda city's first service done was ready to give it a shot upon my advice, but was unable to find them.

In the end are there any other job or suggestion that you would like to suggest besides these?

Thank You.
abhi9044 is online now   (1) Thanks