Old 16th May 2016, 14:18   #16

re: My Outback Bronze Renault Kwid RXT(O) - Now 5 years / 18,000 km up

Originally Posted by LoneRidder View Post
Congratulations DR. Simple and subtle review I think the choice of chrome on grill looks cool. Nice to see cars from different manufacturers in you garage. A long term review of service could be anticipated?

Do you have to travel to Kannur for service, and 7 months was quite a long period to wait!
I will get my car serviced at Renault Mangalore. It is just 40 KM from my place compared to Kannur dealer located 120 KM away.

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
It looks like you ended up buying a Baleno and S cross while waiting for your Kwid.

Nevertheless, a nicely compiled review!! Wishing you many many happy miles with it.

How far is the service centre from your place??

Shashi
This is the first time we bought 3 cars within 6 months .

Originally Posted by vamsi2390 View Post
Firstly hearty congratulations on the latest acquisition! It does look neat in that shade.
It might be OT but I cant resist myself from asking this. Why so many new cars in your garage at the same time? Is it like a joint family that needs a lot of rides or just the automobile enthusiast in you?
Blame me and my dad. We both are car freaks

Thanks everyone!!
Dr.Naren is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2016, 18:57   #17

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
Exterior :

Kwid is the best looking hatch in it's segment.

Kwid looks like a car atleast one segment up.

I am not happy with panel gaps. It's inconsistent at most of the places. Build quality is average and thin sheet metal is so obvious when you open/close the doors. Even the bonnet & boot lid feels super light. This car is lighter than a Nano.

Interior plastic quality is above average. Fit and finish is acceptable.

Car is equipped with touchscreen navigation system (first in segment). It is pretty easy to use. Touch response is good.

Front seats are thin and underthigh support is average. But it is better than completion. Legroom and shoulder room is above average. Headroom is impressive.

Rear seats are much better than competition.

Boot space is huge with 300 L.

Very informative. Feedback from the actual user always gives some new insight. this car has rocked Alto/Maruti and Eon/Hyundai. let us wish that it would help the consumers to have BIGGER entry level cars at affordable price. Rarely one has to go on long drives, no doubt, for city use, this car has opened new avenues.

Last edited by Aditya : 17th May 2016 at 07:13. Reason: Fixing quote tags
shobhitk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th May 2016, 00:47   #18

ORVM design is changed!!
"ORVM design change" you say? these ones are much prettier.
are they internally adjustable now?
Does Renault offer an accessory to have internally adjusting ORVMS ?

Last edited by Aditya : 17th May 2016 at 07:23. Reason: Trimming quoted text
Old 17th May 2016, 06:20   #19

Originally Posted by hardyk2010 View Post
"ORVM design change" you say? these ones are much prettier.
are they internally adjustable now?
Does Renault offer an accessory to have internally adjusting ORVMS ?
It's not internally adjustable. I hope Renault would provide it during facelift. It's not even an accessory.
Old 17th May 2016, 17:26   #20

Congrats Doctor !!
Smile miles !!

Teaser : Waiting to wish on your S-Cross Ownership review

Cheers !!
kashyapz8055 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th May 2016, 20:58   #21

Congratulations Dr. Naren!
Wish you happy miles with this little thunder.

Best VFM car in its segment. Hope, Renault start offering basic safety features such as both driver and passenger airbags, ABS etc from base Kwid varients with slight increase in prices.
samy1117 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th May 2016, 13:04   #22

Congratulations Dr.Naren!

The Renault Kwid is small but macho looking car. It has really shook the reigning of Maruti Alto and Hyundai EON. I hope Renault launches the 1000 cc version soon coupled with an AMT box. It will definitely become the giant killer in its segment.

Eagerly waiting for your S-Cross review.

Saubhik
DrivingNirvana is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th May 2016, 11:50   #23

Pictures of Kwid with S-Cross 1.6 Alpha (Costs 10 lakhs more)
My Outback Bronze Renault Kwid RXT(O) - Now 5 years / 18,000 km up-img20160524wa0011.jpg
My Outback Bronze Renault Kwid RXT(O) - Now 5 years / 18,000 km up-img20160524wa0010.jpg

Kwid looks better??
Dr.Naren is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th May 2016, 12:04   #24

Pictures of Kwid with S-Cross 1.6 Alpha (Costs 10 lakhs more)
Attachment 1510118
Attachment 1510119

Kwid looks better??
Oh yes! Kwid looks more imposing.

The real difference would be evident out on the highway.

For additional 10 Lacs, you get a much better motor, more space, better interiors, better after sales service, better handling and better high speed dynamics. But it is surprising that Renault has managed so good a design on this little wonder. One can have 3 Kwids (and still some money in the bank) at the price of an S Cross. I don't know if I should blame Maruti or praise Renault?!

How much have you clocked on the Kwid? And a small request, since you have so many cars in your family, why not a side-by-side comparison from 5-6 angles to compare the size of each one. I know it would be a task to park them all, but for an enthusiast, it would be a pleasure than a task right?
biggrin is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th May 2016, 12:11   #25

Originally Posted by biggrin View Post
Oh yes! Kwid looks more imposing.

The real difference would be evident out on the highway.

For additional 10 Lacs, you get a much better motor, more space, better interiors, better after sales service, better handling and better high speed dynamics. But it is surprising that Renault has managed so good a design on this little wonder. One can have 3 Kwids (and still some money in the bank) at the price of an S Cross. I don't know if I should blame Maruti or praise Renault?!

How much have you clocked on the Kwid? And a small request, since you have so many cars in your family, why not a side-by-side comparison from 5-6 angles to compare the size of each one. I know it would be a task to park them all, but for an enthusiast, it would be a pleasure than a task right?
S-Cross 1.6 is better car any day . I have hardly driven Kwid after getting S-Cross. It is about to touch 500 KM mark. I usually take pictures of all my cars parked together. My cousin has taken Grand i10 (His brezza met with accident and still undergoing repairs). I am waiting for him to give the car back, so I can click pics of all cars together.
Dr.Naren is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th May 2016, 12:50   #26

I am waiting for him to give the car back, so I can click pics of all cars together.
Congrats Dr.Naren on your latest and probably the greatest car of the lot !!

Considering the other 2 are normal day to day commuters, DDiS 320 capabilities are multiplied many times. No wonder you hardly get the inclination to drive the other two.

Whether you take the pics of all your 3 steads together or not, please post a purchase & ownership report of the behemoth at the earliest.

Wish you a happy motoring and drive safe.
Vik0728 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th May 2016, 14:35   #27

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
Congrats Dr.Naren on your latest and probably the greatest car of the lot !!

Considering the other 2 are normal day to day commuters, DDiS 320 capabilities are multiplied many times. No wonder you hardly get the inclination to drive the other two.

Whether you take the pics of all your 3 steads together or not, please post a purchase & ownership report of the behemoth at the earliest.

Wish you a happy motoring and drive safe.
Thanks buddy!!

Kwid is used for only short trips. My daily drive is around 80 KM for which I use S-Cross/Baleno. SX4 is not even switched on since last 2 weeks. Today I took Kwid to hospital. I was just begging for more power.

OT : S-Cross 1.6 ownership review should be ready soon. I have finished the writing part, but yet to upload all pics
Old 25th May 2016, 17:14   #28

Kwid looks better??
I hate myself for saying this as i genuinely like the S-cross but yeah, that kwid looks really good there. May be better than S-cross in some angles

I guess its because of that brilliant shade that its on.
vamsi2390 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2016, 17:14   #29

Congratulations Dr.Naren on another car. Man you are on a roll!!
First Baleno, then SCross and now a kwid.

One query though! What other options did you consider for small hatch car? And why did you opt for Kwid even with such a long waiting period?
nitinrawatdun is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2016, 17:18   #30

Originally Posted by vamsi2390 View Post
I hate myself for saying this as i genuinely like the S-cross but yeah, that kwid looks really good there. May be better than S-cross in some angles

I guess its because of that brilliant shade that its on.
I am not comparing between Kwid and S-Cross. S-Cross is my favourite out of 7 cars in my garage. Kwid is a clever design by Renault. It looks really good in outback bronze color compared to bland looks of S-Cross.

Originally Posted by nitinrawatdun View Post
Congratulations Dr.Naren on another car. Man you are on a roll!!
First Baleno, then SCross and now a kwid.

One query though! What other options did you consider for small hatch car? And why did you opt for Kwid even with such a long waiting period?
Thanks buddy!!

I did not consider any other cars. I had booked Kwid online even before it was launched. I ended up buying Baleno in November (2 months post booking Kwid). Chennai floods further delayed the delivery. I could have got the car little early but I changed the color to outback bronze later.

Last edited by Dr.Naren : 25th May 2016 at 17:22.